$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown

1 star
1006 Carlsbad Village Dr, I-5 at Carlsbad Village Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
39 reviews
THANK YOU

EEEE-EXCELLENT! hONESTLY, HONESTLY, HONESTLY THANK YOU VINCE See full review

  • vVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVV
  • Jun 18, 2014
Great place to relax

I would reserve a room again, no problems. Great space, bed, tv, privacy. See full review

  • Vince Edwards
  • Mar 4, 2014
Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown is located off I-5 at Carlsbad Village Drive. Carlsbad Beach access is only 0.5 mile. Visit Oceanside Pier 3.7 miles, Oceanside Harbor 5 miles, and Legoland 4 miles. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern rooms for a fee.

Hotel Map

33.1633 -117.3442
Nearby airports
San Diego Intl Airport, (SAN), 30.90, MI, NW; Montgomery Field, (MYF), 26.70, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 1 Queen Bed

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Turndown service
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Dining

Dennys
Adjacent
Als Cafe in the Village
Walking distance
Alejandros Mexican Food
Walking distance
Carls Junior
Walking distance
El Puerto Mexican and Seafood
Walking distance
Mikko Japanese Cuisine
Walking distance
Grand Grill
0.3 mile
Beach City Smoothies
0.4 mile
Dons Country Kitchen
0.4 mile
New York Pizza
0.4 mile

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Imasecretshopper
Inland Empire
Jul 23, 2012

SOLD OUT EVERYWHERE BUT HERE

VERY PRICY but only thing available. Noisy, no coffee no breakfast. Normal motel 6 no frills but this one is $$$$$$$. I would only recommend if nothing else available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roxy89
Phoenix, Arizona
Jul 18, 2012

Rude, smelly rooms!!!

We had booked a room with then for non-smoking and were given a smoking room. We had no choice but to take it because there were no other rooms avaiable. We then decided the next morning that we would like to stay for another two nights and the front lady said it was alright that we just needed to come over to fill out the forms again. we went over and then she said she was booked for the rest of the weekend. How horrible is that! we had just called the front too! I will never go to another motel 6 again because of this experience! We ended up finding a motel closer to the beach(Walking distance) plus it was much cheaper and the lady at the front was much nicer. It was a motel off of beach and Carlsbad Blvd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

There is a nice restaurant we found in Carlsbad called The Armenian cafe. wonderful place!

Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
North county fan
San Diego, California
Jul 10, 2012

What you would expect

It was very clean which is always important. The bathrooms were more than I expected. There was not much light in the room. The biggest problem was that the air conditioner would go off every night. Would have to click the test button on the plug to have it start again. The police were always driving through the parking lot, was not the normal Carlsbad people there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjsemperfi
san diego
Jun 9, 2012

room for the week.

Way better than I thought it was going to be. The beach is only 1 mile away. Great area to walk in by the way. The women are very beautiful. The night life is not loud but very fun. I will be back very very soon. Another plus, the motel was quiet and clean. It looked like a condo on the outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Beer and pizza and the sushi catch is awesome

Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Needed to Get Away
San Diego, Ca
Dec 30, 2011

What I Needed

It was a prime location for the cost! Can't beat it! The hotel was not the best quality but my budget was low and everything I wanted was in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
tucson, az
Jul 29, 2011

Great buy

good deal. cant complain about the hotel. clean enough, close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
tucson, az
Jul 29, 2011

Great buy

good deal. cant complain about the hotel. clean enough, close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CarlbadTriAthlete
Business
Orange, CA
Jul 11, 2011

Travel Lodging on a budget *Great Value*

Motel 6 is notorious for being a no-thrills lodging option. This particular Motel 6 is no exception. [...] and other staff did an excellent job. Check-in, check-out, internet pass-code purchase, and wake-up call were all handled promptly and service was excellent. Internet here is a great value as well ($2.99/24-hours) its not the fastest in the world, but I was able to stream music from Pandora without any trouble. Aside from the amenities this Motel is in a great location for the price. Although it is near the freeway and main street, noise was not a problem. A short walk away is a gas station/convenience store, grocery store, Carl's Jr, Denny's and more. I would recommend a bike to get around town. Carlsbad is very bike-able and a bike can extend distance over walking and relieve park-spot hunting headache

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CarlbadTriAthlete
Business
Orange, CA
Jul 11, 2011

Travel Lodging on a budget *Great Value*

Motel 6 is notorious for being a no-thrills lodging option. This particular Motel 6 is no exception. [...] and other staff did an excellent job. Check-in, check-out, internet pass-code purchase, and wake-up call were all handled promptly and service was excellent. Internet here is a great value as well ($2.99/24-hours) its not the fastest in the world, but I was able to stream music from Pandora without any trouble. Aside from the amenities this Motel is in a great location for the price. Although it is near the freeway and main street, noise was not a problem. A short walk away is a gas station/convenience store, grocery store, Carl's Jr, Denny's and more. I would recommend a bike to get around town. Carlsbad is very bike-able and a bike can extend distance over walking and relieve park-spot hunting headache

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Earthworm 2000
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 3, 2011

No frills but decent

We used Motel 6 as an "extra bedroom" for a beachside condo that family members rented. The room was clean and convenient but no frills. (no shampoo, tiny soaps, hair dryer and iron available at desk w/deposit). One mile from beach, just off I-5 but room was quiet enough. Hint: for same price, queen bed rooms are larger. Fast food next door, local eateries an easy walk away. Albertsons and laundry across the street. Best deal available for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's & Carl's Jr next door, any number of local restaurants close by. Try The Grand deli for breakfast!

Back to menu Return to top