$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2014 Check-out: May 9, 2014

El Cordova Hotel

3 stars
1351 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
32 reviews
Exceeded our expectations

Our room was roomier than anticipated and very clean; bathroom and kitchen area were much larger... See full review

  • Martha from Maine
  • Feb 26, 2013
Graduation Celebration

We were in Coronado to see my nephew who is in the Navy. The place was great and I would highly... See full review

  • Meme R.
  • Sep 17, 2013
1902 mansion converted into a charming "Spanish Village" with 40 guest rooms, three restaurants and 12 boutique shops. The hotel is located across from the Hotel Del Coronado and only one block to the beach!

El Cordova Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with Continental Breakfast
The one-bedroom suite features one queen bed, living room with double sofa sleeper, and cable TV in rooms, full kitchen and dining area.
Two Bedroom Suite Includes Continental Breakfast
2 Bedroom apartment style suite. Seperate Bedrooms with king/ queen or 2 full beds. Living room with sofa sleeper. Full kitchen and dining area. Premium Suite appropriate for a large family, second floor only.
Two Bedroom Deluxe Suite Includes Continental Breakfast
Master bedroom one queen bed, second bedroom one full bed, one full bathroom, living room with sleeper sofa, full kitchen with dining area, cable TV. This room type can accommodate up to 6 people.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cordova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.6826 -117.1775
Area served
San Diego, Coronado Island, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
San Diego has what you are looking for! Want the thrill of an NFL football game or just a friendly game of volleyball with some newfound friends? Want to find that perfect golf course or do a little water skiing on a crisp clear morning? Whatever it is you are looking for, chances are you will find it in the San Diego area. Local Attractions also include: Beaches, Shopping, Sailing, Sea World and San Diego Zoo.

Dining

The Brigantine
Specializing in seafood, steaks, chicken and pasta.
MIguel's Cocina
Fine Mexican Food with Famous Margaritas.
Bino's Cafe
Specializing in pastries, fresh baked breads, French crepes, omelets, sandwiches, and salad creations.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meeting room features three distinct configurations: 1) Board Room Style: Perfect for small meetings with big agendas. Capacity 10 people. 2) Classroom Style: Ideal for developing strategies or discussing important issues. Capacity 20 people. 3) Theatre Style: Just right for a PowerPoint presentation or for a little extra room to spread out. Capacity 30 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for El Cordova Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Martha from Maine
Portland, Maine
Feb 26, 2013

Exceeded our expectations

Our room was roomier than anticipated and very clean; bathroom and kitchen area were much larger than most. Hotel staff was extraordinarily helpful and friendly. Location was exceptional - very easy to take many daily walks on the beach. A wonderful spanish style boutique.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Sebastopol
Sep 20, 2008

Can't wait to come back

We stayed during the week in September, so it felt almost as though we had the place to ourselves -- we were surprised to find our room was a suite, complete with a kitchen, living room, and large bedroom with a comfy, clean bed. The hotel itself was a historic spanish villa, and the center courtyard contained the pool, hot tub, a patio with gas grills, and a wonderful (and popular!) Mexican restaurant called Miguel's. Since there was cute shopping area surrounding the hotel, we were able to get crepes, rent bicycles, and have a nice dinner all within the hotel grounds. In the day all we needed to do was walk across the street to the beach. And when we returned that night, Miguel's would make us margaritas in plastic cups to take to the pool area. All in all a fantastic vacation, we would go back in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a couple of cruiser bikes from Little Sam's -- Coronado Island has a wonderful bike path which goes through the golf course, along a view of San Diego, past the Naval base, and finally following the beach all the way down to the State beach on the peninsula.

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
kineticd
Big Bear, CA 92333, USA
Sep 19, 2011

El Cordova Rocks!!!!

A beautiful time! The staff at the El Cordova are the best!!! The 2nd story suite was most comfortable. We felt pampered and able to entertain our new Navy Seal friends. Moms, Dads, Grandparents, Cousins, and of course these bright youg men that had just graduated training. I am going to reserve this hotel for fleet week again next year. Ya don't need the "Del" when you have the "Cordova" which was built by the same guy... Book it today. D.R.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Jennygirl
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Romantic retreat

We have stayed in Coronado many, many times over the last 15 years. Most times at the Glorietta Bay Hotel. We tried the El Cordova because we always eat at the restaurant there and thought the hotel looked like it had some charm. It ended up being about $60 per night cheaper than the cheapest room at Glorietta bay. El Cordova did not let us down. It was a small room right in front of the pool. it had a comfortable bed, flat screen TV and nice clean bathroom. All right in the heart of downtown Coronado. I was a liitle apprehensive after reading reviews about how noisy the hotel was, however, this was not our experience at all. We parked in the parking garage across the street for $8 per day which is not a big deal considering Glorietta bay charges $10 a day to park in their own parking lot. The bottom line is I don't see how you can beat a nice, clean room in a perfect location on Coronado for $100 per night. I think we just found a new Coronado home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Newflove
Duncan, BC, Canada
Mar 4, 2012

El Cordova Suite was Sweet!

This one bedroom suite was perfect for our stay. The stairs were not really a problem for us. Everything we needed was there, the suite was spacious for two adults, and our view of both the courtyard and the road was excellent. We ate at all of the cafes and restaurants on the property and all were excellent in every way. Even though we were above the restaurants we were not kept awake by any noise. All shops below were friendly and unique. We loved all of Coronado so much we will plan on coming back, definitely staying at El Cordova!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The ladies at "Treasures from the Heart" located at El Cordova, and at "D. Forsythe Unique Jewelery" were wonderful and helpful. Many unique treasures at both shops, wonderful people to chat with! Visiting these two shops is highly recommended even if just to meet them all!

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
ECAD
Los Angeles
Jan 9, 2012

GREAT Location & Friendly Staff

I tend not to stay anywhere less than 4 stars, but this weekend the Del Coronado was all booked, and while the Marriot and Loews appeared to have way better accomodations, their locations were NOT central or convenient. It was great to be able to walk right out the front door, cross the street and have the Del and the beach at your feet. The staff were super nice. The toilet in our room wouldn't flush 100%, and when I told the front desk they upgraded us to a 1 bedroom suite by the pool right away. No paperwork, hardly even a conversation! Exactly the kind of service we're looking for. Yes, the rooms are dated (though their bed linens were super soft!), but that's kind of the charm of this place. You feel like you've stepped out of time a bit. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Meme R.
Rome, Ga.
Sep 17, 2013

Graduation Celebration

We were in Coronado to see my nephew who is in the Navy. The place was great and I would highly recommend it to everyone. Some folks have stated that parking was a problem however we had not problems. It is only $.25 an hour and you only have to pay from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. free on Sunday. Great service from the staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Very good Mexican.

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
JayTC
Portland, OR
May 28, 2013

Beach Bed & Breakfast

It's a cross between a bed and breakfast and a hotel. Not a good choice if you have a rental car as they do not have a parking lot and nearby street parking is metered. However, it's quite close to San Diego airport for an affordable cab drive and is definitely walking/biking distance for everything interesting and fun in Coronado. If I go back to Coronado, I'd certainly consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
COLBad
Business
Tucson
Feb 8, 2013

Beautiful Coronado

Great location for this nice hotel with excellent staff. The place is a bit old, but clean and comfortable. Biggest problem was with the parking, but that was manageable. Reasonably priced for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Sarah D. R.N.
Central California
May 28, 2013

Great location!

Fantastic location in the heart of downtown Coronado with easy walking to everything. Close to The Del, the beach, shops and restaurants. The room was very large and spacious. They even gave a continental breakfast with coffee or pastries or you could opt for $4 off the nearby crepe restaurant. It wasn't super fancy but it was decent and had historic Spanish charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top