$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Tangerine Hotel

3 stars
3901 Riverside Drive, Burbank, CA 91505
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
81 reviews
Great hotel in the heart of the movie industry

The Tangerine Hotel is in a great location. One of the best Mexican restaurants in town is right... See full review

  • Zzanne
  • May 15, 2014
Not "luxurious," but so comfortable and friendly!

Don't go to this hotel expecting deep pile carpets and fancy furniture. The floors are bare... See full review

  • Eat and Run
  • Feb 22, 2014
Tangerine is a new boutique hotel offering its guests an eclectic and colorful backdrop that promises to enhance their visit to Los Angeles, Burbank and Hollywood. Our thoughtfully appointed rooms are a fresh reinterpretation of the classic motel room; although contemporary and minimalist in design, we have treated them as individual canvases where bold strokes of color and imagery have been used to create thirty whimsical and exciting spaces with distinct personalities. And, although no two rooms are like, they all are equally appointed with all the modern amenities expected by our guests, including LCD TVs, iPod audio and video docking stations, complimentary DSL, in-room coffee/tea, and bathrooms highlighted by concrete floors, caesarstone countertops and Grohe fixtures. Elements of glass, concrete, metal, and cedar wood envelop a sun soaked patio area ideal for swimming and relaxing. Located at the epicenter of all things media, Tangerine is within walking distance of Warner Brothers Studios and within minutes of Universal Studios, Walt Disney Studios, Dreamworks Animation and Hollywood and the Sunset Strip. Our location is further enhanced by proximity to a large and diverse selection of restaurants, coffee houses and bars within walking distance. For the value-conscious business or leisure traveler searching for an independent alternative with an undefinable flair, Tangerine has a room waiting for you.

Tangerine Hotel Rooms

3_STAR - KING
King Bed with Duvet, 32 inch LCD TV, iPod A/V docking station, free DSL, refrigerator, in-room coffee/tea
3_STAR - QUEEN
Queen Bed with Duvet, 32-inch LCD TV, iPod A/V docking station, free DSL, refrigerator, in-room coffee/tea
3_STAR - DOUBLE
Two Queen Beds with Duvet, 32-inch LCD TV, iPod A/V docking station, free DSL, refrigerator, in-room coffee/tea

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tangerine Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.1523 -118.3419
Area served
Burbank, Universal City, Universal Studios, Hollywood, Los Angeles, Toluca Lake, Glendale, North Hollywood, Studio City,
Nearby airports
We are located three miles from the Burbank Airport and 27 miles from LAX.
Area description
We are located in the heart of the Burbank Media District. We are within walking distance of Warner Brother Studios and within minutes of Walt Disney Studios, ABC Studios, Dreamworks Animation and Hollywood and the Sunset Strip. Our location is further enhanced by our proximity to a large and diverse selection of restaurants, bars and coffee houses within walking distance.

Dining

Arnie Morton's Steakhouse (off-site)
Steakhouse (off-site)
Don Cuco's Mexican Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant (off-site)
McCormick & Schmicks
Seafood Restaurant (off-site)
Gindi Thai
Thai Restaurant (off-site)
Bistro Provence
French Restaurant(off-site)
Prosecco
Italian Restaurant (off-site)
Sushi Yuzu
Japanese Restaurant (off-site)
Bob's Big Boy
Coffee House (off-site)
Lucy's 51
Bar and Lounge (off-site)
Tmmy Nolan's Tavern
Irish Pub (off-site)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Tangerine Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eat and Run
Business
Midwest US
Jan 20, 2013

Tangerine - sweet and seedless!

I love the Tangerine. From the outside it looks like a retro "no-tell motel," but the rooms are very well appointed - comfortable and clean. What really kicks the Tangerine over the top are the amenities - free wifi, free parking, the 24-hour coffee/cappuccino machine, and (be still my heart) the morning pastries from Porto's bakery. This makes the already-fair price a real bargain. Every staff member I've encountered at the Tangerine has been more than polite - they've been warm and welcoming. On just my second visit - having booked my stay through different sites each time - I was recognized as a returning guest. I watched the front desk staff go out of its way several times to help guests with issues, whether with their room or navigating Burbank/LA. The location is great for anyone doing business in the Valley. As a runner, I appreciate the challenge of the nearby hill up Barham, and it's only a short drive to the challenging trails of Griffith Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ghindi Thai, just a two block walk.

Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teamkittenz
NYC
Dec 25, 2012

Cozy and unique, a home in LA

I had an amazing stay at Tangerine Hotel! I was initially worried about the location, but everything was 15min driving distance away and it's located right next to the highway! It was so nice coming home to my clean spacious room - comfortable bed, great flat screen TV, and clean shower. Staff is friendly and helpful in recommending "must see" places around town. The free parking was a huge plus. Next time I'm in LA, definitely coming back here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eat and Run
Midwest US
Nov 10, 2012

Funky fresh!

Clearly, this place was once the kind of hotel one books by the hour, remade by someone with a great sense of style on a budget. The "Nickelodeon Orange" decor (splashed at the foot of Disney Channel's Burbank HQ!) is inviting and fun. The staff behind the front desk is wonderfully welcoming, and good for recommendations in the neighborhood. Best amenity - the daily pastries from my favorite Burbank bakery, Porto's. The rooms are not fancy, but quite comfortable and well appointed, and free wifi always makes me happy. Front parking lot is tiny; back parking lot can fill up overnight. But free parking in LA is a rarity and a treasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Porto's bakery - cuban sandwich!

Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PR Boss
New Haven, CT, USA
Sep 6, 2012

Just Right

Great location and very friendly and helpful staff. Walking distance to good restaurants and convenient to everything. Overall a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Convenient to Burbank airport and Emerson student apartments.

Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fresno grandma
fresno,ca
Jul 14, 2012

universal studios trip

clean. soft plush towels. very comfortable beds. excellent mexican restaurant next door. pastry and hot beverages in morning. heated pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at the Mexican restaurant next door. great food. low prices. custumer service beyond excellent.

Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pumper
California
Jun 4, 2012

Great Little Place

It's in a great location for Hollywood, the Getty, and Universal. Free internet and parking too. The room was clean and comfortable. Several places to eat within walking distance including a nostalgic Bob's Big Boy, Mexican, Thai, Italian.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal, Hollywood Bowl.

Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AZ tripper
Arizona!
May 30, 2012

Way overpriced

I've stayed at the Holiday Lodge often since 1990 and always felt comfortable. Now with the orange, grey, and lime paint job, it feels cold and industrial. The rooms are bare, all the nice landscaping is gone too. Still it is quiet, convenient and a nice neighborhood with plenty of dining options. The morning continental breakfast pastries were no better than what you get at a mini-mart and no fresh fruit or any other food. I would not complain if this was a $70 motel but it is almost double that. Only basic channels on the TV even though an inaccurate list of channels was provided. Wifi slow too. It offers nothing better than the Travelodge nearby. Sad to see the change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Chinese take out up on Great Wok at 521 Hollywood Way just a minute or two away with great prices.

Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DD's mom
Northeastern Ohio
May 30, 2012

Was a great home when we got in every night!!

It was very clean, bright, and exactly as described on the website. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff was honest and also paid attention to our personal needs. There was a small but nice pool area, lovely pastries in the mornings (which I now miss), and I loved seeing the Warner Bros. tower from the hotel. There were also great and affordable restaurants less than a block away.There was also a grocery store and freeway access nearby. I loved this area because it felt safe yet was easy and pretty quick to get everywhere - Warner Brothers, Universal/City Walk, The Grove, Holocaust Museum, actual city of L.A., Beverly Hills, Rodeo Drive, Hollywood, SEVERAL beaches, UCLA, etc. - all places we went! We had a wonderful trip and would stay @ the Tangerine again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try to plan where you're going and what type of parking they have. Rodeo drive offers free 2-hour parking in their garage and also @ the meters until noon on Sundays. Have plenty of change for the older meters, and the newer ones take credit cards, so that's cool. After a couple days, I was just forking over $15 to just pay for lot parking sometimes for less of a headache lol. AND Manhattan Beach is by far the nicest beach in southern Cal. if you can find parking.

Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Randy and Cherri
Visalia ca
May 20, 2012

Great value comfortable and clean

My wife and I stayed 1 night and were very pleased with this hotel. Nice area,very clean , easy freeway access and a great Mexican bar and grill next door. Great coffee machine with nice pasteries in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Tangerine Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacey07w
Omaha, NE, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Charming little hotel

Every cute and clean hotel. Was really impressed by how clean the room and premises was. The staff was really friendly. The bed was not that comfortable. But a great place to stay for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive over to hollywood and eat at 25 degrees. The best hamburgers ever

Back to menu Return to top