$319 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

4 stars
View map of 1500 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Murrieta, CA
Sep 17, 2009

Great hotel,gtreat view

I liked our stay very much , but the price was pretty high for the size room we recieved. I know the price was high because I scheduled the stay a little late or close to the check in day. Also, I thought paying for the parking ( $25.00 ) at the hotel you are staying at was kind of a drag. All in all the stay was great and the view was great in a great old hotel. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

It would have been nice that there was a club in the hotel or near the hotel.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westfield. New Jersey
Sep 8, 2009

The Del - A Class by itself

The Hotel is only equal to the Grand Lodges of some of the National Parks. It is a true experience to stay here and fine dining is available at the Hotel or within walking distance. We had a lovely room on the 1st floor Garden view. Sure its not cheap, but our 2 day stay made our vacation memorable. The staff was helpful and friendly, the concierge was the best I ever had in recent memory. Very knowledgeable regarding the Hotel and willing to share information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It was built in 1887.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wish I was still on the beach
Business
Houston TX
Aug 17, 2009

Expensive, but probably worth it

Despite my phone calls ahead of time to both Orbitz and to the hotel to confirm that there would be space for our children, when I arrived I was told that the room we booked was too small for the children. Fortunately, after some discussion with the desk, we were given a larger room with a foldout couch; however, the view was of the adjoining red-shingled roof! We couldn't even see the sky. The pool was a zoo and needs a bigger jacuzzi. It was mobbed the day we were there (a Tuesday afternoon). Given these issues, this was a very expensive hotel even with a three nights for price of two special. The beach was incredible, the food excellent and affordable once the "kids eat free" specials were incorporated into the price. These significant positives outweighed the issues with the room and pool, and account for my rating of four stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rather than rent boogie boards from the hotel, you can purchase them from a surf shop on Orange Avenue for less than the price of an afternoon rental. This will save money if you are there for several days and like to enjoy the waves the way we did. Also, if you travel with kids, the morning brunch special kids eat free ends up being a good deal and cheaper than feeding everyone from the coffee bar in the lobby. Even cheaper is the Panera Bread place on Ocean Avenue next to Starbucks. Panera has better baked goods than Starbucks.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danville Ca. 94526
Jun 29, 2009

excellent

*long lines for breakfast--Orbitz did not tell us all requirenents at hotel which made stress on stay. *The hotel and service was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

plan early for breakfast lines are slow and long in hotel

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catmom
Business
Kansas
Jun 27, 2009

Steampunk

This is a huge Victorian hotel that has been modernized as best it could be. There is a lot of dark wood and uneven floors. Not your typical big hotel. It has nice restaurants and shops but everything is very pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eno restaurant- very fun.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catmom
Business
Kansas
Jun 27, 2009

Steampunk

This is a huge Victorian hotel that has been modernized as best it could be. There is a lot of dark wood and uneven floors. Not your typical big hotel. It has nice restaurants and shops but everything is very pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eno restaurant- very fun.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, Az
Jun 1, 2009

The ultimate charming experience!

The Del is the very best. Definitely worth the expense! May/June weather is not good, but definitely restful. The staff is exceptional and personable. The Spa at the Del is top notch...definitely made the trip! The history of the Del adds to the charm and it's the most complete resort around. You do not need to leave! It's all there at the Del.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the spa! Definitely makes your stay. You are treated like a Queen.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 25, 2009

Excellent Resort

Great Hotel with great staff. 1500 Ocean Fantastic high end restaurant. Hotel has a nice new gym and the pool was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel has bikes you can rent. Fun and scenic.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ogden, UT
May 9, 2009

Very Nice Big 50 Birthday Get Away

First class all the way. The facility and staff were amazing and the accomodations and location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask about dining options. We were very disappointed with the food, either too expensive or just lousy.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Mar 3, 2009

Honeymoon

We were booked at Hotel Del Coronado as part of our honeymoon trip. The service, from the moment we checked our car to the moment we left, was perfect. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The restaurants and the wait staff were superb! The shops were terrific! We found something for our home that they were happy to ship back for us. The location is the best. It is just minutes from the airport, a short walk into town and right on the ocean. The best of all worlds. The grounds are spectacular! We will definately be back. The sooner the better, for me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top