$375 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

4 stars
1500 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
92 reviews
So wonderful~~~

Everyone was very kind. In fronyt of hotel, there was a fine seashore. Hotel was so beautiful, so I... See full review

  • Jespi
  • Oct 4, 2014
Can't imagine better!

Visited Coronado to see friends as a late anniversary celebration. They suggested staying at the... See full review

  • Pam empty nester
  • Jun 10, 2014
Rising from water's edge on the quaint island of Coronado in San Diego, the Hotel del Coronado is considered one of America's most beautiful beach resorts.

A classic historic hotel, The Del was built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977. Today, The Del offers travelers contemporary luxury in an enchanting Victorian atmosphere. Add the resort's beachfront location, and it's no wonder USA Today calls The Del one of the top ten resorts in the world. The Del offers a quintessential San Diego resort vacation experience. For those seeking a romantic retreat, the resort's magical architecture and island setting are perfect. In fact, the Travel Channel rated The Del the number-one wedding destination in America. The Del is also a wonderful family vacation destination, featuring abundant recreation, as well as seasonal teen and children's programs. And, for getting down to business, meeting and incentive planners can work with over 65,000 feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and exhibition space.

Hotel del Coronado, situated along 28 oceanfront acres, is an elegant example of Victorian architecture and is considered one of America's most beautiful resorts. The Del has become a living legend with visits by celebrities, U.S. presidents and dignitaries from around the world. In fact, publisher Rand McNally credits the Hotel del Coronado as enjoying more fame and historical significance than perhaps any hotel in North America.

With almost 365 days of sunshine and an award- wining beachfront location, The Del is the premier West Coast leisure destination for family adventures or romantic getaways. The resort offers a variety of casual and fine dining restaurants overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Guests can enjoy year-round recreation activities including surfing, boating, biking or relaxing poolside or on the beach. There are two swimming pools, spa services, fitness center and over 20 shops and boutiques. The charming island village of Coronado is just outside The Del's front door and exciting downtown San Diego is only ten minutes away.

The Hotel del Coronado's Self Parking is now $37 & Valet Parking is $47, per vehicle, per night. Please also note we have recently gone pet friendly and there is a $150 non refundable charge for pet cleaning fees.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property Rooms

Resort Queen Queen
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building and will not include ocean view. Sleeps 4.
Victorian Queen
One bed. Located in original hotel building. 200-289 square feet. High-speed Internet access (wireless Internet access may also be available). Video games. Coffeemaker. The Sea bath products. In-room safe. Air conditioning. Note this room cannot accommodate rollaway beds the maximum occupancy is two.
Partial Ocean View King
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, with a limited view of the Pacific Ocean are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building. Sleeps 2.
Partial Ocean View Queen Queen
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, with a limited view of the Pacific Ocean are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building. Sleeps 4.
Resort King
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building and will not include ocean view. Sleeps 2.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Located on 28 oceanfront acres, and offering 65,000 square feet of event space, the Hotel del Coronado is San Diego's premier meeting resort. With indoor, outdoor and oceanfront facilities, combined with an elegant Victorian ambience, superb cuisine, and friendly service, The Del provides a wonderful setting for corporate meetings, conferences, corporate retreats, teambuilding programs, and workshops. The Del's distinctive San Diego conference rooms and meeting facilities offer spectacular views, inspire creativity, entertain, reward, and impress corporate associates and clients alike.

Fax services, Office supplies, Guest email, Computer workstations, High-speed copy services, General office equipment rental, Shipping, receiving, and postal services.

Dining

Cabana Bar
Right on the sand, features light fare and tropical drinks.
1500 Ocean
1500 OCEAN restaurant and bar features glowing sunset colors, beautiful dark wood accents, warm lighting and the comfortable elegance found in a beachfront cabana setting.

The arrival experience begins on the terrace entrance overlooking the Pacific. The terrace also offers a one-of-a-kind, intimate outdoor dining venue. Inside, the restaurant features two private dining venues and a wine vault. A signature glass wall, with vibrant sunset hues, provides the backdrop for the bar and creates and radiant, energetic ambiance.

The menu showcases the freshest Southland Coastal Cuisine, with selections from Santa Ynez to Cabo San Lucas. Featured wines from many of the vineyards grown in these areas will complement the incredible culinary flavors.

Sun Deck Bar and Grill
Cocktails and grilled favorites with magnificent views of the Pacific and seasonal live entertainment.
Babcock and Story Bar
Voted "Best Hotel Bar" in San Diego Magazine Reader's Poll, B&S Bar offers signature margaritas, blended tropical drinks, California premiere wines, espressos, afternoon tapas, seasonal entertainment and amazing indoor and outdoor terraced seating.
Sheerwater
Sheerwater is the Hotel del Coronado's oceanfront restaurant featuring expansive outdoor dining terraces and giant fireplaces.

Sheerwater offers California coastal cuisine: regional specialties that emphasize bold flavor, tantalizing spices and seasonally inspired menus. Signature entrees are prepared in the exhibition oven. A special children's menu includes original takes on traditional childhood favorites. The bar offers signature margaritas, blended tropical drinks and California's premier wines. Serving breakfast, lunch, cocktails, light fare and dinner daily.

Crown-Coronet Room
The world-famous Crown-Coronet Room rivals the imagination. Whimsical crown-shaped chandeliers, designed by Wizard of Oz author L. Frank Baum, drop from glowing sugar-pine ceiling. Spacious windows circling the room offer some of California's most radiant views. The Crown Room offers an award-winning Sunday Brunch (voted "Best Sunday Brunch" by the California Restaurant Association), holiday celebrations and special events.

See why the splendor of the Crown Room was chosen as the first state dinner held outside the White House and as a setting for many Hollywood films.

Babcock and Story Bakery
Serves gourmet coffee, tea and freshly baked breads and pastries.
Boardwalk Cafe
Features light breakfast and lunch fare, refreshing smoothies and cool treats.
Splash Bar and Deli
Located poolside. Features sandwiches, snacks, and specialty tropical drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SpencerC
American Fork, Utah
Jan 9, 2014

great time

Fantastic location. You feel like you are staying at more than just a hotel. I enjoyed everything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Motorcycle Bride
Business
Henderson, NV
Apr 20, 2014

Honeymoon Getaway

We absolutely loved our stay. Staff was so friendly. Room was cozy and clean. And the balcony view was a fantastic scenery of the beach, sunset, and sunrise. We snuggled out there with a blanket for quite sometime just listening to the waves come ashore. Everything is within walking distance. We spent hours on the "golden beach". We didn't want to leave. It was our first stay there and have decided it will be our anniversary getaway every year, we can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at the Brigantine across the street. Very good food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
petro814
Business
boston, ma
Apr 12, 2014

It was awesome

bit pricey but cant beat oceanside properties. Awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A lot of great Mexican restaurants so I would recommend driving

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SpencerC
Business
American Fork, Utah
Jan 9, 2014

great time

Fantastic location. You feel like you are staying at more than just a hotel. I enjoyed everything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel with a purpose
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 2, 2014

Great architecture, great beach, poor service

It is a historic hotel that has exquisite architecture. The beach is very nice, and one can spend an entire day on the beach. However, the hotel was very crowded during the period we stayed. It was after Christmas and before the New Year. The hotel was well booked, but the problem with the crowd is not necessarily related with the guests who stay. There are many people who come to the hotel for activities (such as skating). It was ridiculously crowded. It took us more than half an hour to reach to the entrance of the hotel to check in. The guest parking was full due to the crowd and it was a challenge to find a valet to have your car parked. We waited for everything: to leave the car, to fetch the car, to eat, to drink. It ended up being a frustrating waiting experience rather than a relaxed vacation that we were hoping to have. The other issue is noise. It is an old building and sound insulation is a problem. We were bothered by the noise from the guests as they were going to their rooms late at night, and by the noise from the house keeping staff as they were chatting in the corridors early in the mornings. It is a rather expensive hotel, unfortunately we felt that the experience did not match the price, well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Miguel's Cocina or the Brigantine Seafood restaurant. Both are across the street from del Coronado, and both have excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rude Awakening
Business
San Diego
Jan 2, 2014

New Year Dissappointment

Excited to bring in the New Year at the Famous Hotel Del Coronado with our dear friends was a very disappointing experience . Long line to check in to the hotel. Our room was very small right over a trash container which proved to be our alarm clock too early the next morning. We stopped by the resturant 1500 to confirm our reservations at @ 8:15 and inquire about our menu choices when I was interrupted mid sentence And informed that there was only one choice and it was $125:00 per person. I stared to ask about the web site quote but was again interrupted. We ended up at a resturant down the street great food but not what we planned. Next morning after an early trash can wake up we were told that our wait time in the resturant would be 45min to an hour. We were due to check out at noon. We sat in the bar area and we were told that we could order from one of 3 waiters. After about 10 minutes we stopped someone who appeared to be a waiter and he told me " relax lady we don't open until 12:00. We had to leave the hotel to get breakfast in time to check out. Yikes that's not good. It ended with the car attendant yelling at us because my husband ran in to check and see what was taking me so long to get to the car out front. Next year we will not bring in the New Year at the Hotel Del Coronado.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Coach
Business
Michigan
Nov 13, 2013

Birthday Getaway

We were told by friends that if you go to San Diego you need to stay at least one night at Hotel del Coronado, and they are right! What a great place on the Pacific Ocean. Room overlooked their well manicured inside garden. The room was a little small but very clean. Each room has their own personal outside patio which was a geat place to enjoy an early morning coffee or place to watch the sun go down. The sun deck, pool and hot tub area was great. Staff were very accommodating. I would strongly recommend to others, but be prepared to bring your wallet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the time to walk the beach both at sunrise and sunset to take in the whole experience. Also I strongly recommend dinner after dark at the Il Fornaio Cucina Italiana overlooking downtown San Diego city light landscape.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jirea New Journey
Business
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Sep 8, 2013

Customer service was superior

This was a great vacation getaway alone. The staff were fabulous. The beach was beautiful, the food was excellent, facilities were clean, and I felt safe and secure. I highly recommend this hotel - it is worth every penny. Within walking distance to other businesses, bus service, restaurants, souveniour shops. I look forward to my future stay at this hotel. You don't even need to rent a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
qishan
Business
San Diego, california
Aug 20, 2013

Not worth the money

If you spent over $600 per room per night, you never expect that the hotel parking lot is full and you need to spend 30 mins to find a parking spot on street 1 miles away. And you never expect that you have to wait another hour after 4pm (hotel check in time) before you get into your room. I think you can find other top quality hotels with far better services at half the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Love the Del
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 8, 2013

Hotel Del, a family favorite....

This was our second trip to the Del. Our family of four -- two adults and two children ages 5 and 7 just adore this property. We stayed for 4 days, three nights and spent every moment of it on the beach...in the pool...on a bike....and back to the beach! We spent most evenings at the property - great menu selection, and our boys had plenty of options. Love the live music...Gonzo! Service in the restaurant gets a bit hectic -- most of the staff seem spent...too many tables? Not sure, but the bus boys were literally running to keep things afloat! Other than that, no complaints. Can't wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Del accepts American Airline points....save up!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sangria Mama
Business
DFW, TX
Apr 30, 2013

Wonderful romantic ocean resort

From the check-in personnel to the waiters and bartenders we could not have asked for better service. The room was nicely decorated and had all the amenities that you could want. The location was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast brunch was fabulous. We started with Mimosa and it included made to order omlettes. All the prepared food was excellent and hot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top