$289 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

4 stars
View map of 1500 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Coach
Couples
Michigan
Nov 13, 2013

Birthday Getaway

We were told by friends that if you go to San Diego you need to stay at least one night at Hotel del Coronado, and they are right! What a great place on the Pacific Ocean. Room overlooked their well manicured inside garden. The room was a little small but very clean. Each room has their own personal outside patio which was a geat place to enjoy an early morning coffee or place to watch the sun go down. The sun deck, pool and hot tub area was great. Staff were very accommodating. I would strongly recommend to others, but be prepared to bring your wallet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the time to walk the beach both at sunrise and sunset to take in the whole experience. Also I strongly recommend dinner after dark at the Il Fornaio Cucina Italiana overlooking downtown San Diego city light landscape.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jirea New Journey
Single
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Sep 8, 2013

Customer service was superior

This was a great vacation getaway alone. The staff were fabulous. The beach was beautiful, the food was excellent, facilities were clean, and I felt safe and secure. I highly recommend this hotel - it is worth every penny. Within walking distance to other businesses, bus service, restaurants, souveniour shops. I look forward to my future stay at this hotel. You don't even need to rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
qishan
Family
San Diego, california
Aug 20, 2013

Not worth the money

If you spent over $600 per room per night, you never expect that the hotel parking lot is full and you need to spend 30 mins to find a parking spot on street 1 miles away. And you never expect that you have to wait another hour after 4pm (hotel check in time) before you get into your room. I think you can find other top quality hotels with far better services at half the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love the Del
Family
Seattle, WA
Jul 8, 2013

Hotel Del, a family favorite....

This was our second trip to the Del. Our family of four -- two adults and two children ages 5 and 7 just adore this property. We stayed for 4 days, three nights and spent every moment of it on the beach...in the pool...on a bike....and back to the beach! We spent most evenings at the property - great menu selection, and our boys had plenty of options. Love the live music...Gonzo! Service in the restaurant gets a bit hectic -- most of the staff seem spent...too many tables? Not sure, but the bus boys were literally running to keep things afloat! Other than that, no complaints. Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Del accepts American Airline points....save up!

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sangria Mama
Couples
DFW, TX
Apr 30, 2013

Wonderful romantic ocean resort

From the check-in personnel to the waiters and bartenders we could not have asked for better service. The room was nicely decorated and had all the amenities that you could want. The location was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast brunch was fabulous. We started with Mimosa and it included made to order omlettes. All the prepared food was excellent and hot.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy is back
Couples
Edina, MN
Apr 16, 2013

Put a stay at The Del on your "Bucket List"

Absolutely wonderful experience even though we happened to be in San Diego on an extremely rare weekend of rainy chilled weather. The Del Coronado made up for any lack of sunshine with its historical charm, extraordinary staff and perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fernando NYC
NYC
Apr 15, 2013

Location and History

It's a beautiful hotel, rather overpriced. Not being able to access all areas is rather annoying. Good restaurant. Snooty staff. Glorious location and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BreeMom
Family
Wyoming
Apr 4, 2013

Love the Del

I stayed here as a kid in the 70's and always had fond memories of our trip. Wanted to take my kids here we were not disappointed. The hotel still has that vintage charm, but is updated tastefully. We stayed two nights at the Del on our 6 night SD vacation and wish we had stayed the whole time. I requested an ocean view room and it was beautiful. It had a beautiful balcony that over looked the hotel grounds, beach and ocean. Great place to enjoy the sunset. We left the balcony door open most of the time so the breeze could come in. The beach itself is gorgeous and very clean. The bathroom was a bit small, but it didn't bother me too much. Loved the separate seating area in the room. The pool area was nice but crowded. The pool staff was nice. Drinks were expensive, but I should expect that. The breakfast buffet was good and not too expensive. There is a Starbucks as well. Ordered room service one night and it was a 1.5 hour wait for our meal. They warned me it would take that long, but I guess I was hoping it would't actually take that long. There is 22% room service charge as well. There are plenty of good restaurants on Coronado, so I would recommend taking advantage of those. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cherski
Family
Chicago, IL
Apr 1, 2013

Perfect!

Perfect location, right on the beach. Couldn't recommend more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago IL Family
Family
Coronada Island, CA
Mar 28, 2013

Great Beach Family Vacation

We had a wonderful stay. Highlights: Surfing lessons for three kids, hotel photographer took family shots, rented a bike for five, s'mores by a fire pit at night, nice pool, good restaurants. The property was beautiful. Room was small, bathroom was very small, ceilings were very low - but tastefully decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top