$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 14, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

Tangerine Hotel

3 stars
3901 Riverside Drive, Burbank, CA 91505
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
66 reviews
Very happy

Of the 3 hotels I've stayed at on a recent trip to the LA area, the Tangerine was the nicest. The... See full review

  • jbohn
  • Aug 5, 2014
Great hotel in the heart of the movie industry

The Tangerine Hotel is in a great location. One of the best Mexican restaurants in town is right... See full review

  • Zzanne
  • May 15, 2014
Tangerine is a new boutique hotel offering its guests an eclectic and colorful backdrop that promises to enhance their visit to Los Angeles, Burbank and Hollywood. Our thoughtfully appointed rooms are a fresh reinterpretation of the classic motel room; although contemporary and minimalist in design, we have treated them as individual canvases where bold strokes of color and imagery have been used to create thirty whimsical and exciting spaces with distinct personalities. And, although no two rooms are like, they all are equally appointed with all the modern amenities expected by our guests, including LCD TVs, iPod audio and video docking stations, complimentary DSL, in-room coffee/tea, and bathrooms highlighted by concrete floors, caesarstone countertops and Grohe fixtures. Elements of glass, concrete, metal, and cedar wood envelop a sun soaked patio area ideal for swimming and relaxing. Located at the epicenter of all things media, Tangerine is within walking distance of Warner Brothers Studios and within minutes of Universal Studios, Walt Disney Studios, Dreamworks Animation and Hollywood and the Sunset Strip. Our location is further enhanced by proximity to a large and diverse selection of restaurants, coffee houses and bars within walking distance. For the value-conscious business or leisure traveler searching for an independent alternative with an undefinable flair, Tangerine has a room waiting for you.

Hotel Map

34.1523 -118.3419
Area served
Burbank, Universal City, Universal Studios, Hollywood, Los Angeles, Toluca Lake, Glendale, North Hollywood, Studio City,
Nearby airports
We are located three miles from the Burbank Airport and 27 miles from LAX.
Area description
We are located in the heart of the Burbank Media District. We are within walking distance of Warner Brother Studios and within minutes of Walt Disney Studios, ABC Studios, Dreamworks Animation and Hollywood and the Sunset Strip. Our location is further enhanced by our proximity to a large and diverse selection of restaurants, bars and coffee houses within walking distance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tangerine Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Tangerine Hotel Rooms

3_STAR - KING
King Bed with Duvet, 32 inch LCD TV, iPod A/V docking station, free DSL, refrigerator, in-room coffee/tea
3_STAR - QUEEN
Queen Bed with Duvet, 32-inch LCD TV, iPod A/V docking station, free DSL, refrigerator, in-room coffee/tea
3_STAR - DOUBLE
Two Queen Beds with Duvet, 32-inch LCD TV, iPod A/V docking station, free DSL, refrigerator, in-room coffee/tea

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Arnie Morton's Steakhouse (off-site)
Steakhouse (off-site)
Don Cuco's Mexican Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant (off-site)
McCormick & Schmicks
Seafood Restaurant (off-site)
Gindi Thai
Thai Restaurant (off-site)
Bistro Provence
French Restaurant(off-site)
Prosecco
Italian Restaurant (off-site)
Sushi Yuzu
Japanese Restaurant (off-site)
Bob's Big Boy
Coffee House (off-site)
Lucy's 51
Bar and Lounge (off-site)
Tmmy Nolan's Tavern
Irish Pub (off-site)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Tangerine Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AZ tripper
Arizona!
May 30, 2012

Way overpriced

I've stayed at the Holiday Lodge often since 1990 and always felt comfortable. Now with the orange, grey, and lime paint job, it feels cold and industrial. The rooms are bare, all the nice landscaping is gone too. Still it is quiet, convenient and a nice neighborhood with plenty of dining options. The morning continental breakfast pastries were no better than what you get at a mini-mart and no fresh fruit or any other food. I would not complain if this was a $70 motel but it is almost double that. Only basic channels on the TV even though an inaccurate list of channels was provided. Wifi slow too. It offers nothing better than the Travelodge nearby. Sad to see the change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Chinese take out up on Great Wok at 521 Hollywood Way just a minute or two away with great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
No Cal Traveler
Silicon Valley, CA, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Some good but a lot more bad (not worth a repeat)

Hotel faces a busy street that never seems to quiet down. Close the window..room get stuffy..open the window..it gets really cold very fast!! All the chairs were leather material that covered slightly padded bases..needs some recliners in the room or a love seat if used by a couple. My refrigerator ran all of the time and sounded like a droning hum that made it difficult to sleep. It would have been nice to have sheets and a blanket on the bed. Cement floor in the bathroom was clean but cold when walking on it with bare feet; bathtub had to be stepped up into to clear the side of it. Bed was nice but not extremely comfortable. Overall not a good $$ value...!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Good distance to Warner Bros. and freeway access

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Star Maker
Business
Portland, Oregon
Feb 8, 2013

Really a Motel

Location was perfect: Free parking with lots of good restaurants nearby and close to the studios, but...No desk or desk lamp; No 'easy' chair to watch TV; No business center; No gym; No bar; No elevator; Paper cups for water and coffee. Room was fairly Spartan, but the staff was very kind and helpful. It's fine for a quick business trip, but not really a 'Hotel'

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel provides a good list of nearby restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, CA
Jul 22, 2011

Tangerine Hotel, Burbank, CA

I arrived at the property at 10pm and went stright to bed after checking in. The clerk was courteous although I waited at the front desk for 5 inutes while he finished some admin task. This property is an old converted motel with limited facilities. The room was very simple. The bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal Studio is about 2 miles away while Warner Brothers movie studio is two bloacks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bromski beat
Clovis, California
Aug 5, 2013

Definitely Average

First look at hotel?? felt more like a motel. Staff: was not that warm, no how are you folks doing today or other small talk to make you feel welcomed. Room was clean and neat and comfortable, but had an odd smell. It was like a chemical smell, possibly a chemical used for pest control. Pillows are way to large and way to hard. Pool was warm and clean, no complaints there. Shower had great water pressure and nice soaps and shampoo was included. Over all opinion, I would not stay here again, because I think i can find a better deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Proud Grandmama
San Francisco
Mar 10, 2014

Great Location

We booked here because we were going to Universal Studios. The beds are super comfortable and there are great places to eat very close to hotel, within walking distance. The breakfast rolls they serve are fantastic too. Only negative is the bathroom could use updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mexican restaurant is steps away and the Italian one right across the street is super. It doesn't look like much on the outside, but the food is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skyetk
SoCal
Mar 20, 2011

Overnighter til WB tour

We stayed here overnight before our WB studio tour. -Very close to the studio.. you could walk and be there. -Rooms are average but uniquely decorated. -TV channel listings were wrong -The manager guy was very nice -The parking situation would be interesting if you arrive later then the other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

-Mexican food right next door- it was ok. -Coffee shop right across the street -fully stocked gas station/convenience store a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jihobr
Out in the desert
Sep 1, 2014

Really pretty motel

Tangerine is best described as a beautiful -motel There is a perception that operations like this are generally less expensive. The owners of Tangerine have made bold design decisions and really made this, what looks like, a once run down motel into a shining gem. Is it worth the extra costs? Not sure. I immediately start looking for things that I would not get (or gladly pay for) in a "motel". The soaps, shampoo etc are high end. The decor is spectacular. I did not want any housekeeping service so I will not comment however I did receive a couple of calls confirming my choice. They have a coffee dispenser in the cool "lobby" that has like 20 options for coffee. Morning Danishes are becoming ubiquitous so I'm not overly impressed but someone has to pay for it. The location is something you will want to pay a little extra for. It is very close to freeway -without noise. You're only 20 minutes from downtown LA. Tangerine does not have the model to offer the types of experience you get in a "hotel" that's not bad, it just is. If you are looking for a boutique hotel experience this may be too much "motel". If you want a motel experience, this is high-end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wally444
Seattle, WA, USA
Aug 27, 2011

motel posing as "boutique hotel"

Starting with finding the place. It is located in Toluca Lake, not Burbank. There is no direct exit from the freeway to the street it is on, which is a street that changes numbers and direction. The staff was difficult to reach, taking more than 20 calls before giving us incorrect directions. What should have taken 10 minutes required an hour and , please, I am not that stupid. Even after finding it, there was some further difficulty the following day coming back from Santa Clarita. Again , the front desk was unresponsive. This is a former cheap motel with small rooms that have been nicely remodeled, but were not very comfortable. 30 rooms and 18 parking space

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

some nice restaurants nearby, especially Chez Nous, surprisingly elegant and reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kenz H.
Sacramento, CA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

A fine stay

The hotel was your basic clean, pleasant stay. The tub and shower were recently redone and there was good water pressure (always nice)! The breakfast pastries and coffee were upgraded, but other than that, nothing really special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search