BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

3 stars
710 E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
89 reviews
Husband and Wife getaway

EXCELLENT........We LOVED everything. Will definitely reserve another day..... See full review

  • Reggie2
  • Dec 31, 2013
Pre - Holidays Stay

Excellent choice, near all shopping and restaurants. ..loved it! See full review

  • chuy mexicano
  • Dec 22, 2013
Choose this Chula Vista, California hotel located close to Coronado Island, downtown San Diego and the Coors Amphitheatre. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn located in the heart of Chula Vista, California. This Chula Vista area hotel offers convenient access to the Mexican border and the city of Tijuana as well as the Chula Vista Wildlife Reserve and the Arco Olympic Training Center. The BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn offers 76 spaciously-appointed guest rooms, each equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television with HBO® and wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake to a complimentary continental breakfast and enjoy dining at the adjacent Aunt Emma's Pancake House. Additional amenities include an outdoor swimming pool and limited business services. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn will have convenient access to many San Diego area attractions including the downtown Gaslamp district, Petco Park, the San Diego Zoo, and Soak City Water Park. The hotel is also close to many beautiful local beaches, Balboa Park, Old Town San Diego, SeaWorld® and Qualcom Stadium. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Chula Vista, California make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn!

BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NO SMOKING,MICROWV,REFRIG,COFFEEMAKER,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NO SMOKING,MICROWV,REFRIG,COFFEEMAKER,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,2 RMS,2QN BDS,SLPS 6,MICRFRG,COFMKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,DELUXE,MICR RFRG,COFFEE MKR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Fishing
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Doctor on call
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Hotel Map

32.64 -117.098
Area served
Tiajuana,, San Ysidro, San Diego, National City
Nearby airports
(SAN), 10.00, MI, N;
Area description
Expressway

Dining

El Torito Mexican Restaurant
0.2 mile(s) from El Torito Mexican Restaurant, full service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner, and Cantina
Bob's by the Bay
1.8 mile(s) from Bob's by the Bay, full service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
La Bella Pizza Garden
1.2 mile(s) from La Bella Pizza Garden, full service, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner, Chula Vista's best Pizza, banquet room available
Coco's Restaurant
0.5 mile(s) from Coco's Restaurant, full service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Aunt Emma's
Adjacent to Aunt Emma's, Coffee Shop, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, 6:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Olive Garden
1.3 mile(s) from Olive Garden, full service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
Black Angus Restaurant
Across the street from Black Angus Restaurant, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Zorba's Greek Restaurant
0.5 mile(s) from Zorba's Greek Restaurant, full service, Greek, Open for: lunch, dinner, family restaurant
Butcher Shop
1.3 mile(s) from Butcher Shop, full service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner
Denny's Restaurant
0.1 mile(s) from Denny's Restaurant, coffee shop, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, 24-hours
Anthony's Fish Grotto
0.2 mile(s) from Anthony's Fish Grotto, full service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AAAA13
Business
San Diego
Mar 27, 2013

Not sure if I will stay here again

Internet did not work during stay. Had to go to main office to connect to wireless. Had to change rooms because of pluming problems. Staff was helpful. Good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oscar Roman
Business
Guadalajara
Mar 11, 2013

Good choice

Clean rooms and supportive staff made a good experience our stay here. The complementary breakfast was better than other simmilar hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It is close of the Coronado Hotel and San Diego Downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Narciza
Business
Oxnard, Ca
Feb 20, 2013

Awesome gateway

The receptionist was pleasant and with all paid in advance it went so quickly to give our room fast enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant was across the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marilyn retired
Business
Sacramento, California
Feb 6, 2013

Stay in Chula Vista

I stayed seven nights at this hotel. The main reason I like staying here is it's right next to the E Street Trolley Station. You can get on the trolley or one of several buses, I didn't have to rent a car or take a taxi the whole time I was here. The Wi Fi dosen't work very good, only about half the time, which was frustrating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take bus 932 towards Iris Trolley, a five minute ride to Broadway and H Street. There is a huge shopping center with lots of restaurants and stores. It's a very nice area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cecy V
Business
El Centro CA
Jan 28, 2013

fastest booking

came to a party in this town and goes off late, so we decided to estay safe and look for a place and found this nice hotel so fast I am amazed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conferenece attender
Business
LA, CA
Jan 7, 2013

Worth the price

Very close to Blue line. Though the hotel is away from downtown, it is still convenient to get to downtown. The wifi in some rooms are not available due to some constructions. The staff changes us to a room with good wireless environment. The breakfast is very good. Better than most inns I have been to. In a word, this Inn is nice and I recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
paolandia2012
Business
Mexico
Dec 17, 2012

Bad Western Chula Vista

Very noisy at night, no internet at room, we saw a cockroach in our room and in the morning there was no water at the hotel. We waited for half an hour to shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ninups85
Business
Granada hills, Ca.
Dec 2, 2012

Fair

Nice hotel but I requested a non smoking room , yes they put me on one but the rooms below us are smoking room, you can really smell the smoke

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hotel.girl
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Sep 17, 2012

Not the best night's sleep...

We arrived a little bit late to check in (around 11pm because we had a late flight). The staff at the front was very friendly and helpful. Quick check-in, no complaints there. It was above average hot in San Diego this weekend (105 was the high!) When we got in our room, it was VERY hot. We immediately turned on the cooling unit (looked like it was breaking off the wall a bit). The thing itself was LOUD. Really annoying sound coming out. We left it on anyway, to get some relief from the heat. Had it on all night and really never felt it get much cooler. I woke up multiple times throughout the night because I was sweating. My boyfriend woke up multiple times from the noise. Not comfortable at all. Checked out the next morning and let the lady at the front know about how hot/loud it was. She gave us a quick sorry, but not much else. Anyway, overall it was fine for a quick over night before we were on our way to Temecula. Cheap. Not far from airport. Check in and out was easy. I think if it hadn't been so abnormally hot it would have been better. Saw one little bug in the sink, but otherwise everything was clean and fine. Older hotel, not super fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lucha libre taco shop was pretty close (short driving distance, on the way to hotel from airport. Delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ruby C
Business
Chula Vista, CA
Sep 17, 2012

AWFULL VERY DIRTY ROOM

BAD STAY HOTEL IS VERY DIRTTY AND THE SHEET SMELLED BAD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top