$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Comfort Inn Carmel By the Sea

2 stars
Ocean Ave & Torres St., P.O. Box 3838, Carmel, CA 93921
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
37 reviews
Friends road trip

Nice and neat, room is nice, breakfast is not bad, will go for this again. See full review

  • Ken mr.
  • Feb 3, 2014
Good Location and Clean

Great location on Ocean; good value for the area. This is a 1960's motel, updated and very... See full review

  • GregandKathy
  • Sep 9, 2013
Conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Carmel-by-the-Sea. Walking distance to nearby shops, restaurants, art galleries, and Carmel Beach. Pebble Beach Golf Courses,17 Mile Drive. Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, and Cannery Row located nearby. Free deluxe continental breakfast served daily. Room amenities include: refrigerator, cable TV, in-room coffee, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and telephone with voice mail. Comfortable rooms, great location, and our friendly staff will provide you with a memorable stay while visiting Carmel-by-the-Sea.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Comfort Inn Carmel By the Sea also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.5553 -121.9188
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Arpt., (MRY), 7.00, MI, E; San Jose Int'l Airport, (SJC), 50.00, MI, N; San Francisco Int'l Airport, (SFO), 100.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport, Carmel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Inn Carmel By the Sea

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken mr.
San Jose
Feb 3, 2014

Friends road trip

Nice and neat, room is nice, breakfast is not bad, will go for this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GregandKathy
Chicago
Sep 9, 2013

Good Location and Clean

Great location on Ocean; good value for the area. This is a 1960's motel, updated and very appropriate for the area! Rooms are small but have clean, nicely decorated room. Not a great mattress, but slept fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Owl and Cat
Oakland California
May 22, 2013

Average

The room as a whole was comfortable the pillows were this small, half the size of regular pillows and not very comfortable. The location was great, close to everything in down town Carmel which made up for the ridiculous pillows. The breakfast was the worst I ever had in any Motel, the sausage was full of grizzel, and the peculiar yellow discs that were supposed to be eggs almost made me sick. There was also cold cereal and small kind of stale danish. If I go back to Carmel I will probably stay else where.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By the Sea

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super sleuth
Santa Maria, ca
Jun 18, 2012

Great couple retreat

Great couple retreat. Perfect location. Beach is within walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Norther
Louisville, CO, USA
Nov 25, 2011

Great Value in Carmel

We had an excellent stay at Comfort Inn in Carmel. Other reviews rated it highly as a good place to stay for a very reasonable price. We would agree with that. Our room was much better than you'd expect for a motel/Inn, akin to a more upmarket place. The room was clean, large enough to be comfortable and the decor had quality feel. We also had a light view of the ocean and some of downtown Carmel. The continental breakfast was what you'd expect but we feel it's a great bonus to get some kind of breakfast when other places charge much higher prices for a poorer quality room, worse location and no breakfast. We would highly recommend this place for those budgeting under $100/night and wanting to keep the quality decent. The owner manager was a little over zealous regarding use of the waffle iron but I'm sure she's seen plenty of people mess it up! Minor details to an otherwise great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dametra Cafe. Excellent food, amazing warm and friendly service> They were too busy to seat us immediately so while they gave us a free glass of wine each while we waited. The actual wine portions at meal were not stingey either. Great place.

Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DanaN
Denver, CO, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Romantic getaway

Recently remodeled, this quaint hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to the heart of Carmel. Hot breakfast included. Rooms small, but very nice. Easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DanaN
Denver, CO, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Romantic getaway

Recently remodeled, this quaint hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to the heart of Carmel. Hot breakfast included. Rooms small, but very nice. Easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Burlingame, CA
Mar 24, 2011

Great escape for couples on a budget

We didn't sped much time in the inn, but we appreciated to clean room and up-to-date design and amenities. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Carmel-by-the-sea is low key and very relaxing during the week; I would recommend escaping the weekend rush and try it at least once.

Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By the Sea

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Burlingame, CA
Mar 24, 2011

Great escape for couples on a budget

We didn't sped much time in the inn, but we appreciated to clean room and up-to-date design and amenities. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Carmel-by-the-sea is low key and very relaxing during the week; I would recommend escaping the weekend rush and try it at least once.

Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By the Sea

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
CALIFORNIA
Mar 12, 2011

o.k

THE ROOM WAS A BIT ON THE MUSTY SIDE. THE FRONT DESK ROOM WAS OVERWHELMED WITH THE SMELL OF CURRY WHICH WAS A BIT OVERWHELMING TO A VISITOR/CUSTOMER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top