$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 14, 2015 Check-out: Mar 15, 2015

Safari Inn

3 stars
View map of 1911 W. Olive Ave., Burbank, CA 91506

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
159 reviews
Cool experience

Beatiful, very clean, excellent location. I loved rooms deco. See full review

  • Iceland Tr
  • Apr 18, 2014
good value

Good value for the money, and close to everything. How excited can you get with any accommodations... See full review

  • Writer Ted
  • Jan 27, 2014
Boutique charmer with retro-Southern California style, close to studios

With a colorfully vibrant retro design, the boutique Safari Inn evokes vintage Southern California charm. The hotel is remarkably close to Disney, Universal, Warner Bros. and NBC studios and is within convenient driving distance from all major business and leisure destinations in L.A. The hotel's complimentary Internet access, fitness center, outdoor pool and shuttle service to and from the Bob Hope Airport along with its in-house bistro will satisfy guests in between leisure excursions. Free parking and a pet-friendly policy make it a great choice.

Highlights
  • Close to major film and television studios, including Warner Bros., Disney, Universal and NBC
  • Free parking
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet in all guest rooms
Rooms

Each of the Safari Inn's 55 brightly decorated, colorful guest rooms come with a king bed or two double beds. Guests enjoy complimentary Internet access and Premium Television Channels. Oversize work desks perfectly suit the needs of business travelers, and the hotel's pet-friendly policy allows for up to two pets per room with a per-stay fee and a refundable deposit. Superior Suites offer extra living space and a separate bedroom.

Features

With its close proximity to many of L.A.'s major TV and film studios, the Safari Inn is ideal for entertainment-industry travelers as well as fun-seekers who want to stay within close driving distance of Universal Studios Theme Park, Griffith Park and other Hollywood sights and dining and shopping. An outdoor pool, fitness center and high-speed Internet access are all complimentary, and guests can also enjoy the welcoming atmosphere, appetizing bistro fare and delightful martinis at the in-house Olive's Bistro & Lounge.

Transportation
  • Complimentary shuttle to/from Bob Hope Airport
  • Bob Hope Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/27 km)
Attractions
  • Media Center Mall (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (3 mi/4 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (5 mi/7 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theater & Hollywood Walk of Fame (6 mi/9 km)
  • J. Paul Getty Museum (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Beach & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/25 km)
  • Six Flags Magic Mountain (25 mi/38 km)
Business
  • 500-square-foot meeting facility

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Safari Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Safari Inn Rooms

Standard
Large room with two double beds or one king bed. Amenities include: Large desk with data port and voice mail, Cable television with in-room movies, Premium Television Channels, Iron and ironing board Complimentary in-room coffee and tea service, Mini refrigerators, Complimentary high-speed wireless, Internet, Hair dryer, Complimentary local calls, please contact the hotel directly for Accessible/ADA rooms. Bedding type not guaranteed, based on availability.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Brailled elevators

Dining

Olive's Bistro & Lounge
Grabbing a bite at Olive's Bistro & Lounge, maybe what you are in the mood for. This eatery boasts a unique menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a warm cafe setting. Whatever you're looking for, it's all here for you to discover. Don't forget to try one of our famous martinis. Olive's Bistro & Lounge, available daily from 6 AM to 10PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Safari Inn offers an elegantly appointed meeting room that can accommodate up to 35 guests. This versatile 500 square foot room features two large picture windows allowing for natural light when desired. Book this beautiful space for professional business meetings or private luncheons and receptions. Catering for meetings and events is provided by Olive's Bistro and Lounge

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for Safari Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Haven,CT
Jul 29, 2010

Close To Burbank Airport

Good value, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Burbank airport is only 10 minutes away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Archer47
Business
Bremerton, Washington
Sep 29, 2009

An OK Place To Stay

Was in California for my son's wedding. Wedding was great, the room was ok. Rather small for 3 adults. The Breakfast Bar consisted of some toast, small bagels, juice and coffee. The staff was very nice and the rooms clean. Parking lot was small and one evening we had no place to park. A good place to stay for the money, but I would not rate it four stars, 3.5 at the most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The adjacent hotel had a nice diner that served good food and had room service to our motel. Other decent places to eat were within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sometimes In LA
Business
Yosemite, CA
Jun 30, 2009

Safari Inn, can be a nice stay

I chose Safari Inn because I had a previous pleasant stay. Although they did not have a clue that I had an Orbitz reservation (was this Orbitz fault? Hmmm...), after making us wait for 45 minutes they contacted Orbit and learned that I did indeed have a valid reservation. Safari Inn made it up to us by giving us the best room in the establishment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the tonight show with Conan O'Brien

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelKathryn
Business
San Francisco Bay Areea
Jul 6, 2009

I wouldn't stay here again

They gave me a first floor room and I could hear the footsteps upstairs constantly. It even woke me up early in the morning. Even their conversations came through. The complimentary breakfast was worthless. Terrible coffee with fake powdered cream and puffy little flavorless muffins. There is a restaurant across the street as well as a McDonald's and doughnut shop a couple of doors away. I had a lot of internet work to do and was pulling out my hair over the slowness and occasional loss of connection. Having the pool was great during the hot weather. There was always a parking space. If you have a particular schedule and would like the cleaning crew to come in while you are out, it's best to make the arrangement. When I returned at 1pm and needed to start getting ready for the wedding, they hadn't cleaned my room yet, and I had to sit in the office and wait a half hour before I could start my shower. They furnish shampoo but no conditioner. There is a drug store a few doors away where you can buy some. They don't furnish bottled water and the Burbank water has a chemical taste, but there is that drug store and it also sells bottled water. The location is walking distance to quite a few things. If I recommended it to a friend, I would be sure they knew to get a second floor room and didn't even take the time to look at that breakfast. Oh, and I'd warn them about the internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland OR
Oct 28, 2010

Great location

Cool funky hotel. The rooms could use some updating. Very helpful staff and the location was fantastic. I was expecting a little more because of the ownership. They have some great properties and it felt like this one is getting over looked a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Hollywood and all the studio tours you want to do.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. George, Utah
Dec 11, 2010

Decent Place

Decent hotel for the price. However, very slow in cleaning the rooms. I was gone for 7 hours one day, came back and had to ask that the room be cleaned. Stayed for 6 nights and the room was never cleaned before 3 o'clock in the afternoon. Other than that, the room was clean, the linens appeared to be new and I loved having the two sinks. I stay here each time I come to Burbank. Very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

New Burlington Coat Factory at the Burbank Media Center was a very nice store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Nov 5, 2010

Decent Inn

A decent motel for the price. I usually stay here while in the Los Angeles area. However, this time my room didn't get cleaned until after 3:30p (I was gone from 8:30a until 3:00p) and I had to clean the TV screen since it was so dusty it was distorted the images.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The mall at the Burbank Media Center is a very good place to shop. Macy's is extremely nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. George, Utah
May 6, 2010

Great Location and Food Choices

Good value for the price. My only objections are a smoker stood outside my room and talked on his cell phone both day and night. Had to park too far from my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

P F Chang's is not to be missed - - at the Burbank Media Center shopping district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joels Mom
Business
Vacaville
Jul 18, 2009

The bad and the better

I got this hotel from Orbitz because the first hotel-- Roadway Inn was a dump they had nothing that they said they had. The safari was ok. The service from Orbitz was outstanding! They got my credit with Roadway and rooms at Safari, they were very understanding and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Made to Travel
Business
Lafayette, LA
Jul 19, 2011

Friendly staff, good location

Hotel had everything we needed including a mini fridge in the room. Location had quick and easy access to freeways. CVS Pharmacy around the corner; grocery store 3 block walking distance. Restaurants close by. Staff friendly and helpful. Universal City just miles away. Parking tight but never had a problem. Would stay here again and would recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top