$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 7, 2014

El Cordova Hotel

3 stars
1351 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
37 reviews
The most amazing staff

I don't have time to write a full review, but the staff at El a Cordova absolutely blew us away, so... See full review

  • Tucson Eric
  • Sep 15, 2014
Ralph 67

Great location on Coronado Island within walking distance to beach and restaurants, great value. See full review

  • Ralph6712
  • Aug 15, 2014
1902 mansion converted into a charming "Spanish Village" with 40 guest rooms, three restaurants and 12 boutique shops. The hotel is located across from the Hotel Del Coronado and only one block to the beach!

Hotel Map

32.6826 -117.1775
Area served
San Diego, Coronado Island, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
San Diego has what you are looking for! Want the thrill of an NFL football game or just a friendly game of volleyball with some newfound friends? Want to find that perfect golf course or do a little water skiing on a crisp clear morning? Whatever it is you are looking for, chances are you will find it in the San Diego area. Local Attractions also include: Beaches, Shopping, Sailing, Sea World and San Diego Zoo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cordova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

El Cordova Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with Continental Breakfast
The one-bedroom suite features one queen bed, living room with double sofa sleeper, and cable TV in rooms, full kitchen and dining area.
Two Bedroom Suite Includes Continental Breakfast
2 Bedroom apartment style suite. Seperate Bedrooms with king/ queen or 2 full beds. Living room with sofa sleeper. Full kitchen and dining area. Premium Suite appropriate for a large family, second floor only.
Two Bedroom Deluxe Suite Includes Continental Breakfast
Master bedroom one queen bed, second bedroom one full bed, one full bathroom, living room with sleeper sofa, full kitchen with dining area, cable TV. This room type can accommodate up to 6 people.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meeting room features three distinct configurations: 1) Board Room Style: Perfect for small meetings with big agendas. Capacity 10 people. 2) Classroom Style: Ideal for developing strategies or discussing important issues. Capacity 20 people. 3) Theatre Style: Just right for a PowerPoint presentation or for a little extra room to spread out. Capacity 30 people.

Dining

The Brigantine
Specializing in seafood, steaks, chicken and pasta.
MIguel's Cocina
Fine Mexican Food with Famous Margaritas.
Bino's Cafe
Specializing in pastries, fresh baked breads, French crepes, omelets, sandwiches, and salad creations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for El Cordova Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Dec 14, 2009

like sleeping in the middle of a bar

My room had a walk up stairway right in front of the outdoor seating area of the Mexican restaurant/bar. The tunnel stairway funneled the restaurant noise up and it was so loud you could actually hear the conversations of the customers. Now this is a noisy restaurant - not a nice quiet intimate little place. And they put the large groups out there so....... Then once they finally close and you think you will get to sleep they start stacking chairs - sounds like they are throwing them. And to top it all off they like to power spray the floors and do maintenance at about 5:30 am. That along with the trash left under the bed from previous guests, the fuse that blew every time you tried to dry your hair, and the drunken guests using the tunnel stairwell to stay out of the rain while they smoke - I would have done better to sleep in my car. Oh and speaking of cars - they don't even have a parking lot for guests. You can choose to park in the 2 hour meter parking on the street or park blocks away in an underground pay lot or find a neighborhood nearby that has an open spot on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pokes
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Old not quaint!

Old is the best word to describe El Cordova...not quaint or charming. When I asked for a better room....all I got was a bigger OLD room. Needs to be updated...not "charming and old world" as the owners see it. I was sorely disappointed as our trip to Coronado Island was suppose to be a fun relaxing time. We couldn't wait to check out in the morning when we cancelled our second night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kent City
Sep 27, 2008

great staff, great location

Loved the location of this hotel!! Short walk to many different restraunts and shop, and just a block from the beach. Hotel has a lot of personality. Most of the staff were super. It was nice to have a mini appartment. The bed was very comfortable. Our room was looking down at the restraunt waiting area and bar. It did get a little noisy at night, although they closed relatively early. My only complaints were that my wake-up call was late 3 times. Very late. The other was that the light had burnt out at the bottom of our stairs, and my wife fell and sprained her ankle one morning because of this. I spoke with the general manager, he didn't really seem to care. No appology, no offer to pay for the x-rays, no offer to help out with anything. The light was changed however, just to late to prevent what happened to my wife, who is still dealing with a lot of pain and swelling now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Valencia, ca
Mar 7, 2011

noisy but great location

We traveled to Coronado Island for a wedding/weekend away. The location of the hotel was great. It's across the street from Hotel Del Coronado and situated perfectly for walking to the beach and shops. However, the courtyard of the hotel is a popular restaurant, which was extremely noisy all day. It was also hard to sleep at night because in addition to the restaurant noise, the walls are so thin that you can here the conversations of the people in the rooms across the hallway. The bathroom was very small and housed the only mirror of the hotel room which was very tiny above the bathroom sink. all in all, great location but will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
N and RS
San Diego, CA
Feb 14, 2013

Great location, mediocre amenities

The bed was comfortable, but the chairs were not, and that was disappointing because we had to spend some time in them. The bed was firm and we slept well. Could have used an extra pillow. The place is very old, so it reflects that, but overall it was clean. There was free coffee in the lobby, which was close to us, so that was a plus. The free Continental breakfast was far inferior to those we actually had on the Continent. Sweet rolls very stale, though crepes were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is available right by the hotel, and free if you park after 6 PM, just make sure you get out there and put some quarters in for parking by 8 AM. Fee is only 25 cents an hour, so very affordable, compared to their contracted parking a block away at $8 per night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Barbara
Aug 10, 2011

Nice but not great.

I would say this hotel is just okay. The place is old but clean and the furnishings are basic. The room was spacious and it had a separate living room with a small kitchen with a tiny fridge, a gas stove and microwave, which would have been good if we had planned on staying longer but we were only there for two nights. There are BBQ grills outside in the courtyard and there was a large family reunion that was utilizing this area. The pool is small with only a few regular chairs and no lounge chairs. By the afternoon half of the pool sitting area is in the shade and there's minimal space to sit in the sun. There was no parking and no valet service although it said there was. We had to drop our luggage off in front and then park across the street in an underground lot. Parking was $8/day. The beach was across the busy street and down a little. The restaurants attached to the hotel were popular and busy and there were a fair number of others close by. I probably wouldn't stay here again because I would prefer to stay on Mission Bay or Pacific Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gail Beck
Anthem AZ
Sep 11, 2013

Not a good value for the money

The hotel did not provide parking facilities for guests. We had to find parking on the street, either in a nearby neighborhood or parking meters (which had a 2 hr. time limit - they were free after 6pm and on Sun.) The continental breakfast was inadequate. Most hotels with this type of breakfast provide a better healthy choice, such as eggs, etc. This one provided small pastries, some fruit and cereal only. We had to go to a coffee shop for a good breakfast. Also, there was only one outlet (we had to crawl under a desk to reach it) to plug items in. And there was no sprinkler system. We were told we had a queen bed but it was only a full size. We asked the front desk about this and they said it was a queen bed, but it was definitely not a queen bed. We loved Coronado and would go back bu not to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 30, 2011

It wasn't bad but it wasn't great

The Hotel is located in a prime place on Coronado Island. I attended a conference across the street from this Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. After check in I walked through the lobby to a quaint courtyard. It was cool and refreshing with tables, a grill and a pool. To get to the room I walked through the courtyard to a stair well that led up to a room on the left and one on the right. My room was very spacious with a living room, a pull out bed, small kitchen with stove, refrigerator and microwave. Included were dishes, sliverware and pans. The bedroom was also large with a comfortable bed but horrible pillows. The bathroom was attached but very small. It did come supplied with soap and shampoo, however no hair dryer. There was a flat screen TV in both the living room and bedroom. That is the good stuff. It is hard to explain but the room had a musty smell. The furniture was old and outdated and the carpet was worse. Overall, it was comfortable and clean but could really use some updating in the rooms. The location was fantastic and the Hotel was surrounded by quaint places to eat and shop. There is something missing in the room but it is hard to put my finger on what that is exactly. I would return but wish they would update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is great in that you can walk to the beach, shops and a multitude of dining experiences. Parking was only $6.00 a day if you stay at the hotel with in and out privileges. There is a restaurant next to the hotel that served a great Mexican breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Jun 19, 2009

El Cordova Hotel

We went to Coronado, CA to visit my Son whom at the time was staying at the Navy Base. The Hotel was just a short distance from there & very convenient. Coronado is beautiful & the hotel location was perfect. Just a short walk from the beach & right across the street from the much more expensive Hotel Coronado. There are a lot of shops to visit & a variety of restaurants, etc all within the same area of the hotel. We booked 1 room at the El Cordova for 2 people but we were furnished with only 1 (queen) bed. Our room (#3) was small & just above the restaurant (Miguel's Cocina) located in the center courtyard at the hotel. It was very noisy. Apparently, business is great at the restaurant with no signs of the struggling economy. It doesn't settle down until after 11:00 PM. The mornings are noisy too as that seems to be cleaning & prep time at the restaurant. The room & hotel was generally clean. Staff & service at the hotel were very hospitable & helpful. I recommend staying at the El Cordova but suggest a room in a different location of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swanlqdy
Rhode island
Nov 18, 2012

Wedding

Great location, boutique type hotel, no elevator as rooms are tucked in all over the two story property. Very nice staff, baths are small and basic, lots of nice tile work, self service hotel more or less. Nice cafes for breakfast and lunch close and gorgeous beach one block. Bike rentals rentals on site too. Ferry to San Diego about a mile walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search