$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

3 stars
632 E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
26 reviews
Perfect family hotel

Really clean! Perfect location. Close to zoo . Breakfast was delicious. Staff was really helpful... See full review

  • Nwill
  • Apr 1, 2014
Spring trip to San Diego

The location of the hotel is very close to the freeway and Coronado Island. The staff was very nice... See full review

  • Putnici
  • Mar 20, 2014
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South – Chula Vista hotel is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Experience luxurious accommodations and a contemporary style. Guests will appreciate free parking and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wireless Internet, Business Center, Fitness Room, outdoor heated pool and whirlpool. Our exceptional location places you within a short distance from the ARCO Olympic Training Center, Knotts Soak City Water Park, Historic Old Town, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, Pacific Beach, LaJolla, shopping malls such as Westfield Plaza Bonita, Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD), Point Loma, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as University of San Diego (USD), San Diego State University (SDSU) and University of California San Diego (UCSD). Nearby businesses are Goodrich, US Naval Base San Diego 32nd Street, Ball Automotive Group, NASSCO, General Dynamics, Raytheon and Oxyheal Health Group. The Maquiladora industry is 10 mi south. We're certain that you'll enjoy your stay in Americas finest city, so Stay Smart!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
White board
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bonitaaa
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 6, 2012

What a NYE

Don't stay at this hotel that's at least 30 mins away from everything. Rude staff that watch the cameras to see which room you walk too. Dogs are frowned upon and apparently you can't stay in a "good" room with them. Staff were incompetent and the hotel's location is in the crackhead district of Chula Vista. HORRIBLE. Spare yourself, your trip, your pet, and a headache. Two thumbs downnnnn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Gaslamp

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ca
Aug 31, 2009

that was really good

it was very compatable and great. I had a nice vacation with my daughter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravellerA
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Great hotel at great prices, but not the best location

The hotel was great and the amenities are as well. The breakfast beats any of the other continental breakfasts I've had at other restaurants I've been at. You get to make your own waffles and they taste great! They definitely give you a lot to choose from for your breakfast. The staff is great and helpful and always have someone at the front desk. The only complaint I have would be the area. Walking around the hotel sometimes at night, you'll notice a lot of sketchy and shady people, but generally I get the idea that a lot of families come here too. Just stay inside the hotel at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JessicaC
Business
San Diego
Jan 3, 2012

New Year's Eve...

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel. The first time it was only overnight so it was great. This time however, it was the entire weekend. It started off with the elevator being broken, THE ENTIRE WEEKEND! Not cool considering we were on the third floor. I'm by no means a lazy person but after coming in from a late night, the last thing I want to do is walk up 3 flights of stairs. On the second day, I ran down to get something out of the car and my key card didn't work when I got back up to the room. Luckily there was a maid next door who let me in. Later that night after coming in late, the keycard didn't work on the back door, which is locked after 10pm. We almost had to walk all the way around to the front but luckily, after 5 minutes of trying, it finally opened. I do like the rooms, they've always been clean and the bathrooms are nice. I also like that we're able to hook the PS3 up to the tv so we can watch movies or play video games. I'll definitely stay here again, but hopefully the elevator is working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi Time which is right around the corner on Broadway is excellent! The prices are reasonable and the food is delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JessicaC
Business
San Diego
Jan 21, 2012

weekend stay

We've stayed here several times. I think its too expensive compared to other hotels in the area but like the location. The rooms are always clean and the beds are super comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jakecmv
Business
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Jun 8, 2012

Good morning, your Honor.

Through a computer fluke, I ended up with 2 reservations. Your representative and the desk clerk had to go to battle with the hotel's general manager to avoid me being assessed with a @ $97.00 cancellation fee. Thanks to the two of them, I've been told I won't be charged for the duplicate reservation. I'll know for sure when my next credit card statement arrives. Jon Crum

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Black Angus Restaurants remain an excellent value. My meal there was perfectly prepared and very tasty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chubbybaby
Business
Mission hills
May 10, 2013

Really friendly

Rooms were nice, clean & comfortable. Loved that the complimentary breakfast was warm food and not just donut & cereal like other places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Jul 16, 2011

Friendly front desk

When my husband and I checked in the lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful when we asked questions about the area. All the front desk staff was friendly, always greeting you when you entered or exited. The maid service was ok, she made the bed and supplied new towels but didn't refresh any of the used supplies (coffee, shampoo...), breakfast area was good and plenty to choose from. I believe we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yoga Mom
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 19, 2010

Easy to find & free parking

This hotel was perfect as it was close to where a friend lives in Chula Vista. The staff was professional, helpful in telling me about the closest Starbucks, and most pleasant upon checking in and out. The room and hotel has a pleasant smell. The breakfast was fair at best; good yogurt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soulsis36
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Worth what I paid

The front desk staff was extremely nice and service-oriented, especially Carlos. The king bed was comfortable, the room a decent size, and the complimentary breakfast and free internet were nice benefits. The only thing I did not like was the neighborhood. It was a bit run-down but by the 2nd night, I felt relatively safe all things considered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

shopping center a short distance away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top