$132 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Safari Inn

3 stars
View map of 1911 W. Olive Ave., Burbank, CA 91506

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
149 reviews
Cool experience

Beatiful, very clean, excellent location. I loved rooms deco. See full review

  • Iceland Tr
  • Apr 18, 2014
Great Quiet location close to all the attractions

Hotel was clean and neat. Rooms were a little on the small side, but were enough since we were only... See full review

  • Chris K.
  • Jul 10, 2015

With a colorfully vibrant retro design, the boutique Safari Inn evokes vintage Southern California charm. The hotel is remarkably close to Disney, Universal, Warner Bros. and NBC studios and is within convenient driving distance from all major business and leisure destinations in L.A. The hotel's complimentary Internet access, fitness center, outdoor pool and shuttle service to and from the Bob Hope Airport along with its in-house bistro will satisfy guests in between leisure excursions. Free parking and a pet-friendly policy make it a great choice.

Rooms

Each of the Safari Inn's 55 brightly decorated, colorful guest rooms come with a king bed or two double beds. Guests enjoy complimentary Internet access and Premium Television Channels. Oversize work desks perfectly suit the needs of business travelers, and the hotel's pet-friendly policy allows for up to two pets per room with a per-stay fee and a refundable deposit. Superior Suites offer extra living space and a separate bedroom.

Property features

With its close proximity to many of L.A.'s major TV and film studios, the Safari Inn is ideal for entertainment-industry travelers as well as fun-seekers who want to stay within close driving distance of Universal Studios Theme Park, Griffith Park and other Hollywood sights and dining and shopping. An outdoor pool, fitness center and high-speed Internet access are all complimentary, and guests can also enjoy the welcoming atmosphere, appetizing bistro fare and delightful martinis at the in-house Olive's Bistro & Lounge.

Highlights
  • Close to major film and television studios, including Warner Bros., Disney, Universal and NBC
  • Free parking
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet in all guest rooms
Nearby attractions
  • Media Center Mall (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (3 mi/4 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (5 mi/7 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theater & Hollywood Walk of Fame (6 mi/9 km)
  • J. Paul Getty Museum (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Beach & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/25 km)
  • Six Flags Magic Mountain (25 mi/38 km)
Business
  • 500-square-foot meeting facility
Transportation
  • Complimentary shuttle to/from Bob Hope Airport
  • Bob Hope Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/27 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Safari Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Safari Inn Rooms

Standard
Large room with two double beds or one king bed. Amenities include: Large desk with data port and voice mail, Cable television, Premium Television Channels, Iron and ironing board Complimentary in-room coffee and tea service, Mini refrigerators, Complimentary high-speed wireless, Internet, Hair dryer, Complimentary local calls, please contact the hotel directly for Accessible/ADA rooms. Bedding type not guaranteed, based on availability.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators

Dining

Olive's Bistro & Lounge
Grabbing a bite at Olive's Bistro & Lounge, located at our sister-property, The Coast Anabelle Hotel, may be what you are in the mood for. This eatery boasts a unique menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a warm cafe setting. Whatever you're looking for, it's all here for you to discover. Don't forget to try one of our famous martinis. Olive's Bistro & Lounge, available daily from 6 AM to 10PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Safari Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 149
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura L.
Business
N/A
Jul 1, 2015

Dear Friends Visit

Both my friend and I grew up in Burbank. I had never stayed there. When we were meeting up for a few days, he suggested we stay there for nostalgia reasons. I LOVED it. Close to everything we were doing. Clean room and we were completely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Otacon
Business
Burbank, CA
Jun 16, 2014

Safari Inn

Room size above average with a refrigerator. Price a bit much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rnpd
Business
Newark, California
Apr 3, 2013

Burbank weekend

I wish they cleaned up the bathroom a bit better, saw some mold in the corners and the wallpaper was starting to peel. Beds were comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canton, OH
May 25, 2011

Nice place to stay

Great place to stay if you are going to the Ellen Show, as we were. The room was fine, parking was great and free (which is good for this area). Wireless service was slow most of the time. Not alot of activities in the immediate area except for Warner Brothers, which is where the Ellen show was. You can easily get to other attractions by car or bus from here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Olive Restaurant next door was very good.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
May 13, 2011

We had fun.

We loved the pool and there are some chill bars in the area. Right near the airport and we got a free shuttle to the hotel! It was easy to get where we needed to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PHTV
Business
Colorado
Mar 8, 2010

LA with students

After reserving (based on [...] feedback responses) we were pleased that all the positive comments were accurate. Rooms were adequate for our needs (an overnight stop-over) and we liked the ease of access to major freeways and attractions. Well worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Burbank is just down the road and has PLENTY to keep you busy.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Delaware
Feb 13, 2010

The perfect hotel

the hotel is perfect to staying couple days at the La Jolla resert. the room was clean and very quite. the service was very good, they are ready to help with any problem. Also, the hotel located 7 min. from the ocean. I was completely satisfied and will come back at the same hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a lot of restaurants located just 5 min away on the broadwalk

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 20, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Safari Inn is a quiet and restful place with a nice spotless rooms. Swimming pool is kind of small but it's unbeatable location for the price paid though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal Studios and Hollywood are really close to the hotel what was a main reason this plase was chosen. It was a very right pick.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Oct 12, 2009

Good Hotel

We booked this hotel last minute because of going to Universal Studio's Halloween Horror Nights. We arrived hotel, which was pretty easy to find, and thought it was a little sketchy looking on the outside. The receptionist didnt seem to be that thrilled and didnt smile (both when we checked in and checked out). The rooms were super roomy, and very well done. Alot of channels to chose from while other hotels dont give you the choice. The biggest thing I found to be bad, was not enough parking. If the parking lot was full, you had to either park on the main street or at the hotel right by them. Overall, it was a good stay with the beds being comfy and easy to fall asleep too after a long night of walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

It was very easy to get to Universal Studios. You dont even have to get on the Freeway to get there. A simple 9 minute drive.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern CA
May 22, 2009

Great location, good value

The Safari Inn location was perfect for our plans in L.A. Walking distance to a good-value cafe, pharmacy, and close proximity to the main highways. The front-desk staff was VERY good. From doing online flight check-in / boarding pass to reserving taxis, selling stamps and mailing postcards. One negative for me was the first night was noisy ... thin walls / not real sound proof and a very "active" couple either above or next door to me (ugh).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tallyrand cafe for breakfast or lunch. Good food at a good price.

Back to menu Return to top