$299 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

4 stars
View map of 1500 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pam empty nester
Albany, Oregon
Jun 10, 2014

Can't imagine better!

Visited Coronado to see friends as a late anniversary celebration. They suggested staying at the Del for our last night, and I'm soooo glad they did! We had a "Victorian Queen" room with garden view (in other words, the low priced option). We were surprised to find the bed was actually a king! The room itself was small but the amenities were fabulous: 8 fluffy pillows, bathrobes, Kureg coffee maker, luxury bath products, plenty of thick towels, great water pressure in the shower, walk-in closet, and the best--our own balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens with a small view of the ocean over the roof of the other wing! This historic hotel on the resort island of Coronado is a WOW for its Victorian-era design including the wonderful dark wood paneling along with huge chandelier on the first floor. We love history and could feel like we had just stepped into the shoes of Marilyn Monroe or any of the many world leaders and movie stars that have stayed at the Del. We walked the promenade by the beach and sat and enjoyed people-watching then headed to the Sun Deck where we had delicious margaritas and got some to-go food from nearby Sheerwater Restaurant. Both fairly expensive, but delicious! You have to try the roasted brussels sprouts with bacon! We were on a corner couch that had it's own gas fire-pit and a beautiful view up and down the beach while we watched the sunset. The cocktails run over $15 but they were well-mixed. We also found the gift shops carried bottles of house-wine and champagne for around $21, so when our friends showed up to have a drink with us, we went up to our room to share our wine which we had left to chill. The best part of our stay was the staff. From chambermaid, to elevator operator, to bartender, to gift shop clerks, to registration assistants, we were treated like royalty! We occasionally save up and splurge on a night at high-end hotels on a trip, but as obvious small town middle-class folk we are often treated like peasants that have somehow escaped their place. NOT at Hotel del Coronado! My ONLY suggestion is for the Sun Deck Bar to stay open after 8pm on summer nights. I wish I was there right now. Go--enjoy the history and the pampering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
g550ap
Business
Broomfield, CO
Jun 1, 2011

San Diego trip

Very nice hotel. They didn't have our reservation when we arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great breakfast buffet.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sweetnote
Business
San Diego, CA
May 31, 2011

Some Like It NOT

While the Staff was Lovely, the accomodations were HORRIBLE! We were in a wing next to the pool and which happened to be UNDER some of the main activities. One night we were treated to Skateboarders over us, the band was over us, and a wind storm which (because the umbrellas were unsecured at night)blew over tables and rolled for hours! When we called to complain about our problems we were met with Courtesy, however, we were NEVER offered a different room location. The food, while good, was overpriced along with the drinks. What was supposed to be our introduction to our new home in San Diego left us exhausted and frustrated. I'd go back for the beauty and nostalgia, however we can not recommend staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food at the Breakfast Buffet was Lovely. Didn't make it to the Crown Room, however, it is probably worth the trip to make a Brunch there.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wormburn
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 13, 2011

Historic site with class

Classy place to do business!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marie restful traveler
Business
Phoenix,AZ
Apr 26, 2011

Fabulous Unforgetable Vacation

We were at the resort for some rest and needed relaxation. It was so fantastic and everyone was friendly, helpful and willing to take their time to explain and suggest activities. We loved the S'mores on the beach and the food was fabulous. The room was clean and bright. Loved it and can't wait for our return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food is great no matter where you go..

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mamadog
Business
LA, CA
Apr 18, 2011

The Del

It was a marvelous trip for my husband's birthday & because of that event we were upgraded to a balcony, oceanview room. And the Sunday brunch was to die for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
california dreamers
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 8, 2011

Wonderful Beach Getaway

This hotel is very classy, but yet still family friendly. The staff was always around and willing to help. The rooms are beautiful Victorian style. The BEACH is incredibly wide with nice white sand. We will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

When you book your stay, make sure it is long enough so that you can spend some time visiting San Diego.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
california dreamers
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 8, 2011

Wonderful Beach Getaway

This hotel is very classy, but yet still family friendly. The staff was always around and willing to help. The rooms are beautiful Victorian style. The BEACH is incredibly wide with nice white sand. We will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

When you book your stay, make sure it is long enough so that you can spend some time visiting San Diego.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaret Busy Mom
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 3, 2011

Spring Break

The service was outstanding, but at that price, you'd hope it would be. We thought it would be a little out of the way, but getting to all the attractions was very easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World was fantastic!

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 22, 2011

Beautiful historic hotel, but pricey!

The hotel is very nice, but parts do look old. I realize thats the charm of this hotel, the rooms could be updated? We stayed in a queen victorian room. We didn't get to take advantage of the beach or pool or hot tub as it rained pretty much the whole time we stayed at the hotel. This hotel would be wonderful if you're looking for an island resort type place and intend on taking advantage of the beach and all the hotel has to offer, however if you're planning on spending a lot of time in downtown San Diego, realize that the Hotel Del is in Coronado and you'll be driving back and forth across the bridge a lot! This hotel is a beautiful and has a lot of history, but with that said, i don't know if it is exactly worth the price. Plus you have to pay for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
winston Salem NC
Feb 6, 2011

Coronado Hotel

Enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top