$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

El Cordova Hotel

3 stars
1351 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
42 reviews
Great hotel and great location

While there is no hotel parking, residential parking is close and plentiful. Beautiful decor, large... See full review

  • Nicknames are silly
  • Jun 16, 2014
Exceeded our expectations

Our room was roomier than anticipated and very clean; bathroom and kitchen area were much larger... See full review

  • Martha from Maine
  • Feb 26, 2013
1902 mansion converted into a charming "Spanish Village" with 40 guest rooms, three restaurants and 12 boutique shops. The hotel is located across from the Hotel Del Coronado and only one block to the beach!

El Cordova Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with Continental Breakfast
The one-bedroom suite features one queen bed, living room with double sofa sleeper, and cable TV in rooms, full kitchen and dining area.
Two Bedroom Suite Includes Continental Breakfast
2 Bedroom apartment style suite. Seperate Bedrooms with king/ queen or 2 full beds. Living room with sofa sleeper. Full kitchen and dining area. Premium Suite appropriate for a large family, second floor only.
Two Bedroom Deluxe Suite Includes Continental Breakfast
Master bedroom one queen bed, second bedroom one full bed, one full bathroom, living room with sleeper sofa, full kitchen with dining area, cable TV. This room type can accommodate up to 6 people.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cordova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.6826 -117.1775
Area served
San Diego, Coronado Island, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
San Diego has what you are looking for! Want the thrill of an NFL football game or just a friendly game of volleyball with some newfound friends? Want to find that perfect golf course or do a little water skiing on a crisp clear morning? Whatever it is you are looking for, chances are you will find it in the San Diego area. Local Attractions also include: Beaches, Shopping, Sailing, Sea World and San Diego Zoo.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meeting room features three distinct configurations: 1) Board Room Style: Perfect for small meetings with big agendas. Capacity 10 people. 2) Classroom Style: Ideal for developing strategies or discussing important issues. Capacity 20 people. 3) Theatre Style: Just right for a PowerPoint presentation or for a little extra room to spread out. Capacity 30 people.

Dining

The Brigantine
Specializing in seafood, steaks, chicken and pasta.
MIguel's Cocina
Fine Mexican Food with Famous Margaritas.
Bino's Cafe
Specializing in pastries, fresh baked breads, French crepes, omelets, sandwiches, and salad creations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for El Cordova Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martha from Maine
Portland, Maine
Feb 26, 2013

Exceeded our expectations

Our room was roomier than anticipated and very clean; bathroom and kitchen area were much larger than most. Hotel staff was extraordinarily helpful and friendly. Location was exceptional - very easy to take many daily walks on the beach. A wonderful spanish style boutique.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLRLCR
Michigan
Feb 21, 2013

Playing in the sunshine

Overall positive experience. We left a ten degree state that was covered in 2 feet of snow for 79 degrees and sunshine. Our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom family suite with kitchenette faced the lovely palm lined courtyard. It was a clean comfortable arrangement. We spent every evening in the heated pool. The pool is surrounded by bright colorful tiles, flowering plants and has an adjacent hot tub.( Perfectly satisfying for our teens.) The location of our suite however was not ideal for a time zone bitten jet lagged family. We were situated directly above the Mexican restaurant and on the street side. The restaurant was a lively loud establishment. It shut down at a reasonable hour every night. The street is noisy. The spectacular beach is across the street at the Hotel Del Coranado. Our breakfast setting was ideal-- a French Crepe place 2 doors down. The continental breakfast included crepes filled with egg,vegetables and meat. Delicious! .The breakfast was included in our room rate. We went whale watching, hung out at the zoo and shopped in LaJolla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
N and RS
San Diego, CA
Feb 14, 2013

Great location, mediocre amenities

The bed was comfortable, but the chairs were not, and that was disappointing because we had to spend some time in them. The bed was firm and we slept well. Could have used an extra pillow. The place is very old, so it reflects that, but overall it was clean. There was free coffee in the lobby, which was close to us, so that was a plus. The free Continental breakfast was far inferior to those we actually had on the Continent. Sweet rolls very stale, though crepes were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is available right by the hotel, and free if you park after 6 PM, just make sure you get out there and put some quarters in for parking by 8 AM. Fee is only 25 cents an hour, so very affordable, compared to their contracted parking a block away at $8 per night.

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
COLBad
Business
Tucson
Feb 8, 2013

Beautiful Coronado

Great location for this nice hotel with excellent staff. The place is a bit old, but clean and comfortable. Biggest problem was with the parking, but that was manageable. Reasonably priced for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MitchM
Business
Coronado
Nov 22, 2012

El Cordova - Great but needs work on bathrooms

El Cordova is in a great location for not actually being on the beach. It is very close to Coronado beaches (5 minute walk). Being just off Orange avenue, it is very close to places to eat and shop. The room was a suite and was very nice. The bedroom bed was about 3 feet off the ground, so if you fall out of the bed at night, it is a long way down. The staff was polite. The hotel is a little older and the shape is average, but for the location and price, it was great. One thing that they could do that is inexpensive is replace the shower heads with a low flow head that will actually wash off the soap. It took a long time to get rinsed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Really great ice cream with a Moo in it.

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swanlqdy
Rhode island
Nov 18, 2012

Wedding

Great location, boutique type hotel, no elevator as rooms are tucked in all over the two story property. Very nice staff, baths are small and basic, lots of nice tile work, self service hotel more or less. Nice cafes for breakfast and lunch close and gorgeous beach one block. Bike rentals rentals on site too. Ferry to San Diego about a mile walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
azjosh
az
Aug 1, 2012

Like a little town

Mixed feelings location was great, but room was loud above the restaurant, and bed was from the Flintstones I think, shower knobs fell off a few times, but staff was excellent, I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

stay here save money, the del is right across the street.

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blueydjudy
Las Vegas, NV
May 31, 2012

Charming ambiance

Room was adequate but view from Queen Deluxe left something to be desired. Would recommend going with a room with kitchenette. Loved the location and the restaurants that are integrated into this hotel...especially Miguels, where we ate 4 meals in 3 days. Many wonderful places to go to the beach, shop and eat are all within walking distance. Park on street one block away in nice neighborhood and avoid any parking charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eating at Miguels during Happy Hour from 3:00 to 6:00 offers a nice variety of mexican specialities at reasonable price and avoid dinner crowds. Their specialty is fish tacos and they are great along with the crispy quesadilla.

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaeH
Monterey, CA, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Perfect for even just a night

The staff is super friendly and the check in and out was way too easy. The rooms are great, and the location is prime. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street is Hotel Del Coronado. The food is great, and we were actually at the bar at Babcock and Story. The service was great and the portions were very generous.

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newflove
Duncan, BC, Canada
Mar 4, 2012

El Cordova Suite was Sweet!

This one bedroom suite was perfect for our stay. The stairs were not really a problem for us. Everything we needed was there, the suite was spacious for two adults, and our view of both the courtyard and the road was excellent. We ate at all of the cafes and restaurants on the property and all were excellent in every way. Even though we were above the restaurants we were not kept awake by any noise. All shops below were friendly and unique. We loved all of Coronado so much we will plan on coming back, definitely staying at El Cordova!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The ladies at "Treasures from the Heart" located at El Cordova, and at "D. Forsythe Unique Jewelery" were wonderful and helpful. Many unique treasures at both shops, wonderful people to chat with! Visiting these two shops is highly recommended even if just to meet them all!

Back to menu Return to top