$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 16, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

El Cordova Hotel

3 stars
1351 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
39 reviews
The most amazing staff

I don't have time to write a full review, but the staff at El a Cordova absolutely blew us away, so... See full review

  • Tucson Eric
  • Sep 15, 2014
Ralph 67

Great location on Coronado Island within walking distance to beach and restaurants, great value. See full review

  • Ralph6712
  • Aug 15, 2014
1902 mansion converted into a charming "Spanish Village" with 40 guest rooms, three restaurants and 12 boutique shops. The hotel is located across from the Hotel Del Coronado and only one block to the beach!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cordova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

El Cordova Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with Continental Breakfast
The one-bedroom suite features one queen bed, living room with double sofa sleeper, and cable TV in rooms, full kitchen and dining area.
Two Bedroom Suite Includes Continental Breakfast
2 Bedroom apartment style suite. Seperate Bedrooms with king/ queen or 2 full beds. Living room with sofa sleeper. Full kitchen and dining area. Premium Suite appropriate for a large family, second floor only.
Two Bedroom Deluxe Suite Includes Continental Breakfast
Master bedroom one queen bed, second bedroom one full bed, one full bathroom, living room with sleeper sofa, full kitchen with dining area, cable TV. This room type can accommodate up to 6 people.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Brigantine
Specializing in seafood, steaks, chicken and pasta.
MIguel's Cocina
Fine Mexican Food with Famous Margaritas.
Bino's Cafe
Specializing in pastries, fresh baked breads, French crepes, omelets, sandwiches, and salad creations.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meeting room features three distinct configurations: 1) Board Room Style: Perfect for small meetings with big agendas. Capacity 10 people. 2) Classroom Style: Ideal for developing strategies or discussing important issues. Capacity 20 people. 3) Theatre Style: Just right for a PowerPoint presentation or for a little extra room to spread out. Capacity 30 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for El Cordova Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MitchM
Business
Coronado
Nov 22, 2012

El Cordova - Great but needs work on bathrooms

El Cordova is in a great location for not actually being on the beach. It is very close to Coronado beaches (5 minute walk). Being just off Orange avenue, it is very close to places to eat and shop. The room was a suite and was very nice. The bedroom bed was about 3 feet off the ground, so if you fall out of the bed at night, it is a long way down. The staff was polite. The hotel is a little older and the shape is average, but for the location and price, it was great. One thing that they could do that is inexpensive is replace the shower heads with a low flow head that will actually wash off the soap. It took a long time to get rinsed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Really great ice cream with a Moo in it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swanlqdy
Business
Rhode island
Nov 18, 2012

Wedding

Great location, boutique type hotel, no elevator as rooms are tucked in all over the two story property. Very nice staff, baths are small and basic, lots of nice tile work, self service hotel more or less. Nice cafes for breakfast and lunch close and gorgeous beach one block. Bike rentals rentals on site too. Ferry to San Diego about a mile walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
azjosh
Business
az
Aug 1, 2012

Like a little town

Mixed feelings location was great, but room was loud above the restaurant, and bed was from the Flintstones I think, shower knobs fell off a few times, but staff was excellent, I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

stay here save money, the del is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blueydjudy
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 31, 2012

Charming ambiance

Room was adequate but view from Queen Deluxe left something to be desired. Would recommend going with a room with kitchenette. Loved the location and the restaurants that are integrated into this hotel...especially Miguels, where we ate 4 meals in 3 days. Many wonderful places to go to the beach, shop and eat are all within walking distance. Park on street one block away in nice neighborhood and avoid any parking charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eating at Miguels during Happy Hour from 3:00 to 6:00 offers a nice variety of mexican specialities at reasonable price and avoid dinner crowds. Their specialty is fish tacos and they are great along with the crispy quesadilla.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaeH
Business
Monterey, CA, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Perfect for even just a night

The staff is super friendly and the check in and out was way too easy. The rooms are great, and the location is prime. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street is Hotel Del Coronado. The food is great, and we were actually at the bar at Babcock and Story. The service was great and the portions were very generous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newflove
Business
Duncan, BC, Canada
Mar 4, 2012

El Cordova Suite was Sweet!

This one bedroom suite was perfect for our stay. The stairs were not really a problem for us. Everything we needed was there, the suite was spacious for two adults, and our view of both the courtyard and the road was excellent. We ate at all of the cafes and restaurants on the property and all were excellent in every way. Even though we were above the restaurants we were not kept awake by any noise. All shops below were friendly and unique. We loved all of Coronado so much we will plan on coming back, definitely staying at El Cordova!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The ladies at "Treasures from the Heart" located at El Cordova, and at "D. Forsythe Unique Jewelery" were wonderful and helpful. Many unique treasures at both shops, wonderful people to chat with! Visiting these two shops is highly recommended even if just to meet them all!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pokes
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Old not quaint!

Old is the best word to describe El Cordova...not quaint or charming. When I asked for a better room....all I got was a bigger OLD room. Needs to be updated...not "charming and old world" as the owners see it. I was sorely disappointed as our trip to Coronado Island was suppose to be a fun relaxing time. We couldn't wait to check out in the morning when we cancelled our second night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennygirl
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Feb 11, 2012

Romantic retreat

We have stayed in Coronado many, many times over the last 15 years. Most times at the Glorietta Bay Hotel. We tried the El Cordova because we always eat at the restaurant there and thought the hotel looked like it had some charm. It ended up being about $60 per night cheaper than the cheapest room at Glorietta bay. El Cordova did not let us down. It was a small room right in front of the pool. it had a comfortable bed, flat screen TV and nice clean bathroom. All right in the heart of downtown Coronado. I was a liitle apprehensive after reading reviews about how noisy the hotel was, however, this was not our experience at all. We parked in the parking garage across the street for $8 per day which is not a big deal considering Glorietta bay charges $10 a day to park in their own parking lot. The bottom line is I don't see how you can beat a nice, clean room in a perfect location on Coronado for $100 per night. I think we just found a new Coronado home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ECAD
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 9, 2012

GREAT Location & Friendly Staff

I tend not to stay anywhere less than 4 stars, but this weekend the Del Coronado was all booked, and while the Marriot and Loews appeared to have way better accomodations, their locations were NOT central or convenient. It was great to be able to walk right out the front door, cross the street and have the Del and the beach at your feet. The staff were super nice. The toilet in our room wouldn't flush 100%, and when I told the front desk they upgraded us to a 1 bedroom suite by the pool right away. No paperwork, hardly even a conversation! Exactly the kind of service we're looking for. Yes, the rooms are dated (though their bed linens were super soft!), but that's kind of the charm of this place. You feel like you've stepped out of time a bit. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kineticd
Business
Big Bear, CA 92333, USA
Sep 19, 2011

El Cordova Rocks!!!!

A beautiful time! The staff at the El Cordova are the best!!! The 2nd story suite was most comfortable. We felt pampered and able to entertain our new Navy Seal friends. Moms, Dads, Grandparents, Cousins, and of course these bright youg men that had just graduated training. I am going to reserve this hotel for fleet week again next year. Ya don't need the "Del" when you have the "Cordova" which was built by the same guy... Book it today. D.R.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top