$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Traveler Inn and Suites San Diego South Bay

2 stars
235 Woodlawn Ave, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
35 reviews
Upgrades underway

Hotel is being upgraded and progress appears to be good. Good location right near the trolley line... See full review

  • Richard Alv
  • Feb 17, 2014
Reasonable price for the comfortable accommodation

same as above. we could have stayed longer but the price for the july 4th evening is just... See full review

  • Ev 1 Weekend Traveler
  • Jul 6, 2014
Welcome to TRAVELER INN Suites/Kitchen, one of the prime options amongst San Diego budget motels and hotels. Not only do we offer the most competitive pricing for long stay rentals and lodging in San Diego, but we are conveniently located,Our hotel is designed especially for long stays with studios featuring fully-equipped kitchens and plenty of work space amenities you won't find in a typical hotel room All the comforts of home await you in the heart of San Diego, when you stay at the Travelers Inn/Kitchen your spacious guest room can include the convenience of a full size kitchen. Area Attractions: San Diego Zoo, 10.5 m., Sea World San Diego,16m San Diego Wild Animal Park, 37m Old Town San Diego State Park, 12 m , Carillon National Monument, 18.m. Coronado Beach, 11.m. Chula Vista Marine and Park, 3.5m , Seaport Village, 12m. Tijuana border 9.1m San Diego Downtown, 6.5m San Diego Airport , 8m Convention Center ,6m Imperial Beach, 2m Mission /Pacific Beach, 8&9m. Shopping Mall/School: Cricket Amphitheater,6.1m Sycuan Casino & Resort, 30m San Diego Gas lamp Quarter,9.5m Bonita Plaza Mall.7.5m, Chula Vista Center, 1.5m San Ysidro Outlet Mall 6.5m Groceries 0.04m School 0.05m. Companies & Business: B.F Goodrich,2.5m Hitachi, 11.5m Sony, 11.5m Raytheon 10m Panasonic,11m Samsung, 11 m. Close by Sports, Recreation: Arco Olympic Training Center, 6.5m. Knott's Theme Park & Soak City, 3.5m. Lego land California, 38m. Qualcomm Stadium 11m PETCO Park Stadium , 6m Qualcomm Stadium , 9m. Hotel also offers free breakfast to its guests!

Traveler Inn and Suites San Diego South Bay Rooms

Deluxe King Suite / Non-Smoking
One King Bed, with Kitchenette. Free WiFi. Living Room with Sofa Bed and Cable TV
Deluxe Two-Double Suite / Non-Smoking
Two-double beds, with Kitchenette. Free WiFi. Living Room with Sofa Bed and Cable TV
Super Deluxe Two-Double Suite / Non-Smoking
Two-double beds, with Kitchen. Free WiFi. Living Room with Sofa Bed and Cable TV
Super Deluxe KIng Suite / Non-Smoking
One King bed, with Kitchen. Free WiFi. Living Room with Sofa Bed and Cable TV

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Traveler Inn and Suites San Diego South Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.6393 -117.0967
Area served
Chula Vista. San Diego South bay
Nearby airports
San Diego Air Airport 15 Minutes : Public Transportation ( Bus & Trolley ) is walking distance
Area description
Area Attractions: San Diego Zoo, 10.5 m., SeaWorld San Diego,16m San Diego Wild Animal Park, 37m Old Town San Diego State Park,12m Cabrillo National Monument, 18.m. Coronado Beach, 11.m. Chula Vista Marine and Park, 3.5m , Seaport Village, 12m. Tijuana border 9.1m San Diego Downtown, 6.5m San Diego Airport , 8m Convention Center ,6m Imperial Beach, 2m Mission /Pacific Beach, 8&9m Companies & Business: B.F Goodrich,2.5m Hitachi, 11.5m Sony, 11.5m Raytheon 10m Panasonic,11m Samsung, 11 m Close by Sports, Recreation: Arco Olympic Training Center, 6.5m. Knott's Theme Park & Soak City, 3.5m. Lego land California, 38m. Qualcomm Stadium 11m PETCO Park Stadium , 6m Qualcomm Stadium , 9m Shopping Mall:/School Cricket Amphitheatre,6.1m Sycuan Casino & Resort, 30m San Diego Gas lamp Quarter,9.5m Bonita Plaza Mall.7.5m, Chula Vista Center, 1.5m San Ysidro Outlet Mall 6.5m Groceries 0.04m School 0.05m

Dining

Fast Food
Walking Distance Restaurant: Taco Bell.
Restaurant
Bob's on the Bay Chili's, Denny's, Marie Callender's, Olive Garden, Red Lobster, Stuart Andersen's Black Angus, Apple bee's, Buon Giorno, Outback Steakhouse, Black Angus &

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Traveler Inn and Suites San Diego South Bay

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3
Value:
3

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Traveler Inn and Suites San Diego South Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chula Vista, CA
Aug 3, 2008

It was a value

The room was very ample. It looked like it was an old one bedroom apartment that was converted into a hotel suite. There was a kitchenette for our convenience. The staff was quick in checking us in, but was not able to provide me with the amenities that I needed. Overall, it was an okay stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

There was a lot of restaurants located walking distance from the hotel. The trolley station was also a block away which made it easier to travel to downtown.

Review of Traveler Inn and Suites San Diego South Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ev 1 Weekend Traveler
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 6, 2014

Reasonable price for the comfortable accommodation

same as above. we could have stayed longer but the price for the july 4th evening is just outrageous and not within our budget. Also, the name of the hotel is confusing: I booked Traveler Inn as it still appears on this website but it is really Howard Johnson, hence was difficult to find initially.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It's a buffet kind of dining.

Review of Traveler Inn and Suites San Diego South Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Spider killing tenant
Mesa, AZ
Jun 24, 2014

No parking, spiders and no towels

The only good thing about this place is that we were traveling with a 3 year old so having a suite was great. The first thing I saw in the bedroom was a spider. Found two more by the end of the stay. The parking lot was tiny and completely full. The beds were ok but I used my own pillow out of fear. They painted the stairs while we were there and didn't put up a "wet paint" sign so we got paint all over our shoes. Lucky for them we noticed and didn't track it into the room. We paid for 4 people and only received 2 towels. When I asked for more towels, housekeeping argued with me and demanded my other towels before giving me any more. Only ever got 3 towels out of them. The price was too much to deal with the conditions and bad service. I would have stayed at the motel next door except we needed the suite. Only stay here if you really are desperate. We were going to the international boat show so I think prices were outrageously inflated. We payed $300 for two nights (including taxes and fees) and I feel robbed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good variety of restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Review of Traveler Inn and Suites San Diego South Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Footballer Dad
Chula Vista
Jun 23, 2014

"VERY BAD" Stay Away

Creepy. The maid service was yet to be found and when we did get someone to come by, they just dump the trash and took the towels without replacing them. That's day 1. Day 2 we left and had a very long day stayed with family. Day 3, still no service, call front desk to ask what happen and told that the is not finshed it's 4:00 pm at 6:00 pm go to the front office. Asked about maid services, and told they are gone for the day, nothing can be done until tomorrow. WHAT? This is not what I paid for, but again maybe it was. never never again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Traveler Inn and Suites San Diego South Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bad Boy7
Chula Vista, Cal
Apr 8, 2014

Lame

Pool & hot tub have been removed, very lame place but Iv seen worse

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Traveler Inn and Suites San Diego South Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pearla1102
Riverside ca
Mar 31, 2014

Butt pinching toilet seat

Over all it was good relaxing the power was out in my room and they fixed it right away I needed extra towels and the brought them up right away the staff was great but over All my thigh is not very happy I have the biggest bruise on my thigh followed with the fact that the seat broke skin and was bleeding I did not complain about the seat the rest room wasn't very nice but u get what you pay for but I do not recall spiders being apart of my amenities!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall is right around the corner

Review of Traveler Inn and Suites San Diego South Bay

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ishm00
D-town, TX
Mar 12, 2014

Confusing and disgusting.

Only one gate worked, and I was not told that my building was on the opposite side of the street. It was not pleasent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Traveler Inn and Suites San Diego South Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kkuberski
Tamaroa, IL
Feb 25, 2014

Perfect!

This was perfect for my stay. The outside looked a little off but the inside was better than we expected. Had a great living room area and kitchen. The whole room had so much space. It was a great room with an even better price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Traveler Inn and Suites San Diego South Bay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Richard Alv
Las Vegas. NV
Feb 17, 2014

Upgrades underway

Hotel is being upgraded and progress appears to be good. Good location right near the trolley line to the border (south) and downtown (north). Nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Traveler Inn and Suites San Diego South Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nonaalamora
New Orleans
Feb 8, 2014

Way better than 2 stars hotel

They are renovating the hotel . Staff are excellent . The room is clean and even the location dose not sound good they have secure fence for value it's really good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Traveler Inn and Suites San Diego South Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler323
San Diego, CA
Jan 13, 2014

Cheap and thats what you get

The price was extremely reasonable, but the hotel was very run down, more so than it looks like in the pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top