$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 22, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

El Cordova Hotel

3 stars
1351 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
38 reviews
The most amazing staff

I don't have time to write a full review, but the staff at El a Cordova absolutely blew us away, so... See full review

  • Tucson Eric
  • Sep 15, 2014
Ralph 67

Great location on Coronado Island within walking distance to beach and restaurants, great value. See full review

  • Ralph6712
  • Aug 15, 2014
1902 mansion converted into a charming "Spanish Village" with 40 guest rooms, three restaurants and 12 boutique shops. The hotel is located across from the Hotel Del Coronado and only one block to the beach!

Hotel Map

32.6826 -117.1775
Area served
San Diego, Coronado Island, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
San Diego has what you are looking for! Want the thrill of an NFL football game or just a friendly game of volleyball with some newfound friends? Want to find that perfect golf course or do a little water skiing on a crisp clear morning? Whatever it is you are looking for, chances are you will find it in the San Diego area. Local Attractions also include: Beaches, Shopping, Sailing, Sea World and San Diego Zoo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cordova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

El Cordova Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with Continental Breakfast
The one-bedroom suite features one queen bed, living room with double sofa sleeper, and cable TV in rooms, full kitchen and dining area.
Two Bedroom Suite Includes Continental Breakfast
2 Bedroom apartment style suite. Seperate Bedrooms with king/ queen or 2 full beds. Living room with sofa sleeper. Full kitchen and dining area. Premium Suite appropriate for a large family, second floor only.
Two Bedroom Deluxe Suite Includes Continental Breakfast
Master bedroom one queen bed, second bedroom one full bed, one full bathroom, living room with sleeper sofa, full kitchen with dining area, cable TV. This room type can accommodate up to 6 people.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meeting room features three distinct configurations: 1) Board Room Style: Perfect for small meetings with big agendas. Capacity 10 people. 2) Classroom Style: Ideal for developing strategies or discussing important issues. Capacity 20 people. 3) Theatre Style: Just right for a PowerPoint presentation or for a little extra room to spread out. Capacity 30 people.

Dining

The Brigantine
Specializing in seafood, steaks, chicken and pasta.
MIguel's Cocina
Fine Mexican Food with Famous Margaritas.
Bino's Cafe
Specializing in pastries, fresh baked breads, French crepes, omelets, sandwiches, and salad creations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for El Cordova Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Valencia, ca
Mar 7, 2011

noisy but great location

We traveled to Coronado Island for a wedding/weekend away. The location of the hotel was great. It's across the street from Hotel Del Coronado and situated perfectly for walking to the beach and shops. However, the courtyard of the hotel is a popular restaurant, which was extremely noisy all day. It was also hard to sleep at night because in addition to the restaurant noise, the walls are so thin that you can here the conversations of the people in the rooms across the hallway. The bathroom was very small and housed the only mirror of the hotel room which was very tiny above the bathroom sink. all in all, great location but will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 30, 2011

It wasn't bad but it wasn't great

The Hotel is located in a prime place on Coronado Island. I attended a conference across the street from this Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. After check in I walked through the lobby to a quaint courtyard. It was cool and refreshing with tables, a grill and a pool. To get to the room I walked through the courtyard to a stair well that led up to a room on the left and one on the right. My room was very spacious with a living room, a pull out bed, small kitchen with stove, refrigerator and microwave. Included were dishes, sliverware and pans. The bedroom was also large with a comfortable bed but horrible pillows. The bathroom was attached but very small. It did come supplied with soap and shampoo, however no hair dryer. There was a flat screen TV in both the living room and bedroom. That is the good stuff. It is hard to explain but the room had a musty smell. The furniture was old and outdated and the carpet was worse. Overall, it was comfortable and clean but could really use some updating in the rooms. The location was fantastic and the Hotel was surrounded by quaint places to eat and shop. There is something missing in the room but it is hard to put my finger on what that is exactly. I would return but wish they would update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is great in that you can walk to the beach, shops and a multitude of dining experiences. Parking was only $6.00 a day if you stay at the hotel with in and out privileges. There is a restaurant next to the hotel that served a great Mexican breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Dec 14, 2009

like sleeping in the middle of a bar

My room had a walk up stairway right in front of the outdoor seating area of the Mexican restaurant/bar. The tunnel stairway funneled the restaurant noise up and it was so loud you could actually hear the conversations of the customers. Now this is a noisy restaurant - not a nice quiet intimate little place. And they put the large groups out there so....... Then once they finally close and you think you will get to sleep they start stacking chairs - sounds like they are throwing them. And to top it all off they like to power spray the floors and do maintenance at about 5:30 am. That along with the trash left under the bed from previous guests, the fuse that blew every time you tried to dry your hair, and the drunken guests using the tunnel stairwell to stay out of the rain while they smoke - I would have done better to sleep in my car. Oh and speaking of cars - they don't even have a parking lot for guests. You can choose to park in the 2 hour meter parking on the street or park blocks away in an underground pay lot or find a neighborhood nearby that has an open spot on the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Jun 19, 2009

El Cordova Hotel

We went to Coronado, CA to visit my Son whom at the time was staying at the Navy Base. The Hotel was just a short distance from there & very convenient. Coronado is beautiful & the hotel location was perfect. Just a short walk from the beach & right across the street from the much more expensive Hotel Coronado. There are a lot of shops to visit & a variety of restaurants, etc all within the same area of the hotel. We booked 1 room at the El Cordova for 2 people but we were furnished with only 1 (queen) bed. Our room (#3) was small & just above the restaurant (Miguel's Cocina) located in the center courtyard at the hotel. It was very noisy. Apparently, business is great at the restaurant with no signs of the struggling economy. It doesn't settle down until after 11:00 PM. The mornings are noisy too as that seems to be cleaning & prep time at the restaurant. The room & hotel was generally clean. Staff & service at the hotel were very hospitable & helpful. I recommend staying at the El Cordova but suggest a room in a different location of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deb the Diva
San Diego, CA
May 25, 2009

Just like home

This is a lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Coronado, CA 1 block from the Hotel Del and the world famous Coronado beach. The hotel itself is wonderful for a family, only 40 rooms--small and quaint. My husband and I had a 1-bedroom suite (hardwood floors and with a full kitchen, stove, fridge, microwave) including all cooking utensils, pots, pans, silverware, etc. and a queen size sofa sleeper in the living room. So if we wanted to have a little party with another couple or our friends just had too much to drink while they were visiting, they could have stayed overnight. What also makes this a great family hotel is the fact that the rooms are all situated around the pool and jacuzzi which makes it easy to keep an eye on your little ones. But our greatest compliment to the property (since we are beach lovers) is the fact that it's right across the street from the beach and we were able to spend a lot of our precious 3-day weekend there at the beach. Plus, the shopping and dining surrounding this hotel like almost in the same building, were numerous, 2 restaurants 3 European bistro type deli's and numerous little boutique type shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kent City
Sep 27, 2008

great staff, great location

Loved the location of this hotel!! Short walk to many different restraunts and shop, and just a block from the beach. Hotel has a lot of personality. Most of the staff were super. It was nice to have a mini appartment. The bed was very comfortable. Our room was looking down at the restraunt waiting area and bar. It did get a little noisy at night, although they closed relatively early. My only complaints were that my wake-up call was late 3 times. Very late. The other was that the light had burnt out at the bottom of our stairs, and my wife fell and sprained her ankle one morning because of this. I spoke with the general manager, he didn't really seem to care. No appology, no offer to pay for the x-rays, no offer to help out with anything. The light was changed however, just to late to prevent what happened to my wife, who is still dealing with a lot of pain and swelling now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sebastopol
Sep 20, 2008

Can't wait to come back

We stayed during the week in September, so it felt almost as though we had the place to ourselves -- we were surprised to find our room was a suite, complete with a kitchen, living room, and large bedroom with a comfy, clean bed. The hotel itself was a historic spanish villa, and the center courtyard contained the pool, hot tub, a patio with gas grills, and a wonderful (and popular!) Mexican restaurant called Miguel's. Since there was cute shopping area surrounding the hotel, we were able to get crepes, rent bicycles, and have a nice dinner all within the hotel grounds. In the day all we needed to do was walk across the street to the beach. And when we returned that night, Miguel's would make us margaritas in plastic cups to take to the pool area. All in all a fantastic vacation, we would go back in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a couple of cruiser bikes from Little Sam's -- Coronado Island has a wonderful bike path which goes through the golf course, along a view of San Diego, past the Naval base, and finally following the beach all the way down to the State beach on the peninsula.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greeley
Sep 14, 2008

Bag of Goodies

I thought the hotel was pretty decent, with a pretty cool setup with restaurants, cafes, and gift/rental shops sharing the property. It was also a short stroll to the beach and the boardwalk on Coronado. My only complaint, and it is kind of major, was the cleanliness of the room. Everything appeard clean and the maids came by daily but when we first got in our room, I started opening drawers (just in case someone left a stack of cash).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top