$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

El Cordova Hotel

3 stars
1351 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
42 reviews
Great hotel and great location

While there is no hotel parking, residential parking is close and plentiful. Beautiful decor, large... See full review

  • Nicknames are silly
  • Jun 16, 2014
Exceeded our expectations

Our room was roomier than anticipated and very clean; bathroom and kitchen area were much larger... See full review

  • Martha from Maine
  • Feb 26, 2013
1902 mansion converted into a charming "Spanish Village" with 40 guest rooms, three restaurants and 12 boutique shops. The hotel is located across from the Hotel Del Coronado and only one block to the beach!

Hotel Map

32.6826 -117.1775
Area served
San Diego, Coronado Island, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
San Diego has what you are looking for! Want the thrill of an NFL football game or just a friendly game of volleyball with some newfound friends? Want to find that perfect golf course or do a little water skiing on a crisp clear morning? Whatever it is you are looking for, chances are you will find it in the San Diego area. Local Attractions also include: Beaches, Shopping, Sailing, Sea World and San Diego Zoo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cordova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

El Cordova Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with Continental Breakfast
The one-bedroom suite features one queen bed, living room with double sofa sleeper, and cable TV in rooms, full kitchen and dining area.
Two Bedroom Suite Includes Continental Breakfast
2 Bedroom apartment style suite. Seperate Bedrooms with king/ queen or 2 full beds. Living room with sofa sleeper. Full kitchen and dining area. Premium Suite appropriate for a large family, second floor only.
Two Bedroom Deluxe Suite Includes Continental Breakfast
Master bedroom one queen bed, second bedroom one full bed, one full bathroom, living room with sleeper sofa, full kitchen with dining area, cable TV. This room type can accommodate up to 6 people.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Brigantine
Specializing in seafood, steaks, chicken and pasta.
MIguel's Cocina
Fine Mexican Food with Famous Margaritas.
Bino's Cafe
Specializing in pastries, fresh baked breads, French crepes, omelets, sandwiches, and salad creations.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meeting room features three distinct configurations: 1) Board Room Style: Perfect for small meetings with big agendas. Capacity 10 people. 2) Classroom Style: Ideal for developing strategies or discussing important issues. Capacity 20 people. 3) Theatre Style: Just right for a PowerPoint presentation or for a little extra room to spread out. Capacity 30 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for El Cordova Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 42
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meme R.
Rome, Ga.
Sep 17, 2013

Graduation Celebration

We were in Coronado to see my nephew who is in the Navy. The place was great and I would highly recommend it to everyone. Some folks have stated that parking was a problem however we had not problems. It is only $.25 an hour and you only have to pay from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. free on Sunday. Great service from the staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Very good Mexican.

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KK Sholes
Belfast, Maine
Apr 24, 2013

perfect stay in a great location!

This hotel was an amazing value in a great location. the staff was friendly and courteous and addressed any needs we had, including a request for a room change. From the manager to the maintenance staff, the staff at the El Cordova were patient and accommodating and did it with a smile. The fact that the hotel was in walking distance to shops, restaraunts and most importantly across from the beach( and the Del) all the better. We saved money by buying a few groceries and eating in our suite and outside in the courtyard. The little pool in the courtyard was rarely used making it our own. Miguel's is right inside the hotel complex and a fun place to go for happy hour. Fabrison's was okay for the typical continental breakfast freebies(stopped offering mini crepes as part of thie freebies during our stay) for breads,cornflakes and coffee, but the owners were less than friendly and had a bit if an attitude in our opinion. The fact that I saved money by booking on a travel site for a 30% discount made this such a great value compared to the prices in Coronado. We would definitely stay here again, just not in the handicap accessible room which was configured differently for obvious reasons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coronado Island Dreamin'
Iowa, a long way from Island paradise
Mar 25, 2013

Ideal Coronado Island location

You cannot beat the location if you want to stay on Coronado Island. Although at first you may not consider a hotel on Coronado if you are going to hit all the San Diego tourist stops you will want to give this one some thought. It will not take you more than 30 minutes to get to any of the San Diego hot spots including the Zoo, Sea World, Old Town, PETCO Park and downtown and it is a great place to come back to at the end of the day. About the hotel specifically it is right across the street from Hotel Del and is a great little place with unique charm. It almost feels like you are at an italian or in this case a spanish villa. We were in a standard room that was very cozy and clean. You have an endless number of restaurants within walking distance as well as numerous shops. If you want to hit the beach you can walk across the street and be on the beach in less than five minutes. I would definitely stay here again and have stayed at numerous hotels on Coronado Island and would consider this one of my favorites thus far. The only possible downside would be the onsite mexican restaurant is located in the center of the hotel with an open air concept and may be a bit loud if your room happens to be close to the restaurant. But on the other hand we did eat dinner there and would recommend it as a place to eat if you are in the mood for good mexican food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to spend the day in San Diego you might want to consider driving down to the shops near the bay on the Coronado side and take the ferry across the bay. Parking is free at the shops and the round trip ferry is $8.50/person but you don't have to worry about finding parking in the downtown area and the ferry stop on the San diego side drops you right next to all things downtown.

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLRLCR
Michigan
Feb 21, 2013

Playing in the sunshine

Overall positive experience. We left a ten degree state that was covered in 2 feet of snow for 79 degrees and sunshine. Our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom family suite with kitchenette faced the lovely palm lined courtyard. It was a clean comfortable arrangement. We spent every evening in the heated pool. The pool is surrounded by bright colorful tiles, flowering plants and has an adjacent hot tub.( Perfectly satisfying for our teens.) The location of our suite however was not ideal for a time zone bitten jet lagged family. We were situated directly above the Mexican restaurant and on the street side. The restaurant was a lively loud establishment. It shut down at a reasonable hour every night. The street is noisy. The spectacular beach is across the street at the Hotel Del Coranado. Our breakfast setting was ideal-- a French Crepe place 2 doors down. The continental breakfast included crepes filled with egg,vegetables and meat. Delicious! .The breakfast was included in our room rate. We went whale watching, hung out at the zoo and shopped in LaJolla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
azjosh
az
Aug 1, 2012

Like a little town

Mixed feelings location was great, but room was loud above the restaurant, and bed was from the Flintstones I think, shower knobs fell off a few times, but staff was excellent, I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

stay here save money, the del is right across the street.

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Barbara
Aug 10, 2011

Nice but not great.

I would say this hotel is just okay. The place is old but clean and the furnishings are basic. The room was spacious and it had a separate living room with a small kitchen with a tiny fridge, a gas stove and microwave, which would have been good if we had planned on staying longer but we were only there for two nights. There are BBQ grills outside in the courtyard and there was a large family reunion that was utilizing this area. The pool is small with only a few regular chairs and no lounge chairs. By the afternoon half of the pool sitting area is in the shade and there's minimal space to sit in the sun. There was no parking and no valet service although it said there was. We had to drop our luggage off in front and then park across the street in an underground lot. Parking was $8/day. The beach was across the busy street and down a little. The restaurants attached to the hotel were popular and busy and there were a fair number of others close by. I probably wouldn't stay here again because I would prefer to stay on Mission Bay or Pacific Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Barbara
Aug 10, 2011

Nice but not great.

I would say this hotel is just okay. The place is old but clean and the furnishings are basic. The room was spacious and it had a separate living room with a small kitchen with a tiny fridge, a gas stove and microwave, which would have been good if we had planned on staying longer but we were only there for two nights. There are BBQ grills outside in the courtyard and there was a large family reunion that was utilizing this area. The pool is small with only a few regular chairs and no lounge chairs. By the afternoon half of the pool sitting area is in the shade and there's minimal space to sit in the sun. There was no parking and no valet service although it said there was. We had to drop our luggage off in front and then park across the street in an underground lot. Parking was $8/day. The beach was across the busy street and down a little. The restaurants attached to the hotel were popular and busy and there were a fair number of others close by. I probably wouldn't stay here again because I would prefer to stay on Mission Bay or Pacific Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Jun 19, 2009

El Cordova Hotel

We went to Coronado, CA to visit my Son whom at the time was staying at the Navy Base. The Hotel was just a short distance from there & very convenient. Coronado is beautiful & the hotel location was perfect. Just a short walk from the beach & right across the street from the much more expensive Hotel Coronado. There are a lot of shops to visit & a variety of restaurants, etc all within the same area of the hotel. We booked 1 room at the El Cordova for 2 people but we were furnished with only 1 (queen) bed. Our room (#3) was small & just above the restaurant (Miguel's Cocina) located in the center courtyard at the hotel. It was very noisy. Apparently, business is great at the restaurant with no signs of the struggling economy. It doesn't settle down until after 11:00 PM. The mornings are noisy too as that seems to be cleaning & prep time at the restaurant. The room & hotel was generally clean. Staff & service at the hotel were very hospitable & helpful. I recommend staying at the El Cordova but suggest a room in a different location of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Jun 19, 2009

El Cordova Hotel

We went to Coronado, CA to visit my Son whom at the time was staying at the Navy Base. The Hotel was just a short distance from there & very convenient. Coronado is beautiful & the hotel location was perfect. Just a short walk from the beach & right across the street from the much more expensive Hotel Coronado. There are a lot of shops to visit & a variety of restaurants, etc all within the same area of the hotel. We booked 1 room at the El Cordova for 2 people but we were furnished with only 1 (queen) bed. Our room (#3) was small & just above the restaurant (Miguel's Cocina) located in the center courtyard at the hotel. It was very noisy. Apparently, business is great at the restaurant with no signs of the struggling economy. It doesn't settle down until after 11:00 PM. The mornings are noisy too as that seems to be cleaning & prep time at the restaurant. The room & hotel was generally clean. Staff & service at the hotel were very hospitable & helpful. I recommend staying at the El Cordova but suggest a room in a different location of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top