$164 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Carmel River Inn

2 stars
26600 Oliver Road, Hwy 1 and Carmel River Bridge, Carmel, CA 93923
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
13 reviews
Big Sur Marathon Perfect Fit

This hotel is a very short walk from the finish line of the Big Sur marathon which is why we picked... See full review

  • TEMT
  • Apr 28, 2014
Clean, nice staff

Very helpful front desk, close to restaurant and Carmel by the Sea. The room n bathroom clean.... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 21, 2008
Our Inn is located on 11acres surrounded by majestic Cypress Cottonwood and Sycamore trees lush gardens and foliage. Adjacent to the Carmel River seasonal our peaceful setting is a perfect place to unwind from the daily stresses life brings. All of our Guest Rooms and Cottages are adorned with pine log furniture to compliment our rustic riverside setting. Each room is equip with free wireless internet coffee makers with a builtin coffee bean grinder refrigerator telephone voicemail radio alarm clock iron and board hair dryer plush terry towels and luxurious bath amenities for your convenience. All Guest Rooms have a lovely patio or balcony overlooking the seasonal Carmel River. Our rustic cottages are in keeping with the Carmel tradition. Each cottage is individually named after our local historical figures and each are unique with various sleeping accommodations to choose from. We have 1 or 2 bedroom cottages that stand alone or are duplex style. In addition to the many amenities in our Guest Rooms some of our cottages also have woodburning fireplaces kitchenettes and full kitchens. Perfect for family reunions and pet friendly too

Carmel River Inn Rooms

Cottage with Fireplace & Queen o
Description not provided
1 D BED
Description not provided
King Guest Room
Description not provided
Double/Double Guest Room
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Night club
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Boating
Driving range
Picnic area/tables
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Nursery for children
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Doctor on call
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
DVD player
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
TV remote control
Fire place
Shower
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carmel River Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.5371 -121.912
Area served
Santa Cruz, Monterey, Carmel, Big Sur, Gilroy, Hollister, Salinas, Seaside, Soledad, Watsonville, Pacific Grove, Marina, Scotts Valley, Greenfield, Gonzales
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula, (MRY), 5.00, MI, N;
Area description
Rural, We are located 1 mile south of the village of CarmelbytheSea ta

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Carmel River Inn

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 13
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TEMT
San Jose, CA
Apr 28, 2014

Big Sur Marathon Perfect Fit

This hotel is a very short walk from the finish line of the Big Sur marathon which is why we picked it. We were in a cottage which had it's own fireplace with a very camping feel to it. The property with clean and very quiet, except for the frogs at night. Close walk to 2 tiny malls across the street with grocery stores, restaurants, Starbucks and gas stations. Pool was heated and clean. Already have my name on the list for next years reservations! Short 2 mile drive or walk to Ocean Drive downtown Carmel. The Carmel Mission is less than a 5 minute walk up the street and there is a close running/walking trail across from the Mission as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Banana5086
Moutain View, California
Feb 18, 2013

Outside carmel hotel

The hotel was a lot older than we thought it would be. Further from carmel center not walking distance, too expensive for the area and the product. Thin walls noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tustin, Ca.
May 21, 2009

Very quaint comfortable Inn

My wife and I stopped in Carmel for a one night stay on our way down the coast of California. This place was a very nice and comfortable place to stay. We stayed in one of the cottages and it was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Van Nuys
Dec 21, 2008

Clean, nice staff

Very helpful front desk, close to restaurant and Carmel by the Sea. The room n bathroom clean. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1. for dining it just cross the street (for me its s not far).Its not only dining, its have a lot of store. 2. Close to the Carmel Mission Church. 3. Close to the Carmel by the Sea maybe 1 mile away from hotel.

Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Van Nuys
Dec 21, 2008

Clean, nice staff

Very helpful front desk, close to restaurant and Carmel by the Sea. The room n bathroom clean. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1. for dining it just cross the street (for me its s not far).Its not only dining, its have a lot of store. 2. Close to the Carmel Mission Church. 3. Close to the Carmel by the Sea maybe 1 mile away from hotel.

Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 24, 2007

Quick trip

The hotel was fine. We did not spend any time there other than to sleep and shower. The room was fine however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is in the Monterey area of Northern California. There is plenty of shopping, outdoors activites and dining is fabulos.

Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 24, 2007

Quick trip

The hotel was fine. We did not spend any time there other than to sleep and shower. The room was fine however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is in the Monterey area of Northern California. There is plenty of shopping, outdoors activites and dining is fabulos.

Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jun 13, 2007

Like staying in a forest

This quiet property has lots of trees and gardens and fountains. It felt like we were staying in a forest. Our cabin was clean, the bed comfortable. The shower pressure was a bit weak and there wasn't a whole lot of space in the bathroom to put toiletries. We enjoyed sitting outside the cabin and listening to the birds. Overall, a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Rio Grill has great food!

Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jun 13, 2007

Like staying in a forest

This quiet property has lots of trees and gardens and fountains. It felt like we were staying in a forest. Our cabin was clean, the bed comfortable. The shower pressure was a bit weak and there wasn't a whole lot of space in the bathroom to put toiletries. We enjoyed sitting outside the cabin and listening to the birds. Overall, a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Rio Grill has great food!

Back to menu Return to top