$142 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Safari Inn

3 stars
1911 W. Olive Ave., Burbank, CA 91506
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
266 reviews
Cool experience

Beatiful, very clean, excellent location. I loved rooms deco. See full review

  • Iceland Tr
  • Apr 18, 2014
good value

Good value for the money, and close to everything. How excited can you get with any accommodations... See full review

  • Writer Ted
  • Jan 27, 2014
Boutique charmer with retro-Southern California style, close to studios

With a colorfully vibrant retro design, the boutique Safari Inn evokes vintage Southern California charm. The hotel is remarkably close to Disney, Universal, Warner Bros. and NBC studios and is within convenient driving distance from all major business and leisure destinations in L.A. The hotel's complimentary Internet access, fitness center, outdoor pool and shuttle service to and from the Bob Hope Airport along with its in-house bistro will satisfy guests in between leisure excursions. Free parking and a pet-friendly policy make it a great choice.

Highlights
  • Close to major film and television studios, including Warner Bros., Disney, Universal and NBC
  • Free parking
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet in all guest rooms
Rooms

Each of the Safari Inn's 55 brightly decorated, colorful guest rooms come with a king bed or two double beds. Guests enjoy complimentary Internet access and Premium Television Channels. Oversize work desks perfectly suit the needs of business travelers, and the hotel's pet-friendly policy allows for up to two pets per room with a per-stay fee and a refundable deposit. Superior Suites offer extra living space and a separate bedroom.

Features

With its close proximity to many of L.A.'s major TV and film studios, the Safari Inn is ideal for entertainment-industry travelers as well as fun-seekers who want to stay within close driving distance of Universal Studios Theme Park, Griffith Park and other Hollywood sights and dining and shopping. An outdoor pool, fitness center and high-speed Internet access are all complimentary, and guests can also enjoy the welcoming atmosphere, appetizing bistro fare and delightful martinis at the in-house Olive's Bistro & Lounge.

Transportation
  • Complimentary shuttle to/from Bob Hope Airport
  • Bob Hope Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/27 km)
Attractions
  • Media Center Mall (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (3 mi/4 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (5 mi/7 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theater & Hollywood Walk of Fame (6 mi/9 km)
  • J. Paul Getty Museum (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Beach & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/25 km)
  • Six Flags Magic Mountain (25 mi/38 km)
Business
  • 500-square-foot meeting facility

Safari Inn Rooms

Standard
Large room with two double beds or one king bed. Amenities include: Large desk with data port and voice mail, Cable television with in-room movies, Premium Television Channels, Iron and ironing board Complimentary in-room coffee and tea service, Mini refrigerators, Complimentary high-speed wireless, Internet, Hair dryer, Complimentary local calls, please contact the hotel directly for Accessible/ADA rooms. Bedding type not guaranteed, based on availability.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Safari Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.1657 -118.3252
Area served
Burbank, CA
Nearby airports
Burbank Airport, LAX- Los Angeles International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of the Burbank Media District, close to Disney Studios, Warner Brothers, NBC, and the Media Center Mall.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Safari Inn offers an elegantly appointed meeting room that can accommodate up to 35 guests. This versatile 500 square foot room features two large picture windows allowing for natural light when desired. Book this beautiful space for professional business meetings or private luncheons and receptions. Catering for meetings and events is provided by Olive's Bistro and Lounge

Dining

Olive's Bistro & Lounge
Grabbing a bite at Olive's Bistro & Lounge, maybe what you are in the mood for. This eatery boasts a unique menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a warm cafe setting. Whatever you're looking for, it's all here for you to discover. Don't forget to try one of our famous martinis. Olive's Bistro & Lounge, available daily from 6 AM to 10PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (266)

Ratings and reviews for Safari Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
266 out of 266
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sometimes In LA
Yosemite, CA
Jun 30, 2009

Safari Inn, can be a nice stay

I chose Safari Inn because I had a previous pleasant stay. Although they did not have a clue that I had an Orbitz reservation (was this Orbitz fault? Hmmm...), after making us wait for 45 minutes they contacted Orbit and learned that I did indeed have a valid reservation. Safari Inn made it up to us by giving us the best room in the establishment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the tonight show with Conan O'Brien

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Legal
SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Nov 3, 2009

Great vaule

I like how the staff worked so hard to get us discounted cupons for Universal Studios(which save us $70) Everything you need while traveling with your family is in a one mile ratio. There is a great Phillily cheese steak house about three blocks down from the hotel. Although we didn't have enough time to swim in the pool, it did look very nice. Parking was not a problem.You get plenty for your money. We plan to visit next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try The cheese steak House, 4 blocks from hotel

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rnpd
Newark, California
Apr 3, 2013

Burbank weekend

I wish they cleaned up the bathroom a bit better, saw some mold in the corners and the wallpaper was starting to peel. Beds were comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Utah
Nov 5, 2010

Decent Inn

A decent motel for the price. I usually stay here while in the Los Angeles area. However, this time my room didn't get cleaned until after 3:30p (I was gone from 8:30a until 3:00p) and I had to clean the TV screen since it was so dusty it was distorted the images.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The mall at the Burbank Media Center is a very good place to shop. Macy's is extremely nice.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. George, Utah
May 6, 2010

Great Location and Food Choices

Good value for the price. My only objections are a smoker stood outside my room and talked on his cell phone both day and night. Had to park too far from my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

P F Chang's is not to be missed - - at the Burbank Media Center shopping district.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Nov 3, 2009

Good deal

Booked hotel because of location near NBC studios - about a 15-20 minute walk. Warner Bros also down the block. Convenient to major highways and other attractions. Was told by desk clerk that I got a very good deal, almost half usual rate. Free parking and never had a problem finding a space. No on site restaurant but sister hotel is across street with small restaurant and bar. Quiet neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. George, Utah
Dec 11, 2010

Decent Place

Decent hotel for the price. However, very slow in cleaning the rooms. I was gone for 7 hours one day, came back and had to ask that the room be cleaned. Stayed for 6 nights and the room was never cleaned before 3 o'clock in the afternoon. Other than that, the room was clean, the linens appeared to be new and I loved having the two sinks. I stay here each time I come to Burbank. Very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

New Burlington Coat Factory at the Burbank Media Center was a very nice store.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Archer47
Bremerton, Washington
Sep 29, 2009

An OK Place To Stay

Was in California for my son's wedding. Wedding was great, the room was ok. Rather small for 3 adults. The Breakfast Bar consisted of some toast, small bagels, juice and coffee. The staff was very nice and the rooms clean. Parking lot was small and one evening we had no place to park. A good place to stay for the money, but I would not rate it four stars, 3.5 at the most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The adjacent hotel had a nice diner that served good food and had room service to our motel. Other decent places to eat were within walking distance.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burbank, CA
May 22, 2011

Fundamental amenities great

Excellent for a no-luxury motel. Safari Inn has everything a traveler actually NEEDs. It's wonderful. You get your money's worth, and you don't waste money on frills when you're merely sleeping in the hotel room. It's clean. Staff is professional. Bed is comfortable. Comes with fridge and coffee maker. Good shower. Outdoor pool. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use ORBITZ to book room, and save money.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Legal
SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Nov 3, 2009

Great vaule

I like how the staff worked so hard to get us discounted cupons for Universal Studios(which save us $70) Everything you need while traveling with your family is in a one mile ratio. There is a great Phillily cheese steak house about three blocks down from the hotel. Although we didn't have enough time to swim in the pool, it did look very nice. Parking was not a problem.You get plenty for your money. We plan to visit next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try The cheese steak House, 4 blocks from hotel

Back to menu Return to top