$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

El Cordova Hotel

3 stars
1351 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
40 reviews
The most amazing staff

I don't have time to write a full review, but the staff at El a Cordova absolutely blew us away, so... See full review

  • Tucson Eric
  • Sep 15, 2014
Ralph 67

Great location on Coronado Island within walking distance to beach and restaurants, great value. See full review

  • Ralph6712
  • Aug 15, 2014
1902 mansion converted into a charming "Spanish Village" with 40 guest rooms, three restaurants and 12 boutique shops. The hotel is located across from the Hotel Del Coronado and only one block to the beach!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cordova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

El Cordova Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with Continental Breakfast
The one-bedroom suite features one queen bed, living room with double sofa sleeper, and cable TV in rooms, full kitchen and dining area.
Two Bedroom Suite Includes Continental Breakfast
2 Bedroom apartment style suite. Seperate Bedrooms with king/ queen or 2 full beds. Living room with sofa sleeper. Full kitchen and dining area. Premium Suite appropriate for a large family, second floor only.
Two Bedroom Deluxe Suite Includes Continental Breakfast
Master bedroom one queen bed, second bedroom one full bed, one full bathroom, living room with sleeper sofa, full kitchen with dining area, cable TV. This room type can accommodate up to 6 people.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meeting room features three distinct configurations: 1) Board Room Style: Perfect for small meetings with big agendas. Capacity 10 people. 2) Classroom Style: Ideal for developing strategies or discussing important issues. Capacity 20 people. 3) Theatre Style: Just right for a PowerPoint presentation or for a little extra room to spread out. Capacity 30 people.

Dining

The Brigantine
Specializing in seafood, steaks, chicken and pasta.
MIguel's Cocina
Fine Mexican Food with Famous Margaritas.
Bino's Cafe
Specializing in pastries, fresh baked breads, French crepes, omelets, sandwiches, and salad creations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for El Cordova Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meme R.
Business
Rome, Ga.
Sep 17, 2013

Graduation Celebration

We were in Coronado to see my nephew who is in the Navy. The place was great and I would highly recommend it to everyone. Some folks have stated that parking was a problem however we had not problems. It is only $.25 an hour and you only have to pay from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. free on Sunday. Great service from the staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Very good Mexican.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gail Beck
Business
Anthem AZ
Sep 11, 2013

Not a good value for the money

The hotel did not provide parking facilities for guests. We had to find parking on the street, either in a nearby neighborhood or parking meters (which had a 2 hr. time limit - they were free after 6pm and on Sun.) The continental breakfast was inadequate. Most hotels with this type of breakfast provide a better healthy choice, such as eggs, etc. This one provided small pastries, some fruit and cereal only. We had to go to a coffee shop for a good breakfast. Also, there was only one outlet (we had to crawl under a desk to reach it) to plug items in. And there was no sprinkler system. We were told we had a queen bed but it was only a full size. We asked the front desk about this and they said it was a queen bed, but it was definitely not a queen bed. We loved Coronado and would go back bu not to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JayTC
Business
Portland, OR
May 28, 2013

Beach Bed & Breakfast

It's a cross between a bed and breakfast and a hotel. Not a good choice if you have a rental car as they do not have a parking lot and nearby street parking is metered. However, it's quite close to San Diego airport for an affordable cab drive and is definitely walking/biking distance for everything interesting and fun in Coronado. If I go back to Coronado, I'd certainly consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah D. R.N.
Business
Central California
May 28, 2013

Great location!

Fantastic location in the heart of downtown Coronado with easy walking to everything. Close to The Del, the beach, shops and restaurants. The room was very large and spacious. They even gave a continental breakfast with coffee or pastries or you could opt for $4 off the nearby crepe restaurant. It wasn't super fancy but it was decent and had historic Spanish charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KK Sholes
Business
Belfast, Maine
Apr 24, 2013

perfect stay in a great location!

This hotel was an amazing value in a great location. the staff was friendly and courteous and addressed any needs we had, including a request for a room change. From the manager to the maintenance staff, the staff at the El Cordova were patient and accommodating and did it with a smile. The fact that the hotel was in walking distance to shops, restaraunts and most importantly across from the beach( and the Del) all the better. We saved money by buying a few groceries and eating in our suite and outside in the courtyard. The little pool in the courtyard was rarely used making it our own. Miguel's is right inside the hotel complex and a fun place to go for happy hour. Fabrison's was okay for the typical continental breakfast freebies(stopped offering mini crepes as part of thie freebies during our stay) for breads,cornflakes and coffee, but the owners were less than friendly and had a bit if an attitude in our opinion. The fact that I saved money by booking on a travel site for a 30% discount made this such a great value compared to the prices in Coronado. We would definitely stay here again, just not in the handicap accessible room which was configured differently for obvious reasons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane H H
Business
Minnesota
Apr 22, 2013

Nice quick week end

Room was easy to get to and located in a great spot. Kept clean. Was a bit noisy at times due to court yard but I great old time setting with a comfortable room. I would stay there again. Nice breakfast. I do not eat wheat products. They were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Boathouse great food with rich history. Higher end.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coronado Island Dreamin'
Business
Iowa, a long way from Island paradise
Mar 25, 2013

Ideal Coronado Island location

You cannot beat the location if you want to stay on Coronado Island. Although at first you may not consider a hotel on Coronado if you are going to hit all the San Diego tourist stops you will want to give this one some thought. It will not take you more than 30 minutes to get to any of the San Diego hot spots including the Zoo, Sea World, Old Town, PETCO Park and downtown and it is a great place to come back to at the end of the day. About the hotel specifically it is right across the street from Hotel Del and is a great little place with unique charm. It almost feels like you are at an italian or in this case a spanish villa. We were in a standard room that was very cozy and clean. You have an endless number of restaurants within walking distance as well as numerous shops. If you want to hit the beach you can walk across the street and be on the beach in less than five minutes. I would definitely stay here again and have stayed at numerous hotels on Coronado Island and would consider this one of my favorites thus far. The only possible downside would be the onsite mexican restaurant is located in the center of the hotel with an open air concept and may be a bit loud if your room happens to be close to the restaurant. But on the other hand we did eat dinner there and would recommend it as a place to eat if you are in the mood for good mexican food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to spend the day in San Diego you might want to consider driving down to the shops near the bay on the Coronado side and take the ferry across the bay. Parking is free at the shops and the round trip ferry is $8.50/person but you don't have to worry about finding parking in the downtown area and the ferry stop on the San diego side drops you right next to all things downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martha from Maine
Business
Portland, Maine
Feb 26, 2013

Exceeded our expectations

Our room was roomier than anticipated and very clean; bathroom and kitchen area were much larger than most. Hotel staff was extraordinarily helpful and friendly. Location was exceptional - very easy to take many daily walks on the beach. A wonderful spanish style boutique.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLRLCR
Business
Michigan
Feb 21, 2013

Playing in the sunshine

Overall positive experience. We left a ten degree state that was covered in 2 feet of snow for 79 degrees and sunshine. Our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom family suite with kitchenette faced the lovely palm lined courtyard. It was a clean comfortable arrangement. We spent every evening in the heated pool. The pool is surrounded by bright colorful tiles, flowering plants and has an adjacent hot tub.( Perfectly satisfying for our teens.) The location of our suite however was not ideal for a time zone bitten jet lagged family. We were situated directly above the Mexican restaurant and on the street side. The restaurant was a lively loud establishment. It shut down at a reasonable hour every night. The street is noisy. The spectacular beach is across the street at the Hotel Del Coranado. Our breakfast setting was ideal-- a French Crepe place 2 doors down. The continental breakfast included crepes filled with egg,vegetables and meat. Delicious! .The breakfast was included in our room rate. We went whale watching, hung out at the zoo and shopped in LaJolla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
N and RS
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 14, 2013

Great location, mediocre amenities

The bed was comfortable, but the chairs were not, and that was disappointing because we had to spend some time in them. The bed was firm and we slept well. Could have used an extra pillow. The place is very old, so it reflects that, but overall it was clean. There was free coffee in the lobby, which was close to us, so that was a plus. The free Continental breakfast was far inferior to those we actually had on the Continent. Sweet rolls very stale, though crepes were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is available right by the hotel, and free if you park after 6 PM, just make sure you get out there and put some quarters in for parking by 8 AM. Fee is only 25 cents an hour, so very affordable, compared to their contracted parking a block away at $8 per night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top