$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

El Cordova Hotel

3 stars
1351 Orange Ave., Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
36 reviews
Ralph 67

Great location on Coronado Island within walking distance to beach and restaurants, great value. See full review

  • Ralph6712
  • Aug 15, 2014
Great hotel and great location

While there is no hotel parking, residential parking is close and plentiful. Beautiful decor, large... See full review

  • Nicknames are silly
  • Jun 16, 2014
1902 mansion converted into a charming "Spanish Village" with 40 guest rooms, three restaurants and 12 boutique shops. The hotel is located across from the Hotel Del Coronado and only one block to the beach!

Hotel Map

32.6826 -117.1775
Area served
San Diego, Coronado Island, CA
Nearby airports
San Diego International Airport
Area description
San Diego has what you are looking for! Want the thrill of an NFL football game or just a friendly game of volleyball with some newfound friends? Want to find that perfect golf course or do a little water skiing on a crisp clear morning? Whatever it is you are looking for, chances are you will find it in the San Diego area. Local Attractions also include: Beaches, Shopping, Sailing, Sea World and San Diego Zoo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cordova Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

El Cordova Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite with Continental Breakfast
The one-bedroom suite features one queen bed, living room with double sofa sleeper, and cable TV in rooms, full kitchen and dining area.
Two Bedroom Suite Includes Continental Breakfast
2 Bedroom apartment style suite. Seperate Bedrooms with king/ queen or 2 full beds. Living room with sofa sleeper. Full kitchen and dining area. Premium Suite appropriate for a large family, second floor only.
Two Bedroom Deluxe Suite Includes Continental Breakfast
Master bedroom one queen bed, second bedroom one full bed, one full bathroom, living room with sleeper sofa, full kitchen with dining area, cable TV. This room type can accommodate up to 6 people.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Brigantine
Specializing in seafood, steaks, chicken and pasta.
MIguel's Cocina
Fine Mexican Food with Famous Margaritas.
Bino's Cafe
Specializing in pastries, fresh baked breads, French crepes, omelets, sandwiches, and salad creations.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meeting room features three distinct configurations: 1) Board Room Style: Perfect for small meetings with big agendas. Capacity 10 people. 2) Classroom Style: Ideal for developing strategies or discussing important issues. Capacity 20 people. 3) Theatre Style: Just right for a PowerPoint presentation or for a little extra room to spread out. Capacity 30 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for El Cordova Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Newflove
Duncan, BC, Canada
Mar 4, 2012

El Cordova Suite was Sweet!

This one bedroom suite was perfect for our stay. The stairs were not really a problem for us. Everything we needed was there, the suite was spacious for two adults, and our view of both the courtyard and the road was excellent. We ate at all of the cafes and restaurants on the property and all were excellent in every way. Even though we were above the restaurants we were not kept awake by any noise. All shops below were friendly and unique. We loved all of Coronado so much we will plan on coming back, definitely staying at El Cordova!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The ladies at "Treasures from the Heart" located at El Cordova, and at "D. Forsythe Unique Jewelery" were wonderful and helpful. Many unique treasures at both shops, wonderful people to chat with! Visiting these two shops is highly recommended even if just to meet them all!

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ralph6712
Denver
Aug 15, 2014

Ralph 67

Great location on Coronado Island within walking distance to beach and restaurants, great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Family Travelers
California
Aug 14, 2014

Perfect Location, Perfect Price, Perfect Getaway!

This hotel was perfect for our little family getaway. The hotel is a Spanish Style, in the perfect location. It is across the street from the famous Hotel. My husband and I were looking for a budget friendly yet clean Hotel. I'm so glad we stumbled on this one on an advisory travel website. We were allowed early checkin and late checkout. When we got to the Hotel we asked for a bottom floor room because we have a 9 month old and didn't want to hassle the stairs. They didn't have any available yet they did upgrade us to a suite, which was perfect for us (living room, kitchen, stove, fridge). The stairs weren't too bad because hubby and I took turns to get our things up and down, the staff kindly helped us transport our things up and down also. Not a lot of stairs, just one flight. The room was clean and smelled great. The pool was right outside our room as well. The noise level was low and the bedroom was in great condition. The location of the room was perfect, it was just about 2 blocks from the beach. A lot of shops were right down the main street (Orange) as well. A well known Creamery was just a few feet away as well, great Ice Cream shop. The negatives were that yes the doors we're weather proofed it seemed, small openings of light peered through. I just put a towel at the bottom of the door and it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You can find great little shops on the other side of the island, Lil Piggy's is decent if you're not looking for fast food and would like decent BBQ.

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My kids love to travel
Las Vegas
Aug 6, 2014

Great location with lots of character

Spanish mission style rooms surrounding a courtyard. The rooms were well equipped and the set up is charming. Our first night was in a one bedroom suite with kitchenette right off the courtyard. It had a sleeper sofa in the living area. Perfect for kids. We moved to a deluxe room upstairs for the second night due to the hotel being sold out. (I was aware of the change when I booked.) The room was a deccent size, but nothing compared to the suite. Our friends stayed in the same hotel. Their room was a one bedroom suite with kitchenette upstairs from the lobby. Total different from the suite we had the first night. It was huge! It would appear that all the room are different. Apparently, the roomyou get depends on how early you book the hotel. Will stay again because of the location and the great staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make a reservation for the Mexican restaurant in the hotel unless you want to wait a while. It was very popular, even though the food was ordinary.

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicknames are silly
Baltimore
Jun 16, 2014

Great hotel and great location

While there is no hotel parking, residential parking is close and plentiful. Beautiful decor, large rooms, and proximity to all you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tavern has awesome cocktails, great food, and attentive service. The ambiance is wonderful and breezy.

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thankfulfororbitz
AZ
Mar 19, 2014

Just steps from the beach!

The hotel wasn't horrible. The steps to the room were steep and narrow, which was a challenge with luggage and the bathroom had more hair samples from previous guests than a CSI lab would hold. While checking in, a guest asked if the pool could be skimmed so the grandkids could swim and she was told 'No.' It's worth it to pay a comparable rate and stay in the Gaslamp rather than pay the island upcharge for mediocre accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bottega Italiana is a great gelato shop around the corner.

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sugar Bare
Sacramento
Mar 5, 2014

Worth it?

Six days and nights; The buildings and grounds are 'quaint.' Old and earthy, very much like the converted haciendas found in Mexico. Old world feeling with expected limitations. A bit noisy due to close proximity to restaurants and creaky floors, not to mention the aircraft overhead. Continental breakfast was disappointing at best. No guest parking available unless you park a few blocks away in the residential neighborhood and walk. Not a big problem unless there is rain (there was). At least the wife enjoyed it. It was worth the price just for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meme R.
Rome, Ga.
Sep 17, 2013

Graduation Celebration

We were in Coronado to see my nephew who is in the Navy. The place was great and I would highly recommend it to everyone. Some folks have stated that parking was a problem however we had not problems. It is only $.25 an hour and you only have to pay from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. free on Sunday. Great service from the staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Very good Mexican.

Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gail Beck
Anthem AZ
Sep 11, 2013

Not a good value for the money

The hotel did not provide parking facilities for guests. We had to find parking on the street, either in a nearby neighborhood or parking meters (which had a 2 hr. time limit - they were free after 6pm and on Sun.) The continental breakfast was inadequate. Most hotels with this type of breakfast provide a better healthy choice, such as eggs, etc. This one provided small pastries, some fruit and cereal only. We had to go to a coffee shop for a good breakfast. Also, there was only one outlet (we had to crawl under a desk to reach it) to plug items in. And there was no sprinkler system. We were told we had a queen bed but it was only a full size. We asked the front desk about this and they said it was a queen bed, but it was definitely not a queen bed. We loved Coronado and would go back bu not to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JayTC
Portland, OR
May 28, 2013

Beach Bed & Breakfast

It's a cross between a bed and breakfast and a hotel. Not a good choice if you have a rental car as they do not have a parking lot and nearby street parking is metered. However, it's quite close to San Diego airport for an affordable cab drive and is definitely walking/biking distance for everything interesting and fun in Coronado. If I go back to Coronado, I'd certainly consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah D. R.N.
Central California
May 28, 2013

Great location!

Fantastic location in the heart of downtown Coronado with easy walking to everything. Close to The Del, the beach, shops and restaurants. The room was very large and spacious. They even gave a continental breakfast with coffee or pastries or you could opt for $4 off the nearby crepe restaurant. It wasn't super fancy but it was decent and had historic Spanish charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search