$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 11, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

3 stars
View map of 710 E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2004

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
104 reviews
good to go for close to San diego

Good clean friendly convenient safe clean close to San Diego for petco park See full review

  • ABruinGirl
  • May 5, 2015
Dodgers vs. San Diego

Went to San Diego for the Dodgers vs San Diego game. Hotel is about 10-15 minutes away from Petco... See full review

  • ABruinGirl
  • Apr 29, 2015
Choose this Chula Vista, California hotel located close to Coronado Island, downtown San Diego and the Coors Amphitheatre. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn located in the heart of Chula Vista, California. This Chula Vista area hotel offers convenient access to the Mexican border and the city of Tijuana as well as the Chula Vista Wildlife Reserve and the Arco Olympic Training Center. The BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn offers 76 spaciously-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television with HBO® and wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake to a complimentary continental breakfast and enjoy dining at the adjacent Aunt Emma's Pancake House. Additional amenities include an outdoor swimming pool and limited business services. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn will have convenient access to many San Diego area attractions including the downtown Gaslamp district, Petco Park, the San Diego Zoo, and Soak City Water Park. The hotel is also close to many beautiful local beaches, Balboa Park, Old Town San Diego, SeaWorld® and Qualcom Stadium. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Chula Vista, California make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn! Enjoy your stay.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NO SMOKING,MICROWV,REFRIG,COFFEEMAKER,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,MICROWV,REFRIG,COFFEEMAKER,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,2 RMS,2QN BDS,SLPS 6,MICRFRG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,DELUXE,MICR RFRG,COFFEE MKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Fishing
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Doctor on call
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Black Angus Restaurant
Across the street from Black Angus Restaurant, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Bob's by the Bay
1.8 mile(s) from Bob's by the Bay, full service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
Denny's Restaurant
0.1 mile(s) from Denny's Restaurant, coffee shop, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, 24-hours
La Bella Pizza Garden
1.2 mile(s) from La Bella Pizza Garden, full service, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner, Chula Vista's best Pizza, banquet room available
Coco's Restaurant
0.5 mile(s) from Coco's Restaurant, full service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Aunt Emma's
Adjacent to Aunt Emma's, Coffee Shop, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, 6:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Olive Garden
1.3 mile(s) from Olive Garden, full service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
El Torito Mexican Restaurant
0.2 mile(s) from El Torito Mexican Restaurant, full service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner, and Cantina
Butcher Shop
1.3 mile(s) from Butcher Shop, full service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
Zorba's Greek Restaurant
0.5 mile(s) from Zorba's Greek Restaurant, full service, Greek, Open for: lunch, dinner, family restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hiko
Business
New York
Jan 3, 2014

Beware Going to this Hotel During Peak Season

I booked this hotel 2 months in advance for 2 nights. When I got to the hotel late at night due to flight delay, the night shift manager came to the counter after almost 45 minutes. They werent answering phone or anything! Manager claimed their rooms got "flooded" and didnt have a room for me. They didnt even have decency to inform us prior so that we could have started to look elsewhere to stay. Good thing the hotel across the street had a room available and we stayed there. That hotels manager told us the next day that Best western across the street was fully booked and there was no flooding. They do that everytime and request taht hotel for extra rooms when they overbook themselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
David thick
Business
Starkville, MS
Feb 8, 2014

Business Travel

Room not ready at check in, and I was surprise when ask for a 100.00 incidental deposit. They gave you a meal voucher ticket like some grade school kid. I will not ever stay at that Best Western again. To top it off it is a very noisy location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 18, 2009

A very over-rated motel

This hotel was very poorly renovated. Painting bath tub, tile, and other surfaces in the bathroom is a very unsanitary practice. This is the second Best Western (1st was Best Western Chula Vista) we have stayed in that has been done this way. The room was very poorly designed being much too small for two queen beds. One bed was about 8" from the air conditioner. The curtains on the window above caught the air which balooned them outward throwing even more cold air on the adjacent bed. The knob had been removed from the air conditioner I assume in an effort to control usage by customers. The mattresses were the worse I have ever encountered being very hard and not "giving" at all. We had 3 people and housekeeping only left enough towel/rags for 2 every night (4 nights). Their excuse was that was it "standard practice". The tub did not drain so my husband removed the stopper. The sink did not drain, but there was nothing you could do but wait each time for the water to drain out. The hot water was also regulated, and the knobs on the tub almost came off when you turned them to get water. Also the handles turned on in opposite directions. The toilet seat was a real "hoot". You had to be careful or you would take off across the floor because the seat was loose. Over-all, I would never choose this motel again. There were so many things wrong that it made coming back each evening a dread. I really could not even be honest in giving this motel a 1-star rating. The carpet was filthy. We were very uncomfortable and would not have stayed except for the fact that this was a package deal through this site and we felt would be too hard to make a change. We had no desire to ask for another room. The condition of this room spoke volumes as to what we thought the rest would be like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
graceline1310
Business
denver, co
Apr 4, 2012

not good, not clean, smell bad, not recommend

my 3 night was my worse in this hotel the room was dirty, smell bad and humidity. The don't set the bed very good, you have to do that yourself after them, dust, other people things and panty in the room It was my worse, worse best western hotel for the price , never never again not recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jiqika
Business
san diego, CA
Aug 3, 2012

bad internet

the internet is very very very very.............bad, I donot like it!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ruby C
Business
Chula Vista, CA
Sep 17, 2012

AWFULL VERY DIRTY ROOM

BAD STAY HOTEL IS VERY DIRTTY AND THE SHEET SMELLED BAD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
paolandia2012
Business
Mexico
Dec 17, 2012

Bad Western Chula Vista

Very noisy at night, no internet at room, we saw a cockroach in our room and in the morning there was no water at the hotel. We waited for half an hour to shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 14, 2007

Scary!

I felt as if I was staying at the cheap motel. The peeling paint and overall rundown feel of the place was right for the neighborhood. The nicest restruant is a Black Angus across the street, but good luck getting there. The traffic is too thick and the nearest crosswalk is 3 blocks away. I ended up eating at the Denny's which wasn't so great either. There are plenty of Tattoo parlors and bars in the neighborhood so some might feel right at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 9, 2007

The hotel looked nice

The hotel looked nice on the outside but once we finally checked in the room the floor was not very clean. The housekeeping staff failed to change the sheets one day, never cleaned the coffee pot, and failed once to refresh our towels and give new coffee in the room for 3 days. But on a good note the bed was comfortable and the a/c worked great and there were plenty of cable channels to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

San Diego Zoo at Balboa park is just a short drive away and the beaches are easy to find from the hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jreynoso1
Business
Manteca, CA
Dec 12, 2009

" The WORST Stay of my life. "

As described above, it was the worst stay of my life. We had a 2 night reservation but only stayed 1 night. I cannot believe Best Western would maintain a motel like that. I have stayed at BW motels many times,with enjoyable stays, but this was the worst. I would not recommend it for pet boarding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top