$349 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

4 stars
1500 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
92 reviews
So wonderful~~~

Everyone was very kind. In fronyt of hotel, there was a fine seashore. Hotel was so beautiful, so I... See full review

  • Jespi
  • Oct 4, 2014
Can't imagine better!

Visited Coronado to see friends as a late anniversary celebration. They suggested staying at the... See full review

  • Pam empty nester
  • Jun 10, 2014
Rising from water's edge on the quaint island of Coronado in San Diego, the Hotel del Coronado is considered one of America's most beautiful beach resorts.

A classic historic hotel, The Del was built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977. Today, The Del offers travelers contemporary luxury in an enchanting Victorian atmosphere. Add the resort's beachfront location, and it's no wonder USA Today calls The Del one of the top ten resorts in the world. The Del offers a quintessential San Diego resort vacation experience. For those seeking a romantic retreat, the resort's magical architecture and island setting are perfect. In fact, the Travel Channel rated The Del the number-one wedding destination in America. The Del is also a wonderful family vacation destination, featuring abundant recreation, as well as seasonal teen and children's programs. And, for getting down to business, meeting and incentive planners can work with over 65,000 feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and exhibition space.

Hotel del Coronado, situated along 28 oceanfront acres, is an elegant example of Victorian architecture and is considered one of America's most beautiful resorts. The Del has become a living legend with visits by celebrities, U.S. presidents and dignitaries from around the world. In fact, publisher Rand McNally credits the Hotel del Coronado as enjoying more fame and historical significance than perhaps any hotel in North America.

With almost 365 days of sunshine and an award- wining beachfront location, The Del is the premier West Coast leisure destination for family adventures or romantic getaways. The resort offers a variety of casual and fine dining restaurants overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Guests can enjoy year-round recreation activities including surfing, boating, biking or relaxing poolside or on the beach. There are two swimming pools, spa services, fitness center and over 20 shops and boutiques. The charming island village of Coronado is just outside The Del's front door and exciting downtown San Diego is only ten minutes away.

The Hotel del Coronado's Self Parking is now $37 & Valet Parking is $47, per vehicle, per night. Please also note we have recently gone pet friendly and there is a $150 non refundable charge for pet cleaning fees.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property Rooms

Resort Queen Queen
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building and will not include ocean view. Sleeps 4.
Victorian Queen
One bed. Located in original hotel building. 200-289 square feet. High-speed Internet access (wireless Internet access may also be available). Video games. Coffeemaker. The Sea bath products. In-room safe. Air conditioning. Note this room cannot accommodate rollaway beds the maximum occupancy is two.
Partial Ocean View King
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, with a limited view of the Pacific Ocean are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building. Sleeps 2.
Partial Ocean View Queen Queen
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, with a limited view of the Pacific Ocean are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building. Sleeps 4.
Resort King
Medium sized rooms, between 290 and 350 sq ft, are located primarily in the Towers and Cabana buildings with a few rooms in the Victorian building and will not include ocean view. Sleeps 2.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Located on 28 oceanfront acres, and offering 65,000 square feet of event space, the Hotel del Coronado is San Diego's premier meeting resort. With indoor, outdoor and oceanfront facilities, combined with an elegant Victorian ambience, superb cuisine, and friendly service, The Del provides a wonderful setting for corporate meetings, conferences, corporate retreats, teambuilding programs, and workshops. The Del's distinctive San Diego conference rooms and meeting facilities offer spectacular views, inspire creativity, entertain, reward, and impress corporate associates and clients alike.

Fax services, Office supplies, Guest email, Computer workstations, High-speed copy services, General office equipment rental, Shipping, receiving, and postal services.

Dining

Cabana Bar
Right on the sand, features light fare and tropical drinks.
1500 Ocean
1500 OCEAN restaurant and bar features glowing sunset colors, beautiful dark wood accents, warm lighting and the comfortable elegance found in a beachfront cabana setting.

The arrival experience begins on the terrace entrance overlooking the Pacific. The terrace also offers a one-of-a-kind, intimate outdoor dining venue. Inside, the restaurant features two private dining venues and a wine vault. A signature glass wall, with vibrant sunset hues, provides the backdrop for the bar and creates and radiant, energetic ambiance.

The menu showcases the freshest Southland Coastal Cuisine, with selections from Santa Ynez to Cabo San Lucas. Featured wines from many of the vineyards grown in these areas will complement the incredible culinary flavors.

Sun Deck Bar and Grill
Cocktails and grilled favorites with magnificent views of the Pacific and seasonal live entertainment.
Babcock and Story Bar
Voted "Best Hotel Bar" in San Diego Magazine Reader's Poll, B&S Bar offers signature margaritas, blended tropical drinks, California premiere wines, espressos, afternoon tapas, seasonal entertainment and amazing indoor and outdoor terraced seating.
Sheerwater
Sheerwater is the Hotel del Coronado's oceanfront restaurant featuring expansive outdoor dining terraces and giant fireplaces.

Sheerwater offers California coastal cuisine: regional specialties that emphasize bold flavor, tantalizing spices and seasonally inspired menus. Signature entrees are prepared in the exhibition oven. A special children's menu includes original takes on traditional childhood favorites. The bar offers signature margaritas, blended tropical drinks and California's premier wines. Serving breakfast, lunch, cocktails, light fare and dinner daily.

Crown-Coronet Room
The world-famous Crown-Coronet Room rivals the imagination. Whimsical crown-shaped chandeliers, designed by Wizard of Oz author L. Frank Baum, drop from glowing sugar-pine ceiling. Spacious windows circling the room offer some of California's most radiant views. The Crown Room offers an award-winning Sunday Brunch (voted "Best Sunday Brunch" by the California Restaurant Association), holiday celebrations and special events.

See why the splendor of the Crown Room was chosen as the first state dinner held outside the White House and as a setting for many Hollywood films.

Babcock and Story Bakery
Serves gourmet coffee, tea and freshly baked breads and pastries.
Boardwalk Cafe
Features light breakfast and lunch fare, refreshing smoothies and cool treats.
Splash Bar and Deli
Located poolside. Features sandwiches, snacks, and specialty tropical drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Coach
Michigan
Nov 13, 2013

Birthday Getaway

We were told by friends that if you go to San Diego you need to stay at least one night at Hotel del Coronado, and they are right! What a great place on the Pacific Ocean. Room overlooked their well manicured inside garden. The room was a little small but very clean. Each room has their own personal outside patio which was a geat place to enjoy an early morning coffee or place to watch the sun go down. The sun deck, pool and hot tub area was great. Staff were very accommodating. I would strongly recommend to others, but be prepared to bring your wallet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the time to walk the beach both at sunrise and sunset to take in the whole experience. Also I strongly recommend dinner after dark at the Il Fornaio Cucina Italiana overlooking downtown San Diego city light landscape.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FloraCorn
Business
UK
Nov 11, 2014

Beautiful architecture and location

Beautiful location on Coronado island. The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. The hotel itself has a lovely, quirky design although I wasn't very keen on getting into the old caged lift. The room was clean and comfortable, although a little dated. We'd stay here again for the location and the nearby amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tagil
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 10, 2014

Charming hotel on the beach

The hotel is in excellent location right on the beach. The grounds are beautiful. The room was cozy and clean. Hotel does not get any better in terms of history and comfort. We only had an issue with the noise. Because it is older/wood-based building we could hear guests upstairs and going up and down the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susy0711
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 10, 2014

Vintage Experience

Although this is a 4 star hotel, you must arrive with the appropriate expectations. if you are impressed with California history, architecture and authenticity - then this hotel is a good choice for you! I loved the beautiful rose wood, along with a Full Brass (open mesh) elevator. It was so beautiful and tempting, that I used it more than the stairs. The room was extremely comfortable, plenty of room - (walk in closet), solid wood plantation shutters, balcony, ceiling fan and 40" flat screen TV. When you step outside the front entrance, you could be shopping in a specialty store, picking up some sunscreen from a drug store, or dining in a fine seafood restaurant in minutes!! Literally minutes to everything you could want. When you step out the back entrance, it opens up a world of hotel shops, patio dining, pizza and wine bar and all with the beach for a backdrop. Guess I could go on and on, but I believe the point is made. We didn't try the hotel restaurants due to the wait and crowds. For our convenience, the room service was good and efficient. Remember when you are at the Del Coronado Hotel, where the WALLS AND CEILING are still made of wood, there must be precautions like fire alarms and sprinklers. We had a few times when the alarms sounded during the night, and when you wake up in a room/building made of wood, you take notice. We were promptly notified by the security team over the intercom and assured the issue was addressed. The customer service at check out was impressive. We inquired about the alarms and he explained in detail about each incident. They offered to reduce our bill without us asking. Truly a superb experience at "The Del" !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of locals places to eat as well as fine dining and everything in between.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jespi
Business
Seolu Korea
Oct 4, 2014

So wonderful~~~

Everyone was very kind. In fronyt of hotel, there was a fine seashore. Hotel was so beautiful, so I was proud of stsying there. I'll recommend someone who want tp travel San Diego. Thank you very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Hotel there was good gift shop dealing good things

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired nurse 2
Business
Las Vegas nv
Aug 14, 2014

Lovely just lovely!!!!!

Peaceful and wonderful. Just what the doctor ordered Perfect in every way!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
life is hard enjoy now
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 12, 2014

Nice weekend getaway

Room was minimal but nice and comfortable, but for the price with parking lot view and close to the loading dock, only worth to do it once. Monday morning it sounds like construction going on from all the delivery trucks. Staff are ok , I was expecting more professionalism and treatment of a 4-start hotels. Staff in restaurants don't usually acknowledge us though we were wondering the dining area trying to find out what's served. Even the woman at the bakery seemed annoyed when I was presenting my Complimentary drink card, not friendly at all. The dining area on the way to the beach was a mess because tables would be in the middle of pathway from the hotel to the beach. The chillean sea bass at Sheerwater restaurant was really good. The brunch at the Crown room was not as good as I thought. The prime rib was salty and the crab leg was salty also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sheerwater at the Hotel Del Coronado, La Salsa, Nado Gelato, and Moo Time creamery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wineseeker
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 27, 2014

Girlfriends birthday

Birthday suprises, ie flowers, wine, chocolatle dipped strawberrys were there on arrival....( though the wine was not what i had ordered). First night was great till 5:30 am.... Window shutters were inadequate to block the light and the whole room was illuminated.......not good on 'birthday morning'. Also room was next to a loading dock which woke us up at 6 am.....leading to a room change. Staff is ultraaccomidating but wait times for car valet and the breakfast buffet were unusually long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pam empty nester
Business
Albany, Oregon
Jun 10, 2014

Can't imagine better!

Visited Coronado to see friends as a late anniversary celebration. They suggested staying at the Del for our last night, and I'm soooo glad they did! We had a "Victorian Queen" room with garden view (in other words, the low priced option). We were surprised to find the bed was actually a king! The room itself was small but the amenities were fabulous: 8 fluffy pillows, bathrobes, Kureg coffee maker, luxury bath products, plenty of thick towels, great water pressure in the shower, walk-in closet, and the best--our own balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens with a small view of the ocean over the roof of the other wing! This historic hotel on the resort island of Coronado is a WOW for its Victorian-era design including the wonderful dark wood paneling along with huge chandelier on the first floor. We love history and could feel like we had just stepped into the shoes of Marilyn Monroe or any of the many world leaders and movie stars that have stayed at the Del. We walked the promenade by the beach and sat and enjoyed people-watching then headed to the Sun Deck where we had delicious margaritas and got some to-go food from nearby Sheerwater Restaurant. Both fairly expensive, but delicious! You have to try the roasted brussels sprouts with bacon! We were on a corner couch that had it's own gas fire-pit and a beautiful view up and down the beach while we watched the sunset. The cocktails run over $15 but they were well-mixed. We also found the gift shops carried bottles of house-wine and champagne for around $21, so when our friends showed up to have a drink with us, we went up to our room to share our wine which we had left to chill. The best part of our stay was the staff. From chambermaid, to elevator operator, to bartender, to gift shop clerks, to registration assistants, we were treated like royalty! We occasionally save up and splurge on a night at high-end hotels on a trip, but as obvious small town middle-class folk we are often treated like peasants that have somehow escaped their place. NOT at Hotel del Coronado! My ONLY suggestion is for the Sun Deck Bar to stay open after 8pm on summer nights. I wish I was there right now. Go--enjoy the history and the pampering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GDGGDG
Business
San Diego
Jun 9, 2014

First class in every way!

Our daughter held her wedding in San Diego. The Hotel del Coronado will be one of the very positive memories we have of this once in a lifetime event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is beautiful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Coronado, a KSL Property

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VBDude
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 9, 2014

Great Times & Staff

Though the hotel is dated, it's been around for so many years for a reason...It's not only a great location, but the staff works incredibly hard to make your stay perfect...You'll pay for the great service, but they'll make you feel world-class...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top