$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Safari Inn

3 stars
View map of 1911 W. Olive Ave., Burbank, CA 91506

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Safari Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gma Jae
Business
Camarillo
Oct 16, 2012

Not great for non-smokers

Loved the location, the retro feel and the terrace above the pool. I booked a king bed or 2 doubles, thinking I was being given a choice, but not so. I was told there were only 2 doubles when I arrived. Disappointing birthday trip, not so intimate with my husband sleeping in another bed!! We made do and really loved the close proximity to universal city walk. The biggest downfall and the reason we won't go back is the venting system must all be connected because we were choking from the constant cigarette smoke smell that flooded the room. It was so bad that all the clothes that we didn't wear have to be washed because everything smells like an ashtray. So, if you don't smoke, beware...you will smell like you do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
confuseded
Business
Fresno California
Mar 30, 2013

not worth $150. a night

older hotel, cleanbut smells like an old hotel. Not worth $150. a night, I've stayed in nice hotels and I have stayed in dumps too. under $100 would be a fair price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

10 minute drive to universal studios or hollywood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Linda Chinese Lady
Business
Central Cali
May 26, 2014

emergency visit

Come to Burbank often. Usually stay at the Marriott but it was booked. Passed the Safari several times and thought we'd try it. Noisy and front door isn't sealed. Air conditioner rattled all night. No help from the front desk. Back to the Marriott for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 17, 2008

great location

The location was great and the room was very comfortable except that the towels felt like sandpaper. When you used up something they did not replenish. Other than that I would stay again. The restaurant next door was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good food next door and close to shopping and all the studios and freeways.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 15, 2007

Glorified Motel

The Safari Inn was not what we expected. We expected a 2-story hotel but what it was was a glorified Motel. Although the rooms were a bit larger in size and nicely renovated, some of the rooms had a strong smell of cigar which the maintenance people were quick to correct. One big advantage was their location. It was a nice short drive to NBC and Universal Studios. Although I will never book there again, I may be tempted to stay in their sister hotel next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

1. You can order in from their sister hotel next door.Their food was excellent. 2. Its about 10-15 mins drive to Universal Studios. -

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelmania
Business
Colorado
Aug 1, 2010

hmmmf

Could have stayed someplace just as good for less. Good location, worked for what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
May 8, 2009

"Below Average Hotel"

The room had very bad smell in it and the hotel in general was not in very good condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KY
Aug 15, 2009

Not that great!!

We just used the motel for after the ballgame stay. It was too far from the ballgame and not real great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Desert, Ca.
Oct 31, 2009

Not that great

Stayed here because it was close to the hospital, which unforunately we had to visit a family member. It was very noisy at night due to the traffic on Olive which is a busy street. The toilet seats need to be replaced were worn out. Don't think we will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of places to eat nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sweet Home Chicago
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Sep 18, 2014

Not as nice as I had hoped.

Very old fashioned "motel." Funky. Old bedding. Odd room. Won't likely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top