$319 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 22, 2015

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

4 stars
View map of 1500 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pam empty nester
Albany, Oregon
Jun 10, 2014

Can't imagine better!

Visited Coronado to see friends as a late anniversary celebration. They suggested staying at the Del for our last night, and I'm soooo glad they did! We had a "Victorian Queen" room with garden view (in other words, the low priced option). We were surprised to find the bed was actually a king! The room itself was small but the amenities were fabulous: 8 fluffy pillows, bathrobes, Kureg coffee maker, luxury bath products, plenty of thick towels, great water pressure in the shower, walk-in closet, and the best--our own balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens with a small view of the ocean over the roof of the other wing! This historic hotel on the resort island of Coronado is a WOW for its Victorian-era design including the wonderful dark wood paneling along with huge chandelier on the first floor. We love history and could feel like we had just stepped into the shoes of Marilyn Monroe or any of the many world leaders and movie stars that have stayed at the Del. We walked the promenade by the beach and sat and enjoyed people-watching then headed to the Sun Deck where we had delicious margaritas and got some to-go food from nearby Sheerwater Restaurant. Both fairly expensive, but delicious! You have to try the roasted brussels sprouts with bacon! We were on a corner couch that had it's own gas fire-pit and a beautiful view up and down the beach while we watched the sunset. The cocktails run over $15 but they were well-mixed. We also found the gift shops carried bottles of house-wine and champagne for around $21, so when our friends showed up to have a drink with us, we went up to our room to share our wine which we had left to chill. The best part of our stay was the staff. From chambermaid, to elevator operator, to bartender, to gift shop clerks, to registration assistants, we were treated like royalty! We occasionally save up and splurge on a night at high-end hotels on a trip, but as obvious small town middle-class folk we are often treated like peasants that have somehow escaped their place. NOT at Hotel del Coronado! My ONLY suggestion is for the Sun Deck Bar to stay open after 8pm on summer nights. I wish I was there right now. Go--enjoy the history and the pampering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marie restful traveler
Business
Phoenix,AZ
Apr 26, 2011

Fabulous Unforgetable Vacation

We were at the resort for some rest and needed relaxation. It was so fantastic and everyone was friendly, helpful and willing to take their time to explain and suggest activities. We loved the S'mores on the beach and the food was fabulous. The room was clean and bright. Loved it and can't wait for our return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food is great no matter where you go..

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mamadog
Business
LA, CA
Apr 18, 2011

The Del

It was a marvelous trip for my husband's birthday & because of that event we were upgraded to a balcony, oceanview room. And the Sunday brunch was to die for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaret Busy Mom
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 3, 2011

Spring Break

The service was outstanding, but at that price, you'd hope it would be. We thought it would be a little out of the way, but getting to all the attractions was very easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World was fantastic!

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 22, 2011

Beautiful historic hotel, but pricey!

The hotel is very nice, but parts do look old. I realize thats the charm of this hotel, the rooms could be updated? We stayed in a queen victorian room. We didn't get to take advantage of the beach or pool or hot tub as it rained pretty much the whole time we stayed at the hotel. This hotel would be wonderful if you're looking for an island resort type place and intend on taking advantage of the beach and all the hotel has to offer, however if you're planning on spending a lot of time in downtown San Diego, realize that the Hotel Del is in Coronado and you'll be driving back and forth across the bridge a lot! This hotel is a beautiful and has a lot of history, but with that said, i don't know if it is exactly worth the price. Plus you have to pay for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
winston Salem NC
Feb 6, 2011

Coronado Hotel

Enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 15, 2010

Hotel del Coronado

The hotel is beautiful. Didn't get a chance to use the pool. They said it's heated, so I imagine it would have been great. Probably the best hotel I've visited- especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Munich, Germany
Nov 6, 2010

Disappointing

This old hotel with its impressive history has a extraordinary charme. Unfortuanetly the rooms are just old. We paid almost 350 Dollar and I expect to have a clean room for that money. Fact is the toilet was not cleaned properly, hairs in the bed, even dirt and dead insects in the aisle. All in all a loving place which needs to be renovated and cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wichita, kansas
Oct 25, 2010

mixed bag

We thought the staff could have been more pleasant. Particularly the front desl personnel who rarely smiled. The room was large and clean. During two of our four nights we were awakened at 2-3 a.m. by loud singing, clapping, laughing, talking, shouting from other guests whom apparently forgot their manners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk 2-6 blocks from the hotel for great shops and restaurants.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chalfont, PA
Oct 17, 2010

Beautiful

It was very nice but very expensive. $13 for a burger. Beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Adorable shops very close by

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Mar 28, 2010

Overcrowded and unattentive to patrons

Overpriced. Coupons for spa were not useable due the hectic activities open to all outsiders, without preferential consideration to hotel guests paying a premium to reside at the hotel. I still have over $300 of unusable spa passes!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel shops were excellent especially the signature shop and the 1887? shop

Back to menu Return to top