Vagabond Inn Chico

1 star
View map of 630 Main Street, Chico, CA 95928

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
23 reviews
Economical, plenty good, nice staff

The management was friendly, helpful, and seems to keep the college town excesses in orderly... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 2, 2009
Good Basic Value

I found the facility very basic, but neat, clean, and comfortable. It seemed to be safe and... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 14, 2007
Vagabond Inn Chico is centrally located in Downtown Chico, just off of the 99 Freeway and is the closest hotel to Cal State Chico (CSU)! Also, we're just blocks away from the Silver Dollar Speedway and Chico Airport. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space, larger TV with remote control, dual-line phones with dataports for Internet access and a desk lamp with an additional outlet. Relax in our pool or take advantage of our daily complimentary breakfast. Each room features HBO for your enjoyment. Whether you visit us for business or pleasure, you'll get our own brand of Western hospitality. Good Value, friendly people- it's how we do things.

Vagabond Inn Chico Rooms

Deluxe Two Double
Comfortable room with two Double size beds, featuring cable television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, smoking and non-smoking rooms available.
Deluxe King Room
Comfortable room with one King size bed, featuring cable television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, smoking and non-smoking rooms available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Jack's Family Restaurant
Located next door to us.
Waffle House
Only 1/2 block away from us.
5th Street Steakhouse
5 blocks away from the inn.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Vagabond Inn Chico

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 23
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
2.9

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vagabond Inn Chico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Distressed Guest
Business
Southern California
May 31, 2012

Don't waste your money

Room had holes in carpet, bathroom shower was patched, no coffee maker, no continental breakfast, curtains that were falling down, you can spend the same and go to a place where what you pay for, you get... We will not be back!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Chico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jen San Jose Native
Business
San Jose, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Good price, bad quality room...

We just stayed overnight in this hotel. The price could have been brought down a bit considering the condition of the room. There was plaster all over the bathroom walls. It looked like they tried to patch up alot of damage. The room wasn't dirty, just VERY outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Chico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sonora
Oct 6, 2009

Worst place to stay in Chico!!

This was a last minute trip, chico was busy and the choices were slim for location, but we did not expect the absolutely dirty room, no cont. breakfast and basically disappointing for the everyone. The smell of the room was so bad we kept the room open most of the night and no one was rested the next day! Ever try and have fun with very tired children, it was a difficult to say the least!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Chico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petaluma, CA
Sep 1, 2009

Too much for too little

The rooms look run down and well used. Too much money for the grubby conditions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Chico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Trqacy, CA
Aug 25, 2009

Nice location, reasonalbly priced.

Near Chico campus, close to diners. Fair price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Both Jack's & the Waffle house are great and close by. Domino'e delivers also late night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Chico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tracy, CA
May 29, 2009

Downtown Chico

Nice location, near dinning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jack's dinner on the next corner is great for any meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Chico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 19, 2007

Dont Go

From the time we arrived after a four hour trip with kids in the car to the time that we left the Vagabond Inn in Chico it was a nightmare. We arrived to find out that our room was not ready for check in. Check in time was 1:00 pm and we got there at 2:30pm and the room was not ready. The office smelled of body odor horribly and the person at the desk looked like he had just climbed out of bed. We checked out the outside of the premisses and all of the plants were dead and the steps looked as though someone had thrown up on them. We entered our room (late) and saw that it appeared to be fairly clean. The entertainment center looked as though it were falling apart, but we could deal with that. We were in a hurry to get ready for the wedding in Chico so didn't have time to do much of anything before hand. The beds were somewhat comfortable and the room stayed pleasantly cool throughout the night. The next morning we woke to a plugged toilet that backed up and the bed that the kids slept in looked as though a dog had urinated all over the side of the mattress. We rented two rooms. My daughter found something foreign under their bed that looked like rotten food or fecus and grapes were all over the floor. I would not recommend this Inn to anyone and would suggest the health dept check this place out. My opinion this place should be shut down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Chico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2007

Right downtown

Centrally located in Chico, easy walk to downtown stores. Good value for what you get, nice pastries in the morning. Smallest pool I have ever saw but we went to one mile anyway so it didn't matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nash's restruant down on the Esplandade is the best breakfast location, need to drive from hotel. About 2 miles if that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top