$121 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Safari Inn

3 stars
1911 W. Olive Ave., Burbank, CA 91506
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
266 reviews
Cool experience

Beatiful, very clean, excellent location. I loved rooms deco. See full review

  • Iceland Tr
  • Apr 18, 2014
good value

Good value for the money, and close to everything. How excited can you get with any accommodations... See full review

  • Writer Ted
  • Jan 27, 2014
Boutique charmer with retro-Southern California style, close to studios

With a colorfully vibrant retro design, the boutique Safari Inn evokes vintage Southern California charm. The hotel is remarkably close to Disney, Universal, Warner Bros. and NBC studios and is within convenient driving distance from all major business and leisure destinations in L.A. The hotel's complimentary Internet access, fitness center, outdoor pool and shuttle service to and from the Bob Hope Airport along with its in-house bistro will satisfy guests in between leisure excursions. Free parking and a pet-friendly policy make it a great choice.

Highlights
  • Close to major film and television studios, including Warner Bros., Disney, Universal and NBC
  • Free parking
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet in all guest rooms
Rooms

Each of the Safari Inn's 55 brightly decorated, colorful guest rooms come with a king bed or two double beds. Guests enjoy complimentary Internet access and Premium Television Channels. Oversize work desks perfectly suit the needs of business travelers, and the hotel's pet-friendly policy allows for up to two pets per room with a per-stay fee and a refundable deposit. Superior Suites offer extra living space and a separate bedroom.

Features

With its close proximity to many of L.A.'s major TV and film studios, the Safari Inn is ideal for entertainment-industry travelers as well as fun-seekers who want to stay within close driving distance of Universal Studios Theme Park, Griffith Park and other Hollywood sights and dining and shopping. An outdoor pool, fitness center and high-speed Internet access are all complimentary, and guests can also enjoy the welcoming atmosphere, appetizing bistro fare and delightful martinis at the in-house Olive's Bistro & Lounge.

Transportation
  • Complimentary shuttle to/from Bob Hope Airport
  • Bob Hope Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/27 km)
Attractions
  • Media Center Mall (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (3 mi/4 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (5 mi/7 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theater & Hollywood Walk of Fame (6 mi/9 km)
  • J. Paul Getty Museum (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Beach & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/25 km)
  • Six Flags Magic Mountain (25 mi/38 km)
Business
  • 500-square-foot meeting facility

Safari Inn Rooms

Standard
Large room with two double beds or one king bed. Amenities include: Large desk with data port and voice mail, Cable television with in-room movies, Premium Television Channels, Iron and ironing board Complimentary in-room coffee and tea service, Mini refrigerators, Complimentary high-speed wireless, Internet, Hair dryer, Complimentary local calls, please contact the hotel directly for Accessible/ADA rooms. Bedding type not guaranteed, based on availability.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Safari Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.1657 -118.3252
Area served
Burbank, CA
Nearby airports
Burbank Airport, LAX- Los Angeles International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of the Burbank Media District, close to Disney Studios, Warner Brothers, NBC, and the Media Center Mall.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Safari Inn offers an elegantly appointed meeting room that can accommodate up to 35 guests. This versatile 500 square foot room features two large picture windows allowing for natural light when desired. Book this beautiful space for professional business meetings or private luncheons and receptions. Catering for meetings and events is provided by Olive's Bistro and Lounge

Dining

Olive's Bistro & Lounge
Grabbing a bite at Olive's Bistro & Lounge, maybe what you are in the mood for. This eatery boasts a unique menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a warm cafe setting. Whatever you're looking for, it's all here for you to discover. Don't forget to try one of our famous martinis. Olive's Bistro & Lounge, available daily from 6 AM to 10PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (266)

Ratings and reviews for Safari Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
266 out of 266
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cool ek
Waipahu, HI
Dec 11, 2011

Low cost, low profile....perfect.

It was a very good experience. We did not encounter any problems such as loud neighbors or too much traffic. This is our second stay at this location and we will gladly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Burbank has a lot to offer....take your time to explore the immediate areas before heading to downtown LA. Nice during the Fall and early Winter seasons.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Irate pet owner
Danville. Ca
Aug 24, 2009

A very 'PET UNFRIENDLY" Hotel

After much searching we selected this location because it would allow our cat, who was traveling with us after a month at Tahoe. We were in town to attend a Golden wedding party..All this was discussed at the time of booking and we greed to pay an extra $25 for cleaning. Upon arrival we upgraded to a suite, which would also accommodate our granddaughter, who was with us. They seemed totally surprised when we mentioned our 9 yr old cat, who is very clean and travels with her sand box and bed. When my husband went back to the office after depositing our luggage in the suite, they presented us with an agreement that stated they would check the room several time a day and if the cat was alone, we would be charged . None of this was made clear or we would never have stayed there. How does one attend a part and b ring the cat? When we said we would find another location, they refused to refund our money saying it was too late and that was Orbitz's policy. I called and told someone there our problem and she said she would look into it and call me back. She did not. We stayed and had to take the cat across town to friends of our hosts. This was time consuming, inconvenient and very upsetting. If Orbitz new the policy and did not tell us, I blame you. If the Safari Inn has adopted new rules, they should NOT advertise as pet friendly. We have had the cat at the 4 Seasons every year of her life and paid their fee, but she has never damaged a thing. I can understand a large barking dog being a problem to other guests, but the Safari people would make no exception to their rule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, ca
Jan 11, 2011

Displeased

Wasn't able to stay do to some incorrect date being entered. I was very unhappy the [...]could not work something out with Safari Inn to either give me credit for another day or change my reservation to Sunday which was the date that it was suppose to before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
practical
Tennessee
Jul 16, 2012

if you want to know

Just a motel. The bed was old. If you have a back problem and need a good bed, this is NOT for you. The pillows were too big to be comfortable. We slept with no pillows the first night and have to borrow 2 pillows from our local friends - very ridiculous! Not sure if I will go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

2 miles to the Burbank Mall. McDonald and CVS next door.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Jan 1, 2010

Dump, dump, dump

[...]t the motel is old, run down, noisy and I didn't feel safe sleeping at night. Don't waste your $$.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los angeles
Jan 3, 2011

The worst expereince of the decade

In my lifetime, I've never been at a hotel that had more hidden charges and rude staff than this one. I wish I could make any following comments about the stay, becasue unfortunately I was denied service. Not becasue I was loud or unruly or that I was doing anything that warrant denial. I was denied service becasue I did not have an additional $100.00 in cash for a security deposit. Now I am very aware of incidentals. However if I don't pay the incidentals, then it makes sense to deny additional service, NOT the entire stay. Apparently they charge it to you in case you destroy the room. So I paid for the room and the hotel would not let me stay. What's even more insane is that they keep the money I paid for the hotel under their cancellation of room policy. I know that this review will not deter anyone form staying at this hotel, just be prepared to have the 100.00 to 198.00 to cover your deposit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los angeles
Jan 3, 2011

The worst expereince of the decade

In my lifetime, I've never been at a hotel that had more hidden charges and rude staff than this one. I wish I could make any following comments about the stay, becasue unfortunately I was denied service. Not becasue I was loud or unruly or that I was doing anything that warrant denial. I was denied service becasue I did not have an additional $100.00 in cash for a security deposit. Now I am very aware of incidentals. However if I don't pay the incidentals, then it makes sense to deny additional service, NOT the entire stay. Apparently they charge it to you in case you destroy the room. So I paid for the room and the hotel would not let me stay. What's even more insane is that they keep the money I paid for the hotel under their cancellation of room policy. I know that this review will not deter anyone form staying at this hotel, just be prepared to have the 100.00 to 198.00 to cover your deposit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Irate pet owner
Danville. Ca
Aug 24, 2009

A very 'PET UNFRIENDLY" Hotel

After much searching we selected this location because it would allow our cat, who was traveling with us after a month at Tahoe. We were in town to attend a Golden wedding party..All this was discussed at the time of booking and we greed to pay an extra $25 for cleaning. Upon arrival we upgraded to a suite, which would also accommodate our granddaughter, who was with us. They seemed totally surprised when we mentioned our 9 yr old cat, who is very clean and travels with her sand box and bed. When my husband went back to the office after depositing our luggage in the suite, they presented us with an agreement that stated they would check the room several time a day and if the cat was alone, we would be charged . None of this was made clear or we would never have stayed there. How does one attend a part and b ring the cat? When we said we would find another location, they refused to refund our money saying it was too late and that was Orbitz's policy. I called and told someone there our problem and she said she would look into it and call me back. She did not. We stayed and had to take the cat across town to friends of our hosts. This was time consuming, inconvenient and very upsetting. If Orbitz new the policy and did not tell us, I blame you. If the Safari Inn has adopted new rules, they should NOT advertise as pet friendly. We have had the cat at the 4 Seasons every year of her life and paid their fee, but she has never damaged a thing. I can understand a large barking dog being a problem to other guests, but the Safari people would make no exception to their rule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Jan 1, 2010

Dump, dump, dump

[...]t the motel is old, run down, noisy and I didn't feel safe sleeping at night. Don't waste your $$.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
May 27, 2010

My stay

Nothing special to comment on. The office staff was very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants, doughnut shop, & McDonalds close by.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ORBalloonr
Portland, OR, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Value not good

Bathroom was dirty and worn. Shower head had limited flow. Flooring was dirty, cracked, and caulking around tub was torn and pulling up. Towels were worn and threadbare. Carpeting was worn and needs updating. Bench and chair was stained and dirty. Other decor was dated. Beds were comfortable and seemed clean. I had requested a king size bed twice, calling before I traveled to location and earlier in the day once I arrived but before getting to the property. Although prepaid, they did not save me a room as they had agreed. Room was small and cramped with double beds. Price was high for this type of property. It is clear they are charging for the area versus the quality. Parking lot was cramped. Pictures of property are deceiving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A good family restaurant is down the street, maybe 2 blocks that has been in the area for 50 years. Good food, good value.

Back to menu Return to top