$335 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

4 stars
View map of 1500 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
94 reviews
Great Get Away

We totally unplugged while we were there. The restaurant choices are wonderful. See full review

  • Karen E.
  • Dec 29, 2014
So wonderful~~~

Everyone was very kind. In fronyt of hotel, there was a fine seashore. Hotel was so beautiful, so I... See full review

  • Jespi
  • Oct 4, 2014
Rising from water's edge on the quaint island of Coronado in San Diego, the Hotel del Coronado is considered one of America's most beautiful beach resorts.

A classic historic hotel, The Del was built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977. Today, The Del offers travelers contemporary luxury in an enchanting Victorian atmosphere. Add the resort's beachfront location, and it's no wonder USA Today calls The Del one of the top ten resorts in the world. The Del offers a quintessential San Diego resort vacation experience. For those seeking a romantic retreat, the resort's magical architecture and island setting are perfect. In fact, the Travel Channel rated The Del the number-one wedding destination in America. The Del is also a wonderful family vacation destination, featuring abundant recreation, as well as seasonal teen and children's programs. And, for getting down to business, meeting and incentive planners can work with over 65,000 feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and exhibition space.

Hotel del Coronado, situated along 28 oceanfront acres, is an elegant example of Victorian architecture and is considered one of America's most beautiful resorts. The Del has become a living legend with visits by celebrities, U.S. presidents and dignitaries from around the world. In fact, publisher Rand McNally credits the Hotel del Coronado as enjoying more fame and historical significance than perhaps any hotel in North America.

With almost 365 days of sunshine and an award- wining beachfront location, The Del is the premier West Coast leisure destination for family adventures or romantic getaways. The resort offers a variety of casual and fine dining restaurants overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Guests can enjoy year-round recreation activities including surfing, boating, biking or relaxing poolside or on the beach. There are two swimming pools, spa services, fitness center and over 20 shops and boutiques. The charming island village of Coronado is just outside The Del's front door and exciting downtown San Diego is only ten minutes away.

The Hotel del Coronado's Self Parking is now $37 & Valet Parking is $47, per vehicle, per night. Please also note we have recently gone pet friendly and there is a $150 non refundable charge for pet cleaning fees.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property Rooms

Resort Queen Queen
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building and will not include ocean view. Sleeps 4.
Victorian Queen
One bed. Located in original hotel building. 200-289 square feet. High-speed Internet access (wireless Internet access may also be available). Video games. Coffeemaker. The Sea bath products. In-room safe. Air conditioning. Note this room cannot accommodate rollaway beds the maximum occupancy is two.
Partial Ocean View King
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, with a limited view of the Pacific Ocean are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building. Sleeps 2.
Partial Ocean View Queen Queen
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, with a limited view of the Pacific Ocean are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building. Sleeps 4.
Resort King
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building and will not include ocean view. Sleeps 2.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Located on 28 oceanfront acres, and offering 65,000 square feet of event space, the Hotel del Coronado is San Diego's premier meeting resort. With indoor, outdoor and oceanfront facilities, combined with an elegant Victorian ambience, superb cuisine, and friendly service, The Del provides a wonderful setting for corporate meetings, conferences, corporate retreats, teambuilding programs, and workshops. The Del's distinctive San Diego conference rooms and meeting facilities offer spectacular views, inspire creativity, entertain, reward, and impress corporate associates and clients alike.

Fax services, Office supplies, Guest email, Computer workstations, High-speed copy services, General office equipment rental, Shipping, receiving, and postal services.

Dining

Cabana Bar
Right on the sand, features light fare and tropical drinks.
1500 Ocean
1500 OCEAN restaurant and bar features glowing sunset colors, beautiful dark wood accents, warm lighting and the comfortable elegance found in a beachfront cabana setting.

The arrival experience begins on the terrace entrance overlooking the Pacific. The terrace also offers a one-of-a-kind, intimate outdoor dining venue. Inside, the restaurant features two private dining venues and a wine vault. A signature glass wall, with vibrant sunset hues, provides the backdrop for the bar and creates and radiant, energetic ambiance.

The menu showcases the freshest Southland Coastal Cuisine, with selections from Santa Ynez to Cabo San Lucas. Featured wines from many of the vineyards grown in these areas will complement the incredible culinary flavors.

Sun Deck Bar and Grill
Cocktails and grilled favorites with magnificent views of the Pacific and seasonal live entertainment.
Babcock and Story Bar
Voted "Best Hotel Bar" in San Diego Magazine Reader's Poll, B&S Bar offers signature margaritas, blended tropical drinks, California premiere wines, espressos, afternoon tapas, seasonal entertainment and amazing indoor and outdoor terraced seating.
Sheerwater
Sheerwater is the Hotel del Coronado's oceanfront restaurant featuring expansive outdoor dining terraces and giant fireplaces.

Sheerwater offers California coastal cuisine: regional specialties that emphasize bold flavor, tantalizing spices and seasonally inspired menus. Signature entrees are prepared in the exhibition oven. A special children's menu includes original takes on traditional childhood favorites. The bar offers signature margaritas, blended tropical drinks and California's premier wines. Serving breakfast, lunch, cocktails, light fare and dinner daily.

Crown-Coronet Room
The world-famous Crown-Coronet Room rivals the imagination. Whimsical crown-shaped chandeliers, designed by Wizard of Oz author L. Frank Baum, drop from glowing sugar-pine ceiling. Spacious windows circling the room offer some of California's most radiant views. The Crown Room offers an award-winning Sunday Brunch (voted "Best Sunday Brunch" by the California Restaurant Association), holiday celebrations and special events.

See why the splendor of the Crown Room was chosen as the first state dinner held outside the White House and as a setting for many Hollywood films.

Babcock and Story Bakery
Serves gourmet coffee, tea and freshly baked breads and pastries.
Boardwalk Cafe
Features light breakfast and lunch fare, refreshing smoothies and cool treats.
Splash Bar and Deli
Located poolside. Features sandwiches, snacks, and specialty tropical drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Coach
Michigan
Nov 13, 2013

Birthday Getaway

We were told by friends that if you go to San Diego you need to stay at least one night at Hotel del Coronado, and they are right! What a great place on the Pacific Ocean. Room overlooked their well manicured inside garden. The room was a little small but very clean. Each room has their own personal outside patio which was a geat place to enjoy an early morning coffee or place to watch the sun go down. The sun deck, pool and hot tub area was great. Staff were very accommodating. I would strongly recommend to others, but be prepared to bring your wallet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the time to walk the beach both at sunrise and sunset to take in the whole experience. Also I strongly recommend dinner after dark at the Il Fornaio Cucina Italiana overlooking downtown San Diego city light landscape.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jlevasseur
Business
Andover, MN
Oct 11, 2012

Piece of history

We had a wonderful time and loved our room. Yes this hotel is expensive and there are a lot of people there, but we came for the history and the beach. We knew there would be a crowd, but it didn't bother us. The staff was great and we would return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat outside of the hotel. There are many options just walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda the frequent flier
Business
Yorktown Heights, New York
Oct 9, 2012

Would definitely stay there again.

Everyone was very nice. Beach was big and spacious. Some days lots of seaweed; others none. Planes fly VERY low over the beach. Nice eating lunch at the outdoor sun deck. Housekeeping honest and efficient. Just LOVED the location. Could walk to the ferry to take into San Diego. Grocery store nearby for snacks. Lots of good restaurants close by, especially the Boat House and Vigilucci's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of delicious restaurants within easy walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MUMZEE
Business
CHICAGO, IL
Sep 24, 2012

A Motel 6 would have been better

I had to stay at this hotel because of the conference I recently attended. Upon arriving I found long brown hairs on the pillows of the "freshly made bed" and nail clippings on the floor next to the nightstand . There were also long brown hairs hanging out of the faucet of the tub. The fire alarms intermittently went off after midnight the first night there. This went on for over an hour and no one at the bell desk or front desk would answer the phone. The window in my room would not close so I was "entertained" by all of the drunks on th balcony all night long. This made my 8:00 am presentation more difficult than it should have been. There was food spilled in the hall (looked like spanish rice) next to my room. It statyed there my entire stay. On my last night I found silverfish scampering across my bed and across the bathroom floor. DISGUSTING! I wrote a note to management which was not even acknowledged. And to add insult to injury one of those silverfish hitched a ride home with me! I guess I should be gratefull it was not a bedbug! DO NOT GO HERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Caring Mon
Business
Bay area, CA
Sep 9, 2012

Not up to the fame

We decided to stay here because of its fame and history. Unfortunately, from any aspect of a 4-star hotel/restore, it is NOT up to the standards. The food was somehow caused us upset stomach since our very first meal at the hotel. We tried all the food services/restaurants, every single of them gave us the same stomach problem. The room was very old without any charms, and the mattresses making noises when you make turns, very basic, not luxury at all. The towels were not as near nice as my company's gym towels. The service staff were not efficiently bringing up food, or housekeeping items per guests' requests. They definitely need more professional training. The pool was dirty. Our preschooler got sick after playing in the pool. Overall, the management of the hotel was at least paying attention to the complains. Still not good enough for us to recommend this hotel at all for any families etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Savvy Foodie
Business
Tucson, AZ
Aug 16, 2012

Great Getaway for Old-World Ambiance & Charm!

This was our second stay at Hotel Del Coronado. The first 3 nights was a booking mistake, having been given the impression that a "king" room would be spacious enough for the two of us. The king-size bed practically filled the room, and it was cramped. We had to upgrade to a suite, availability for which we were lucky to have beginning on our 4th night. Of course, it cost us a hefty sum for the upgrade, but it was all worth the expense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great seafood restaurants (Italian, New American, Traditional American, and Japanese) are a very short walk from Hotel Del Coronado.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laughing Lulu
Business
Huntington Beach, California
Aug 6, 2012

Great Histroical Hotel

I love this hotel, it's like stepping back in time. It's great, located right on the beach, so the location is everything. We spent time lounging on the beach and then moved up to the adult pool. This truly is adults only pool. No children were there, as they do have a family pool at the main hotel! The staff throught the hotel were all very helpful. Our room were made up quickly daily and I may say everything is spotless.. We only had one issue, we did not get our garden room as we thought we were getting when I made our reservations. The location was really pretty bad. instead of overlooking the garden we were over looking the loading dock/employee parking for the hotel. Needless to say, it was pretty loud in the morning and well into the evening. But, I still love this hotel and would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great town, nice shops and many, many great place to eat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple with child
Business
Del mar, ca
Jul 2, 2012

Great beach location

Very friendly staff. Not sure if worth the money for this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tolga Onuk
Business
West Hollywood
Jun 5, 2012

Great Location - Very Old Hotel

You only book this hotel if you accept the fact that you are going to be staying in the oldest hotel in california. Location is amazing. Architecture is artistic, staff is overall okay but the mold and the smell of this place can make you feel like you are in a haunted hospital - that's a fact.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The breakfast in this place is priceless...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed kari
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
May 31, 2012

Disappointing

Very disappointed with Hotel Del. Our first encounter was them stopping my husband (of Asian background) not allowing him in the hotel because they thought he was a tour bus visitor!!!) Not a good first impression, when the staff is clearly being racist. We had heard only good and were so excited to stay there. The walls were paper thin, we were on a trip away from our kids for the weekend and could hear every word in the neighboring room. Terrible beds. My husband and I both had sore backs the next day from the bed. Charming hotel, in a great location, horrible service, terrible rooms and definitely not worth what we paid. Changed hotels after one night after Hotel Del wouldn't move us to a different room because we didn't sleep the entire night because of noisy neighbors. Stay somewhere else and visit their beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MJFix
Business
Iowa
Feb 11, 2012

Del Experience

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 days at The Del and didn't want to leave.The staff was very helpful and professional.Of course the setting was beautiful and our balcony view of the beach was amazing.We would go back again without a doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The area on the grounds and within walking distance is charming and varied.Restaurants in the area outside of he hotel are quaint and affordable and the food is great?Plenty of sights to see if you explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top