Safari Inn

3 stars
View map of 2352 esplanade, Chico, CA 95926

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
36 reviews
Pet friendly

I was pleasantly suprised with this hotel. It had a large bathroom which was perfect for setting... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 21, 2008
Budget lodging

I originally selected the Safari Inn based soley on 2 criteria: low cost, and location (in Chico).... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 17, 2007
Situated on the Esplanade in northern Chico, Safari inn is a gorgeous hotel with beautiful oak trees and flowers. The hotel offers single and two bed rooms available with cable tv, iron and in room coffee, and free wireless internet, also; the deluxe rooms have kitchenettes with microwaves and refrigerators. The hotel has a beautiful outdoor pool and free parking.

Safari Inn Rooms

2deluxe double
2 double bed with cable t.v. ,phone and coffee maker stove top with refrigerator and micro..
one single queen
single queen bed with cable t.v. ,phone and coffee maker.
two double beds
2 double bed with cable t.v. ,phone and coffee maker.
single deluxe queen
1 queen bed with cable t.v. ,phone and coffee maker stove top with refrigerator and micro..

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Safari Inn

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bentmoto
Business
San Ramon CA
Sep 1, 2014

Good value not very special

Key would not work when I got to the room. They gave me another it didnt work either. They called a guy who fixed it in a few minutes. The facilty is very dated and old feeling. Bed was comfortable. TV was old school with very few channels. I saved a few bucks but it was not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
'Bert
Business
Folsom, Califorrnia
Oct 29, 2012

Room was fine , but . . .

This is a very noisy street in a college town and there is no sound proofing. Lots of people were coming and going, talking etc at midnight and you could hear every word. Staff was perfunctory at best, Room was clean and reasonably comfortable - Motel 6 stuff. Need a cheap motel in Chico NOT on a not busy Saturday night, this place is fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MeHimandTototoo
Business
Sactown
Jan 2, 2012

Good for the price

We booked this hotel for New Years Eve because it was centrally located and frankly, the cheapest deal. Although the hotel is going through renovation, it was a clean room. The front desk reception was very friendly and accomodating. Can't really complain about much for the price...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Not far down the street is Nash's restaurant (great breakfast and mimosas) and a little further into downtown is Tres Hombres if you're feeling like something a little more spicy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mackenzie
Business
San Carlos, CA, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Nice trip

We went on Labor Day weekend and visited the river for tubing, we also went downtown chico and the chico campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

DUTCH BRO'S

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clearlake, CA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Great hotel for the price.

I have stayed at this hotel five times and have never had a problem. The rooms are always clean, and much quieter than other hotels in Chico. When I checked in the staff told me they were remodeling the hotel and didn't have the room with two beds I had requested, but would give me two rooms for the same price instead. They were going to originally cancel my reservation , but remembered me from last year and found a way to accomodate me. Needless to say, I was very happy and will always try to book this hotel first when I go to Chico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NorCal
Oct 17, 2010

Okay for $50...thats all

Okay for the price, room was missing some things but for $50 what do you expect? 24 hour check in for late comers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mariposa, CA
Oct 11, 2010

Pleasantly Surprised

We were in Chico to visit our son who is going to school there. We rarely stay in very inexpensive hotels but the reviews were good so we gave it a try. We were glad we did. The room was very clean and updated. Nothing fancy but all we needed for our short visit. We will stay there again next time we are in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Sierra Nevada Brewing Company has excellent food and of course good beer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rick Grimes
Business
Chester, CA
Oct 4, 2010

Riskier than staying in the jungle

Small room. Could make it across the room in two strides. Booked a king size bed, ended up with a queen. Room felt dirty, smelled dirty and smokey despite being a non-smoking room. Air conditioner was broken and turned on and off every three minutes. Just goes to show you get what you pay for. Would never stay here again. I'll pay the extra money to feel safe/clean somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Madison Bear Garden.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canby, Ca
Oct 3, 2010

good location clean room

Hotel on main street access located by a great gym. Tv didn't work in room. No local information in room either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
marysville ca
Sep 27, 2010

safari inn

It was a quiet and restfull experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top