$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

3 stars
View map of 632 E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soulsis36
Single
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Worth what I paid

The front desk staff was extremely nice and service-oriented, especially Carlos. The king bed was comfortable, the room a decent size, and the complimentary breakfast and free internet were nice benefits. The only thing I did not like was the neighborhood. It was a bit run-down but by the 2nd night, I felt relatively safe all things considered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

shopping center a short distance away.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jakecmv
Single
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Jun 8, 2012

Good morning, your Honor.

Through a computer fluke, I ended up with 2 reservations. Your representative and the desk clerk had to go to battle with the hotel's general manager to avoid me being assessed with a @ $97.00 cancellation fee. Thanks to the two of them, I've been told I won't be charged for the duplicate reservation. I'll know for sure when my next credit card statement arrives. Jon Crum

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Black Angus Restaurants remain an excellent value. My meal there was perfectly prepared and very tasty.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JessicaC
Couples
San Diego
Jan 21, 2012

weekend stay

We've stayed here several times. I think its too expensive compared to other hotels in the area but like the location. The rooms are always clean and the beds are super comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bonitaaa
Friends
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 6, 2012

What a NYE

Don't stay at this hotel that's at least 30 mins away from everything. Rude staff that watch the cameras to see which room you walk too. Dogs are frowned upon and apparently you can't stay in a "good" room with them. Staff were incompetent and the hotel's location is in the crackhead district of Chula Vista. HORRIBLE. Spare yourself, your trip, your pet, and a headache. Two thumbs downnnnn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Gaslamp

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JessicaC
Couples
San Diego
Jan 3, 2012

New Year's Eve...

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel. The first time it was only overnight so it was great. This time however, it was the entire weekend. It started off with the elevator being broken, THE ENTIRE WEEKEND! Not cool considering we were on the third floor. I'm by no means a lazy person but after coming in from a late night, the last thing I want to do is walk up 3 flights of stairs. On the second day, I ran down to get something out of the car and my key card didn't work when I got back up to the room. Luckily there was a maid next door who let me in. Later that night after coming in late, the keycard didn't work on the back door, which is locked after 10pm. We almost had to walk all the way around to the front but luckily, after 5 minutes of trying, it finally opened. I do like the rooms, they've always been clean and the bathrooms are nice. I also like that we're able to hook the PS3 up to the tv so we can watch movies or play video games. I'll definitely stay here again, but hopefully the elevator is working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi Time which is right around the corner on Broadway is excellent! The prices are reasonable and the food is delicious.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravellerA
Couples
Seattle, WA, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Great hotel at great prices, but not the best location

The hotel was great and the amenities are as well. The breakfast beats any of the other continental breakfasts I've had at other restaurants I've been at. You get to make your own waffles and they taste great! They definitely give you a lot to choose from for your breakfast. The staff is great and helpful and always have someone at the front desk. The only complaint I have would be the area. Walking around the hotel sometimes at night, you'll notice a lot of sketchy and shady people, but generally I get the idea that a lot of families come here too. Just stay inside the hotel at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Kentucky
Jul 16, 2011

Friendly front desk

When my husband and I checked in the lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful when we asked questions about the area. All the front desk staff was friendly, always greeting you when you entered or exited. The maid service was ok, she made the bed and supplied new towels but didn't refresh any of the used supplies (coffee, shampoo...), breakfast area was good and plenty to choose from. I believe we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mz. Vee
Family
Yokosuka, Japan
Apr 1, 2011

Pleased Displaced Japan Evacuee

Very pleasant stay we had. Although I was exhuasted and mentally drained, upon arrival I was greeted with a smile and pleasant attitude. Clean hotel and rooms, breakfast was good, and coffee was even strong enough for me. located near freeway, mall, donuts shop, fast food, and dine in resturants. Workout room needs attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Chicago, IL
Sep 27, 2010

Convenient Location, Clean Hotel

Convenient to the border and I-5, I-15, I-805. Trolley stop is 2 blocks away making gas lamp and downtown about 20 minutes by public transportation. Parking is free unlike downtown area. Hotel is clean and remodeled within the last 2 years. Pool is on the small side, but clean. Front desk has a nice "shop" with snacks and sundries open 24 hours. Very nice feature for a "discount" hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Trolley stop is 2 blocks away. Buy a multi-day pass and take it anywhere in the city.

Review of Holiday Inn Express SAN DIEGO SOUTH - CHULA VISTA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Comic Con Attendees
Couples
Palm Springs, CA
Jul 27, 2010

Good Location To Stay For Comic Con

This hotel is in a very convenient location. Two blocks to the San Diego Trolley & surrounded by restaurants & fast food; Denny's, McDonald's, Taco Bell, Wendy's, Emma's Pancake House, a sushi place, Black Angus, & La Quinta Grill (which is the absolute best Mexican food I've ever had), plus more all within two blocks. In 2009 we were on the 4th floor & had a flat screen TV, in 2010 we were on the 3rd with a regular tube TV. Apparently only the 4th floor has flat screens, so if you're a stickler for that sort of thing, ask for the 4th. The room also seemed a bit nicer, not that there was anything wrong with the 3rd floor. Staff are all friendly & helpful. Would definitely stay here a third time and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

As mentioned in my review, try the La Quinta Grill right across the street. It was really, really, really, really, & at a fair price, too.

Back to menu Return to top