$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 14, 2014

Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

3 stars
5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
74 reviews
Birthday vacation

This is a very beautiful Hotel, I will be recommending to any one that asks where to stay while in... See full review

  • BlueStar9
  • Sep 7, 2014
We who play baseball together vacation together

My only issues were kid pool area closing early, adult pool had ropes like a lap pool & when AC... See full review

  • Baker Boyz Mom
  • Jul 15, 2014
Carlsbad resort with Pacific views, two pools and a microbrewery

Gorgeous outdoor spaces, attentive service and free Wi-Fi Internet access make the Grand Pacific Palisades Resort a top option for business, families and romantic getaways. Located next door to Legoland California, the resort also offers twelve lush Pacific-view acres, an adults-only Olympic-sized pool, three Jacuzzis, a children's interactive water park and family pool, fitness center and activity center. The Karl Strauss Brewery Restaurant at the Grand Pacific Palisades Resort has earned numerous medals from international beer festivals.

Highlights
  • Within walking distance of Legoland California
  • On-site Karl Strauss Brewery Restaurant
  • Guest rooms and villa suites available, many with panoramic ocean views
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space, plus outdoor venues
  • Free shuttle to Ocean Pearl Spa, and the Twenty/20 Grill & Wine Bar
Rooms
More than 160 vacation villas and 90 guest rooms at the Grand Pacific Palisades Resort provide bright, fresh spaces for the perfect California coastal vacation or business trip. One- and two-bedroom villa suites include full kitchens and are located in the heart of the resort near the family water park. Hotel accommodations include classic or deluxe king or queen/queen rooms, all featuring gorgeous park, resort or Pacific views. Floor-to-ceiling glass doors let light flood in.
Features

Take advantage of complimentary shuttle service to the Ocean Pearl Spa, or request in-room massage services (fees apply). The Grand Pacific Palisades Resort fitness center features free weights and cardiovascular equipment, a private massage room and men's and women's locker rooms. Keep up with a workout schedule or just take a stroll on the property's walking terrace.

Dining

Toast with a hearty "Prost!" at Karl Strauss Brewery Restaurant at the Grand Pacific Palisades Resort, where ten handcrafted beers are on tap. Pair them with international dishes as diverse as Cajun chicken pasta and the classic Vietnamese banh mi sandwich.

The Grand Pacific Palisades Resort also provides a complimentary shuttle to the Twenty/20 Grill & Wine Bar, where guests can dine near warming fire pits on the Pacific-view patio.

Transportation
  • I-5 (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • San Diego International Airport (28 mi/45 km)
  • Airport shuttle available
Attractions
  • Museum of Making Music (Adjacent)
  • Legoland California (Across the street)
  • The Flower Fields (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Carlsbad Premium Outlets (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Crossings at Carlsbad (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • Business center with mail, photocopy, fax and Internet services
  • 10,000 square feet of function space
  • Sun-drenched outdoor venues
  • Catering provided by the Karl Strauss Brewery Restaurant
Policies and Fees
  • Check in at 3 P.M. and check out at 12 P.M. for the deluxe hotel rooms.
  • Villa Suites check in time is 5 P.M. and check out time is 10 A.M.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.1253 -117.3163
Area served
Carlsbad, CA
Nearby airports
(SAN)San Diego Airport is 23 miles (SNA)John Wayne Orange County Airport is 45 miles (LAX)Los Angeles International Airport is located 90 miles north
Area description
This stunning Southern California resort is located near the charming seaside village of Carlsbad, California. Just north of San Diego and south of Anaheim, Carlsbad is Vacation Central! Miles of sandy beaches, world-class golf courses, fine dining and great shopping are all within minutes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Pacific Palisades Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Grand Pacific Palisades Resort Rooms

Standard Room
Standard features one king or two queen beds, balcony or patio with table & chairs, entertainment center with 27" TV VCR & audio system, side table & chairs, coffee maker & complimentary coffee & tea service, clock radio, central heating and air conditioning, combination shower & bathtub, data ports (some rooms), voice mail & direct dial telephone, hair dryer, free newspaper, iron and ironing board, ADA compliant rooms available, room service, non-smoking rooms. Check in at 3 pm and check out at 12 pm for the deluxe hotel rooms.
Two Bedroom Condo
One king bed in master bedroom, full and twin in guest bedroom.. Private furnished balcony or patio with ocean, park or seasonal flower field view. Kitchen has granite counters with full size refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, and cookware/dishes. Cable/satellite TV with VCR and audio system. Air conditioning. Check-in time for all condos is 5:00PM and check-out is 10:00AM
One Bedroom Condo
One king bed in master bedroom with queen size sofa sleeper in separate living area. Private balcony or patio. Kitchen with cooking utensils and all appliances. Dining table. Check-in time for all condos is 5:00PM and check-out is 10:00AM

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The meeting facilities at Grand Pacific Palisades Resort & Hotel offer the most modern of meeting and banquet amenities, first-class services and a splendid array of food and beverage presentations in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. The Grand Pacific Palisades Resort & Hotel offers over 10,000 square feet of meeting and function space as well as several outdoor areas designed for social gatherings and group activities. We can accommodate functions for groups of 10 to 350 guests.

Dining

Karl Strauss Brewery & Restaurant
The culinary team features contemporary American cuisine with innovative menu selections to complement the handcrafted beers of America's Most Honored Master Brewer, Karl Strauss. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner and room service from 7:00am to 10:00pm daily.
Nearby Restuarants
Bellefleur Restaurant Benihana Claim Jumper Restaurant Greek Village Restaurant Islands Restaurants King's Fish House Marie Callender's Pat & Oscar's Restaurants Ruby's Diner San Sai Japanese Grill Sammy's California Woodfired TGI Friday's.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BlueStar9
San Diego, California
Sep 7, 2014

Birthday vacation

This is a very beautiful Hotel, I will be recommending to any one that asks where to stay while in San Diego.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kennelly fambam
Cerritos, California.
Aug 31, 2014

Perfect family place

Loved that they had a kid pool with a little waterpark area. A first that I've seen at any hotel. Plus a playground and activities center. My kids were in heaven.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mila's Dad
San Jose, California
Aug 18, 2014

Great place to stay when visiting LegoLand

This year, we decided to take a last-minute vacation before school started for my daughter. While is SoCal we called the LegoLand Hotel every day hoping to find a cancelation. We were able to stay there one night. For the second night, we stayed at the Pacific Palisades Resort. The staff was efficient. The rooms were clean. The pool area for kids was filled with happy guests and more importantly happy kids. I am not sure anything can make up for the kid's room and bunk bed at the LegoLand Hotel (as far as my 4 year-old is concerned) but the Palisides was a winner for the adults! And the pool area a worthy distraction for my daughter. We ended up spending time in Carlsbad by the Sea, thanks to this resort. If you have time, be sure to enjoy the beach along with your stay at LegoLand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travellforfun
San Francisco
Aug 12, 2014

Leisure

Great hotel for families. Has all amenities needed. Stuff is super helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1dash1
Hilo, Hawaii
Jul 30, 2014

Good value if you're going to Legoland

Room was well-sized. Enough for two double-sized beds, table, couple of chairs, combination entertainment center/drawers, closet, and very large bathroom. The bathroom was, perhaps, a bit too large for just a toilet, sink, and simple bathtub/shower. It seemed like there was a lot of room for "something more" - I'm not sure what that "something more" would be. Overall, no complaints about the room. Customer service was exceptional and very friendly. The swimming pool area is very nice. The gift shop is sparsely stocked, but there's a CostCo just down the road. The price for the room was a little high in my opinion, but was mitigated by the fact that it's within walking distance of Legoland. I saved $30 in Legoland parking fees by staying at this hotel! So, that was the equalizer in terms of value for this hotel stay. While there is no in-hotel restaurant, there is a Karl Strauss restaurant just across the parking lot and several other restaurants (as well as a Starbucks) within short walking distance down the road. Overall, I'd give the hotel a solid 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk down the road is a CostCo, a Starbucks, and several small restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
etheps
Business
carlsbad
Jul 29, 2014

Never again

This is not for business travelers. Parking far from room. Staff under educated. Slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baker Boyz Mom
San Tan Valley, AZ
Jul 15, 2014

We who play baseball together vacation together

My only issues were kid pool area closing early, adult pool had ropes like a lap pool & when AC came on it was SUPER LOUD and woke me up everytime

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bkfst buffet AMAZING

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robertjuli
Queen Creek,Arizona
Jul 13, 2014

Great stay

The hotel was great right next to lego land. It was clean and very nice.Only one thing I can complain about was the noise the fan makes while running.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jessica33
San jose, ca
Jun 27, 2014

Great and fun family getaway

It was great except the I couldn't check I'm at 4 I had to wait until 420pm. Everything else was magnificent. They had a kids pool with slides, movies, and activities planned for everyday that we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike kup
Las vegas
Apr 18, 2014

Great location

Every thing was great. Only thing that was wrong was the front desk never answered the phone and the pool wasn't heated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search