$319 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 22, 2015

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

4 stars
View map of 1500 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Coach
Michigan
Nov 13, 2013

Birthday Getaway

We were told by friends that if you go to San Diego you need to stay at least one night at Hotel del Coronado, and they are right! What a great place on the Pacific Ocean. Room overlooked their well manicured inside garden. The room was a little small but very clean. Each room has their own personal outside patio which was a geat place to enjoy an early morning coffee or place to watch the sun go down. The sun deck, pool and hot tub area was great. Staff were very accommodating. I would strongly recommend to others, but be prepared to bring your wallet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the time to walk the beach both at sunrise and sunset to take in the whole experience. Also I strongly recommend dinner after dark at the Il Fornaio Cucina Italiana overlooking downtown San Diego city light landscape.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wineseeker
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 27, 2014

Girlfriends birthday

Birthday suprises, ie flowers, wine, chocolatle dipped strawberrys were there on arrival....( though the wine was not what i had ordered). First night was great till 5:30 am.... Window shutters were inadequate to block the light and the whole room was illuminated.......not good on 'birthday morning'. Also room was next to a loading dock which woke us up at 6 am.....leading to a room change. Staff is ultraaccomidating but wait times for car valet and the breakfast buffet were unusually long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pam empty nester
Business
Albany, Oregon
Jun 10, 2014

Can't imagine better!

Visited Coronado to see friends as a late anniversary celebration. They suggested staying at the Del for our last night, and I'm soooo glad they did! We had a "Victorian Queen" room with garden view (in other words, the low priced option). We were surprised to find the bed was actually a king! The room itself was small but the amenities were fabulous: 8 fluffy pillows, bathrobes, Kureg coffee maker, luxury bath products, plenty of thick towels, great water pressure in the shower, walk-in closet, and the best--our own balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens with a small view of the ocean over the roof of the other wing! This historic hotel on the resort island of Coronado is a WOW for its Victorian-era design including the wonderful dark wood paneling along with huge chandelier on the first floor. We love history and could feel like we had just stepped into the shoes of Marilyn Monroe or any of the many world leaders and movie stars that have stayed at the Del. We walked the promenade by the beach and sat and enjoyed people-watching then headed to the Sun Deck where we had delicious margaritas and got some to-go food from nearby Sheerwater Restaurant. Both fairly expensive, but delicious! You have to try the roasted brussels sprouts with bacon! We were on a corner couch that had it's own gas fire-pit and a beautiful view up and down the beach while we watched the sunset. The cocktails run over $15 but they were well-mixed. We also found the gift shops carried bottles of house-wine and champagne for around $21, so when our friends showed up to have a drink with us, we went up to our room to share our wine which we had left to chill. The best part of our stay was the staff. From chambermaid, to elevator operator, to bartender, to gift shop clerks, to registration assistants, we were treated like royalty! We occasionally save up and splurge on a night at high-end hotels on a trip, but as obvious small town middle-class folk we are often treated like peasants that have somehow escaped their place. NOT at Hotel del Coronado! My ONLY suggestion is for the Sun Deck Bar to stay open after 8pm on summer nights. I wish I was there right now. Go--enjoy the history and the pampering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GDGGDG
Business
San Diego
Jun 9, 2014

First class in every way!

Our daughter held her wedding in San Diego. The Hotel del Coronado will be one of the very positive memories we have of this once in a lifetime event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is beautiful!

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VBDude
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 9, 2014

Great Times & Staff

Though the hotel is dated, it's been around for so many years for a reason...It's not only a great location, but the staff works incredibly hard to make your stay perfect...You'll pay for the great service, but they'll make you feel world-class...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Motorcycle Bride
Business
Henderson, NV
Apr 20, 2014

Honeymoon Getaway

We absolutely loved our stay. Staff was so friendly. Room was cozy and clean. And the balcony view was a fantastic scenery of the beach, sunset, and sunrise. We snuggled out there with a blanket for quite sometime just listening to the waves come ashore. Everything is within walking distance. We spent hours on the "golden beach". We didn't want to leave. It was our first stay there and have decided it will be our anniversary getaway every year, we can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at the Brigantine across the street. Very good food!

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
petro814
Business
boston, ma
Apr 12, 2014

It was awesome

bit pricey but cant beat oceanside properties. Awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A lot of great Mexican restaurants so I would recommend driving

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SpencerC
Business
American Fork, Utah
Jan 9, 2014

great time

Fantastic location. You feel like you are staying at more than just a hotel. I enjoyed everything about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel with a purpose
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 2, 2014

Great architecture, great beach, poor service

It is a historic hotel that has exquisite architecture. The beach is very nice, and one can spend an entire day on the beach. However, the hotel was very crowded during the period we stayed. It was after Christmas and before the New Year. The hotel was well booked, but the problem with the crowd is not necessarily related with the guests who stay. There are many people who come to the hotel for activities (such as skating). It was ridiculously crowded. It took us more than half an hour to reach to the entrance of the hotel to check in. The guest parking was full due to the crowd and it was a challenge to find a valet to have your car parked. We waited for everything: to leave the car, to fetch the car, to eat, to drink. It ended up being a frustrating waiting experience rather than a relaxed vacation that we were hoping to have. The other issue is noise. It is an old building and sound insulation is a problem. We were bothered by the noise from the guests as they were going to their rooms late at night, and by the noise from the house keeping staff as they were chatting in the corridors early in the mornings. It is a rather expensive hotel, unfortunately we felt that the experience did not match the price, well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Miguel's Cocina or the Brigantine Seafood restaurant. Both are across the street from del Coronado, and both have excellent food.

Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rude Awakening
Business
San Diego
Jan 2, 2014

New Year Dissappointment

Excited to bring in the New Year at the Famous Hotel Del Coronado with our dear friends was a very disappointing experience . Long line to check in to the hotel. Our room was very small right over a trash container which proved to be our alarm clock too early the next morning. We stopped by the resturant 1500 to confirm our reservations at @ 8:15 and inquire about our menu choices when I was interrupted mid sentence And informed that there was only one choice and it was $125:00 per person. I stared to ask about the web site quote but was again interrupted. We ended up at a resturant down the street great food but not what we planned. Next morning after an early trash can wake up we were told that our wait time in the resturant would be 45min to an hour. We were due to check out at noon. We sat in the bar area and we were told that we could order from one of 3 waiters. After about 10 minutes we stopped someone who appeared to be a waiter and he told me " relax lady we don't open until 12:00. We had to leave the hotel to get breakfast in time to check out. Yikes that's not good. It ended with the car attendant yelling at us because my husband ran in to check and see what was taking me so long to get to the car out front. Next year we will not bring in the New Year at the Hotel Del Coronado.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top