Vagabond Inn Chico

1 star
630 Main Street, Chico, CA 95928
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
23 reviews
Economical, plenty good, nice staff

The management was friendly, helpful, and seems to keep the college town excesses in orderly... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 2, 2009
Good Basic Value

I found the facility very basic, but neat, clean, and comfortable. It seemed to be safe and... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 14, 2007
Vagabond Inn Chico is centrally located in Downtown Chico, just off of the 99 Freeway and is the closest hotel to Cal State Chico (CSU)! Also, we're just blocks away from the Silver Dollar Speedway and Chico Airport. For business travelers, our Business Friendly rooms have ample work space, larger TV with remote control, dual-line phones with dataports for Internet access and a desk lamp with an additional outlet. Relax in our pool or take advantage of our daily complimentary breakfast. Each room features HBO for your enjoyment. Whether you visit us for business or pleasure, you'll get our own brand of Western hospitality. Good Value, friendly people- it's how we do things.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vagabond Inn Chico also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Vagabond Inn Chico Rooms

Deluxe Two Double
Comfortable room with two Double size beds, featuring cable television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, smoking and non-smoking rooms available.
Deluxe King Room
Comfortable room with one King size bed, featuring cable television with HBO, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, smoking and non-smoking rooms available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Jack's Family Restaurant
Located next door to us.
Waffle House
Only 1/2 block away from us.
5th Street Steakhouse
5 blocks away from the inn.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Vagabond Inn Chico

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 23
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vagabond Inn Chico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wacky Aunt
Business
Chico CA
Jun 30, 2014

Okay, but...

Great location. Extremely affordable. But,we found a cockroach in the room. That put a damper on the second night of our 2 night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Chico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Oct 10, 2010

Only as a last resort

Frustrating that I reserved a room with one king size bed for my husband and I, but in actuality, I got a room with two double beds. It wasn't fun not being able to move or we'd hit each other if we did try to move. Upon arrival we did not have towels. After 3rd request and 6 hours later we finally received our towels. The noise that was allowed to go on through early morning hours was absolutely unacceptable. Curshing, screaming and fighting all night long. It is true, you get what you pay for. Great price does not mean great room or great service. We won't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Chico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brittany Rules
Business
Bay Area, CA
May 17, 2010

Great for a quick stay

Great location. A great place to stay if you are visiting friends and have places to be during the day and night, but want a place to rest that isn't a couch. Bathrooms were very clean but with a very noisy ceiling fan. Would visit again based on price, location, biggest drawback was the stiff-as-a-board bed, but what do you except?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have breakfast at Sin of Cortez, best breakfast EVER!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Chico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Past Chicoan
Business
LA, Ca
Apr 27, 2010

Ok if there is nothing else

The room contained your basic bed and bathroom. No microwave, fridge or any other bells and whistels. The remote to the tv was missing. You could tell there were holes in the wall that were patched up and the bathroom was not much better. I would not step foot in the bathroom without either wearing socks or flip flops. If all you need is a bed to sleep in then this place is fine. Our room was close to the ice machine which meant everytime someone got ice, you would hear it, whether it be 6am or 3am. Great if you want to be downtown and close to the bars and the nightlife!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Chico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn CA
Jul 20, 2009

it was good

location of the hotel to Downtown Chico is what made the experience. otherwise the room was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Chico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Jun 2, 2009

Economical, plenty good, nice staff

The management was friendly, helpful, and seems to keep the college town excesses in orderly check. The rooms are old, patch-work, but fine for the price - clean, neat. Great location for walks downtown, campus, park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Vagabond Inn Chico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Apr 28, 2007

No Frills

Basic but clean facility conveniently located in Downtown Chico. Most of the clientele appeared to be out-of-town twentysomethings who were visiting their college friends. Some of the rooms are undergoing renovation, which is probably a good thing. Noise was not a problem (but I'm a heavy sleeper).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top