$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Holiday Inn Express ENCINITAS - CARDIFF BEACH AREA

3 stars
View map of 1661 Villa Cardiff Drive, Cardiff By The Sea, CA 92007

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
47 reviews
very pleasant stay

It was a very nice experience. Very pleasant stay. See full review

  • kw
  • Feb 20, 2015
Great for a quick stopover going north/south on 5

We spent our day at SD Zoo Safari Park, and rather than have to contend with evening traffic,... See full review

  • Andrew H.
  • Aug 10, 2015
Stay at the Holiday Inn Express® Encinitas Cardiff Beach Area near LEGOLAND California and just five minutes from the Del Mar Fairgrounds. If you are looking for hotels near San Diego, make sure you check out our property located right off I-5 at exit 40. Our Express Start Breakfast is open from 6am-10am daily! We are located less than a half-mile from the Cardiff State beach and most notably Moonlight State Beach and we provide our guests with the best in quality amenities, making us the smart choice. Our San Diego North hotel is just minutes from California's most exciting and relaxing attractions, including Birch Aquarium, Balboa Park, SD Wild Animal Park, LEGOLAND, SeaWorld, Torrey Pines Golf Course, the Self Realization Meditation Gardens, the San Elijo Campground, Swamis, Downtown Encinitas, Cedros Shopping District in Solana Beach, Carlsbad Village, Oceanside Pier, Tamarack Beach, and the Palomar Airport in Carlsbad. Are you in town for the horse show? Our hotel has special discounts with Blenheim Equisports and the Del Mar Horsepark. “Stay Smart” with us! For our work-oriented guests searching for San Diego hotel deals we offer many business services, including newly upgraded high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. We also offer close proximity to popular area companies, such as Calloway, ISIS, Camp Pendleton, UC of San Diego, the Scripps Hospital in Encinitas and La Jolla.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express ENCINITAS - CARDIFF BEACH AREA also booked these hotels.

★★★
$76
3.9 / 5 181 reviews
★★★
$71
3.6 / 5 242 reviews
★★
$75
3.9 / 5 15 reviews
★★★
$114
4.1 / 5 59 reviews

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Turndown service
Temperature control
Ironing board

Dining

Chart House
Fresh seafood with beautiful ocean views
Yogi's Beach Bar
Casual restaurant located on the beach

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express ENCINITAS - CARDIFF BEACH AREA

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express ENCINITAS - CARDIFF BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew H.
Couples
Irvine
Aug 10, 2015

Great for a quick stopover going north/south on 5

We spent our day at SD Zoo Safari Park, and rather than have to contend with evening traffic, decided to stay here for the night. That meant we could enjoy walks on the beach in the evening, and breakfast on the coast the next morning. The hotel is ideally situated for this, since it's right next to the 5, but also a few minutes from PCH and the beach at Cardiff-by-the-Sea. It's also a short drive to Solana Beach, which features one of our all-time favorite breakfast places (Naked Cafe). The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was busy but still refreshingly quiet. The pool was a bit small and overcrowded to be of interest to us, but would probably be good for kids. We didn't have the free, if basic, breakfast, but I'm sure it would have been fine had we been needing to hit the road. Nice to have free HBO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express ENCINITAS - CARDIFF BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deed
Couples
N/A
May 1, 2015

Family outing

Stayed at this hotel due to it's location to festivities we were in town to attend. Encinitas street fair and granddaughters basketball game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express ENCINITAS - CARDIFF BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kw
Business
somerset
Feb 20, 2015

very pleasant stay

It was a very nice experience. Very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express ENCINITAS - CARDIFF BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jordy B
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

Nice Business Trip Say

This hotel met my needs and was a perfect location for mu business needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express ENCINITAS - CARDIFF BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TSMarissa
El Cajon
Jan 5, 2015

was ok

i have stayed in this location on 2 seperate trips both times the room was very clean but sheets were not

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of Holiday Inn Express ENCINITAS - CARDIFF BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ProfBen
Couples
Los Angeles
Mar 24, 2014

Convenient and good value.

For a single night, for a place to stay while visiting friends, this hotel did the trick. Clean and comfortable. Ask for a room away form the freeway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express ENCINITAS - CARDIFF BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eneasilvio
Family
Palermo, Italia
Aug 27, 2013

Friendly and familiar

We enjoied our staying for the kindness of the staff and the quality of service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express ENCINITAS - CARDIFF BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dalroid
Business
yorba linda ca,
Jul 29, 2013

Clean spot

I am working out of town in La Costa and have stayed in several locations. For summertime at the beach this hotel has the best bang for my buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The mexican food at thegas station next door is great

Review of Holiday Inn Express ENCINITAS - CARDIFF BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tan Family of Three
Family
Walnut, California
Jul 5, 2013

A family friendly place to stay.

Breakfast was adequate and filled right away when food ran out. Facility is just basic. Front desk staff was very attentive and professional. Location was great, close to the highway and eating places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Only 8 miles away from Carlsbad premium outlet.

Review of Holiday Inn Express ENCINITAS - CARDIFF BEACH AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lalo123
Business
California
Jul 5, 2013

Nice

It was godd in General, breakfast could be better but very clean and great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

to the beach and besides the highway

Back to menu Return to top