$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 11, 2014 Check-out: Nov 14, 2014

Tangerine Hotel

3 stars
3901 Riverside Drive, Burbank, CA 91505
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
66 reviews
Very happy

Of the 3 hotels I've stayed at on a recent trip to the LA area, the Tangerine was the nicest. The... See full review

  • jbohn
  • Aug 5, 2014
Great hotel in the heart of the movie industry

The Tangerine Hotel is in a great location. One of the best Mexican restaurants in town is right... See full review

  • Zzanne
  • May 15, 2014
Tangerine is a new boutique hotel offering its guests an eclectic and colorful backdrop that promises to enhance their visit to Los Angeles, Burbank and Hollywood. Our thoughtfully appointed rooms are a fresh reinterpretation of the classic motel room; although contemporary and minimalist in design, we have treated them as individual canvases where bold strokes of color and imagery have been used to create thirty whimsical and exciting spaces with distinct personalities. And, although no two rooms are like, they all are equally appointed with all the modern amenities expected by our guests, including LCD TVs, iPod audio and video docking stations, complimentary DSL, in-room coffee/tea, and bathrooms highlighted by concrete floors, caesarstone countertops and Grohe fixtures. Elements of glass, concrete, metal, and cedar wood envelop a sun soaked patio area ideal for swimming and relaxing. Located at the epicenter of all things media, Tangerine is within walking distance of Warner Brothers Studios and within minutes of Universal Studios, Walt Disney Studios, Dreamworks Animation and Hollywood and the Sunset Strip. Our location is further enhanced by proximity to a large and diverse selection of restaurants, coffee houses and bars within walking distance. For the value-conscious business or leisure traveler searching for an independent alternative with an undefinable flair, Tangerine has a room waiting for you.

Hotel Map

34.1523 -118.3419
Area served
Burbank, Universal City, Universal Studios, Hollywood, Los Angeles, Toluca Lake, Glendale, North Hollywood, Studio City,
Nearby airports
We are located three miles from the Burbank Airport and 27 miles from LAX.
Area description
We are located in the heart of the Burbank Media District. We are within walking distance of Warner Brother Studios and within minutes of Walt Disney Studios, ABC Studios, Dreamworks Animation and Hollywood and the Sunset Strip. Our location is further enhanced by our proximity to a large and diverse selection of restaurants, bars and coffee houses within walking distance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tangerine Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Tangerine Hotel Rooms

3_STAR - KING
King Bed with Duvet, 32 inch LCD TV, iPod A/V docking station, free DSL, refrigerator, in-room coffee/tea
3_STAR - QUEEN
Queen Bed with Duvet, 32-inch LCD TV, iPod A/V docking station, free DSL, refrigerator, in-room coffee/tea
3_STAR - DOUBLE
Two Queen Beds with Duvet, 32-inch LCD TV, iPod A/V docking station, free DSL, refrigerator, in-room coffee/tea

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Arnie Morton's Steakhouse (off-site)
Steakhouse (off-site)
Don Cuco's Mexican Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant (off-site)
McCormick & Schmicks
Seafood Restaurant (off-site)
Gindi Thai
Thai Restaurant (off-site)
Bistro Provence
French Restaurant(off-site)
Prosecco
Italian Restaurant (off-site)
Sushi Yuzu
Japanese Restaurant (off-site)
Bob's Big Boy
Coffee House (off-site)
Lucy's 51
Bar and Lounge (off-site)
Tmmy Nolan's Tavern
Irish Pub (off-site)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Tangerine Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arethusa13
Business
Tacoma, WA
May 1, 2013

Family visit to SoCal

Convenient location, smart rooms, friendly staff; easy to get to Burbank Airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DolarnSens
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Apr 22, 2013

Best Stay Ever

The front desk staff was awesome - super friendly, and super accommodating to any request we had. Loved the Porto's pastries every morning (but don't wait until the last minute to get something - they'll be out!), and the coffee vending machine was decent (no Starbucks, but hey, it's free!). We took advantage of the pool more than once, was super clean and a good temperature, appreciated the table with the ashtray, too. Very easy to find, in a good area with lots of restaurants, etc. within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quincy, MA 5.0 star rating 1/28/2012 Why oh Lord is this place thousands of miles from my house ?! SOUP: 4.5 STARS Mexican meatball. Home made meatballs, fresh veggies. SALSA AND CHIPS: 4 STARS Salsa quite good, chips right on the money, and they will keep giving you more. I poured more salsa on my rice ENTREE ( COMBO # 9 AND COMBO # 6 ) 5 STARS The guac was freshly made too. AMBIENCE: 4.5 STARS Nice dim lighting inside....I look better that way......cute tables outside. SERVICE: 5 STARS Flawless. Very attentive without being haunting. Genuinely pleasant dispositions. VALUE: 5 STARS The combo was $11.95, it came with copious chips and salsa, enchillada / rice / refritos, AND the soup.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iowa Tourist
Business
Des Moines, IA
Feb 26, 2013

Perfect location

The Tangerine is in a great location, there are plenty of restaurants and sights within walking distance. The staff was friendly and the room was wonderfully clean. The pastries in the morning were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mo's is a wonderful restaurant that's a short walk from the hotel. They have good, filling food options at reasonable rates.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Star Maker
Business
Portland, Oregon
Feb 8, 2013

Really a Motel

Location was perfect: Free parking with lots of good restaurants nearby and close to the studios, but...No desk or desk lamp; No 'easy' chair to watch TV; No business center; No gym; No bar; No elevator; Paper cups for water and coffee. Room was fairly Spartan, but the staff was very kind and helpful. It's fine for a quick business trip, but not really a 'Hotel'

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel provides a good list of nearby restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken in Colorado
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Feb 7, 2013

Highly Recommend the Tangerine!

What a pleasant surprise! Very nice accommodations in a very quiet, clean little neighborhood. Lots of great restaurants within very short walking distance. Warner Bros. Studios about a 5-7 minute walk through a very clean, apparently safe area (be sure to look into the VIP tour!!!). Easy access over the hill to LA, Hollywood and Beverly Hills by car (15 minutes). The Tangerine was Awesome! Clean, very friendly, helpful staff. Would stay there for sure on our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants and Warner Bros. Studios

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eat and Run
Business
Midwest US
Jan 20, 2013

Tangerine - sweet and seedless!

I love the Tangerine. From the outside it looks like a retro "no-tell motel," but the rooms are very well appointed - comfortable and clean. What really kicks the Tangerine over the top are the amenities - free wifi, free parking, the 24-hour coffee/cappuccino machine, and (be still my heart) the morning pastries from Porto's bakery. This makes the already-fair price a real bargain. Every staff member I've encountered at the Tangerine has been more than polite - they've been warm and welcoming. On just my second visit - having booked my stay through different sites each time - I was recognized as a returning guest. I watched the front desk staff go out of its way several times to help guests with issues, whether with their room or navigating Burbank/LA. The location is great for anyone doing business in the Valley. As a runner, I appreciate the challenge of the nearby hill up Barham, and it's only a short drive to the challenging trails of Griffith Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ghindi Thai, just a two block walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teamkittenz
Business
NYC
Dec 25, 2012

Cozy and unique, a home in LA

I had an amazing stay at Tangerine Hotel! I was initially worried about the location, but everything was 15min driving distance away and it's located right next to the highway! It was so nice coming home to my clean spacious room - comfortable bed, great flat screen TV, and clean shower. Staff is friendly and helpful in recommending "must see" places around town. The free parking was a huge plus. Next time I'm in LA, definitely coming back here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eat and Run
Business
Midwest US
Nov 10, 2012

Funky fresh!

Clearly, this place was once the kind of hotel one books by the hour, remade by someone with a great sense of style on a budget. The "Nickelodeon Orange" decor (splashed at the foot of Disney Channel's Burbank HQ!) is inviting and fun. The staff behind the front desk is wonderfully welcoming, and good for recommendations in the neighborhood. Best amenity - the daily pastries from my favorite Burbank bakery, Porto's. The rooms are not fancy, but quite comfortable and well appointed, and free wifi always makes me happy. Front parking lot is tiny; back parking lot can fill up overnight. But free parking in LA is a rarity and a treasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Porto's bakery - cuban sandwich!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PR Boss
Business
New Haven, CT, USA
Sep 6, 2012

Just Right

Great location and very friendly and helpful staff. Walking distance to good restaurants and convenient to everything. Overall a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Convenient to Burbank airport and Emerson student apartments.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fresno grandma
Business
fresno,ca
Jul 14, 2012

universal studios trip

clean. soft plush towels. very comfortable beds. excellent mexican restaurant next door. pastry and hot beverages in morning. heated pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at the Mexican restaurant next door. great food. low prices. custumer service beyond excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top