Safari Inn

3 stars
2352 Esplanade, Chico, CA 95926
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
65 reviews
Pet friendly

I was pleasantly suprised with this hotel. It had a large bathroom which was perfect for setting... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 21, 2008
Pet friendly

I was pleasantly suprised with this hotel. It had a large bathroom which was perfect for setting... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 21, 2008

Hotel Map

39.7535 -121.858
Area description
City Center

Safari Inn Rooms

Standard
120 AC Air Conditioning Bath Tub Coffee Tea Maker Free Local Telephone Calls Iron Ironing Board Microwave No Smoking Room Private Bath or Shower Rollaway Beds Cots Refrigerator In Room Movies Cable Satellite TV Shower Television
Standard
Double Queen - Double Queen Room - This spacious well appointed guestroom features two queen size beds/ chairs and table and in-room coffee. Non smoking rooms on request.
Standard
Single Queen - Single Queen Room - This spacious well appointed guestroom features one queen size bed/ table and chairs offering ample work space and in-room coffee. Non smoking rooms on request.
Standard
King - King Room - This spacious well appointed guestroom features one king size bed/ refrigerator/ microwave/ chairs and table for ample work space and in-room coffee. Non smoking rooms on request.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
FEMA approved
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Gift shop
News stand
Room
Television with cable
Microwave
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Kalico Kitchen
Located 500 yards from the property
Ricardo
Located 250 yards from the property

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Safari Inn

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
'Bert
Folsom, Califorrnia
Oct 29, 2012

Room was fine , but . . .

This is a very noisy street in a college town and there is no sound proofing. Lots of people were coming and going, talking etc at midnight and you could hear every word. Staff was perfunctory at best, Room was clean and reasonably comfortable - Motel 6 stuff. Need a cheap motel in Chico NOT on a not busy Saturday night, this place is fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MeHimandTototoo
Sactown
Jan 2, 2012

Good for the price

We booked this hotel for New Years Eve because it was centrally located and frankly, the cheapest deal. Although the hotel is going through renovation, it was a clean room. The front desk reception was very friendly and accomodating. Can't really complain about much for the price...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Not far down the street is Nash's restaurant (great breakfast and mimosas) and a little further into downtown is Tres Hombres if you're feeling like something a little more spicy.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mackenzie
San Carlos, CA, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Nice trip

We went on Labor Day weekend and visited the river for tubing, we also went downtown chico and the chico campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

DUTCH BRO'S

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mackenzie
San Carlos, CA, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Nice trip

We went on Labor Day weekend and visited the river for tubing, we also went downtown chico and the chico campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

DUTCH BRO'S

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clearlake, CA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Great hotel for the price.

I have stayed at this hotel five times and have never had a problem. The rooms are always clean, and much quieter than other hotels in Chico. When I checked in the staff told me they were remodeling the hotel and didn't have the room with two beds I had requested, but would give me two rooms for the same price instead. They were going to originally cancel my reservation , but remembered me from last year and found a way to accomodate me. Needless to say, I was very happy and will always try to book this hotel first when I go to Chico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clearlake, CA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Great hotel for the price.

I have stayed at this hotel five times and have never had a problem. The rooms are always clean, and much quieter than other hotels in Chico. When I checked in the staff told me they were remodeling the hotel and didn't have the room with two beds I had requested, but would give me two rooms for the same price instead. They were going to originally cancel my reservation , but remembered me from last year and found a way to accomodate me. Needless to say, I was very happy and will always try to book this hotel first when I go to Chico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NorCal
Oct 17, 2010

Okay for $50...thats all

Okay for the price, room was missing some things but for $50 what do you expect? 24 hour check in for late comers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NorCal
Oct 17, 2010

Okay for $50...thats all

Okay for the price, room was missing some things but for $50 what do you expect? 24 hour check in for late comers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mariposa, CA
Oct 11, 2010

Pleasantly Surprised

We were in Chico to visit our son who is going to school there. We rarely stay in very inexpensive hotels but the reviews were good so we gave it a try. We were glad we did. The room was very clean and updated. Nothing fancy but all we needed for our short visit. We will stay there again next time we are in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Sierra Nevada Brewing Company has excellent food and of course good beer.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mariposa, CA
Oct 11, 2010

Pleasantly Surprised

We were in Chico to visit our son who is going to school there. We rarely stay in very inexpensive hotels but the reviews were good so we gave it a try. We were glad we did. The room was very clean and updated. Nothing fancy but all we needed for our short visit. We will stay there again next time we are in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Sierra Nevada Brewing Company has excellent food and of course good beer.

Back to menu Return to top