$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Carmel River Inn

2 stars
26600 Oliver Road, Hwy 1 and Carmel River Bridge, Carmel, CA 93923
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
11 reviews
Big Sur Marathon Perfect Fit

This hotel is a very short walk from the finish line of the Big Sur marathon which is why we picked... See full review

  • TEMT
  • Apr 28, 2014
Clean, nice staff

Very helpful front desk, close to restaurant and Carmel by the Sea. The room n bathroom clean.... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 21, 2008
Our Inn is located on 11acres surrounded by majestic Cypress Cottonwood and Sycamore trees lush gardens and foliage. Adjacent to the Carmel River seasonal our peaceful setting is a perfect place to unwind from the daily stresses life brings. All of our Guest Rooms and Cottages are adorned with pine log furniture to compliment our rustic riverside setting. Each room is equip with free wireless internet coffee makers with a builtin coffee bean grinder refrigerator telephone voicemail radio alarm clock iron and board hair dryer plush terry towels and luxurious bath amenities for your convenience. All Guest Rooms have a lovely patio or balcony overlooking the seasonal Carmel River. Our rustic cottages are in keeping with the Carmel tradition. Each cottage is individually named after our local historical figures and each are unique with various sleeping accommodations to choose from. We have 1 or 2 bedroom cottages that stand alone or are duplex style. In addition to the many amenities in our Guest Rooms some of our cottages also have woodburning fireplaces kitchenettes and full kitchens. Perfect for family reunions and pet friendly too

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carmel River Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Carmel River Inn Rooms

Cottage with Fireplace & Queen o
Description not provided
1 D BED
Description not provided
King Guest Room
Description not provided
Double/Double Guest Room
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Live entertainment
Night club
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Boating
Driving range
Picnic area/tables
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Nursery for children
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Doctor on call
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
DVD player
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
TV remote control
Fire place
Shower
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Carmel River Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.2

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TEMT
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 28, 2014

Big Sur Marathon Perfect Fit

This hotel is a very short walk from the finish line of the Big Sur marathon which is why we picked it. We were in a cottage which had it's own fireplace with a very camping feel to it. The property with clean and very quiet, except for the frogs at night. Close walk to 2 tiny malls across the street with grocery stores, restaurants, Starbucks and gas stations. Pool was heated and clean. Already have my name on the list for next years reservations! Short 2 mile drive or walk to Ocean Drive downtown Carmel. The Carmel Mission is less than a 5 minute walk up the street and there is a close running/walking trail across from the Mission as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Van Nuys
Dec 21, 2008

Clean, nice staff

Very helpful front desk, close to restaurant and Carmel by the Sea. The room n bathroom clean. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1. for dining it just cross the street (for me its s not far).Its not only dining, its have a lot of store. 2. Close to the Carmel Mission Church. 3. Close to the Carmel by the Sea maybe 1 mile away from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 24, 2007

Quick trip

The hotel was fine. We did not spend any time there other than to sleep and shower. The room was fine however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is in the Monterey area of Northern California. There is plenty of shopping, outdoors activites and dining is fabulos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 13, 2007

Like staying in a forest

This quiet property has lots of trees and gardens and fountains. It felt like we were staying in a forest. Our cabin was clean, the bed comfortable. The shower pressure was a bit weak and there wasn't a whole lot of space in the bathroom to put toiletries. We enjoyed sitting outside the cabin and listening to the birds. Overall, a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Rio Grill has great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tustin, Ca.
May 21, 2009

Very quaint comfortable Inn

My wife and I stopped in Carmel for a one night stay on our way down the coast of California. This place was a very nice and comfortable place to stay. We stayed in one of the cottages and it was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Priscilla726
Business
Half moon bay, ca
Nov 24, 2012

Peaceful stay

Loved the garden patio attached to the cottage. Very relaxing place to nest while visiting Carmel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Carmel Mission

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FJM
Business
Portland, ME
May 27, 2009

Carmel River Inn

The Carmel River Inn was a disappointment, but acceptable for a quick overnight stay if you don't plan on spending much time in your room. It is well located, right on the Pacific Coast Highway near Carmel by the Sea and a nice local shopping center with restaurants, etc. However, the property itself is quite dated ('60s vintage). Many of the fixtures, particularly in the bathroom, were quite worn although they were clean. On the bottom floor our room was somewhat damp, although our friend's room on the upper floor was drier. Overall, decent value but not much for amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good dining is readily available in Carmel by the Sea. From Scratch, a small cafe in a nearby shopping center, is also excellent for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler617
Business
Boston
Aug 5, 2014

Clean and comfortable but problematic

Stayed three nights in July-August. Carmel is pricey and nothing seems like a good value, and the Carmel River Inn is no exception. It's an ooooold motel that has been partially updated. Pro's: Our room in the main building was surprisingly clean and had a nice upscale, woodsy aesthetic. Bed was comfy,and tv, cable, coffee-maker, and iron were all appreciated. Furniture was updated. Bathroom was clean and functional but dated. Staff was responsive and worked hard to please guests despite problems (see below). Con's: Reservation for 2 queens was messed up for 1 king. (I overhead other guests with reservation problems, too.) Staff was apologetic but couldn't offer us a solution on arrival (and for us, changing rooms after getting settled wasn't worth the hassle). Wireless internet stunk--couldn't get a page to load. No restaurant on site. Grounds not as impressive as pictured. Location was good in terms of proximity to Carmel, but not walkable to anything. Price for product was ridiculous, but it was the best we could find in Carmel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clovis, Ca.
May 10, 2009

Carmel Valley Inn

The curtain for the sliding glass door was about 8 inches too short. Anyone walking by could see inside the room without breaking their stride. The bed was sway-back like an old horse. The bathroom sink had big errosion pits in it. The shower door was crooked and hard to open. The people upstairs had a child and was running back and forth until about 11 pm. About 4 am I woke up to hear the people upstairs [*] and later found out that my son woke up at the same time to hear the same thing. It felt like we were staying in the red light district. The chairs in the room were stained and dirty. The carpet was dirty. Room was very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carmel River Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Finnish relative
Business
Folsom, Ca.
Sep 16, 2014

Dated and worn.

Room in the hotel was large and roomy. Bathroom is small, with chipped paint and mold around shower and under linoleum. Curtains had multiple holes in it. Had to ask for an iron. The rest of the cottages looked dated and like they only spend the minimum to keep them up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top