$133 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2015 Check-out: Sep 30, 2015

Safari Inn

3 stars
View map of 1911 W. Olive Ave., Burbank, CA 91506

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Safari Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patricia, the photographer
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 15, 2010

Pet friendly, bad cancellation policy

Safari Inn is a classic 50's hotel... great Burbank location .... however, the noise on the evening before we left was unbelievable. A semi truck parked (perhaps on the side street near our section of the hotel at 4:30 am and stayed there for about 30 mintues with very loud engine. It was horrid. Everyone whom I spoke to at the breakfast/coffee bar said the same thing. This should not be permitted in a residental/hotel location (period!). Cancellation policy: 2 days before move in date is $90 fee, and if you shorten the stay at all, they will not refund the difference if booked on [...]. Think carefully. We decided to stay the entire 5 days. Pleasant hotel... but!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
honolulu, HI
Mar 10, 2010

Good Value, Excellent Location

Excellent hotel for checking out the Burbank area, conveniently located next to a CVS and easy to get on the freeways. It was a little noisy the first night I was there since a sports team was staying there as well. All in all the staff was helpful, the room was comfortable and I would recommend this to anyone visiting the Burbank area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

The free breakfast consisted of toast, bagels, and what tasted like instant coffee so you're better off driving around for a solid meal.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PHTV
Friends
Colorado
Mar 8, 2010

LA with students

After reserving (based on [...] feedback responses) we were pleased that all the positive comments were accurate. Rooms were adequate for our needs (an overnight stop-over) and we liked the ease of access to major freeways and attractions. Well worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Burbank is just down the road and has PLENTY to keep you busy.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Composer
Business
Norwalk CT
Feb 26, 2010

Just right.

Charming, not at all corporate-generic feeling. Very pleasant staff. Clean, comfortable room. Microwave and laundry are available in the vending room, a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The amusingly-named Donut Prince, half a block away, has incredibly fresh and clearly house-made pastries. Theresa's, not much further, was a great brunch spot.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Sacramento, CA
Feb 23, 2010

Price & Amenities hard to beat anywhere.

This is our third visit...all just one night while doing business in Burbank or taking folks to LAX airport. We may come in 10-11pm but check in is easy and our room is ready.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mom of 20 somethings
Single
grand rapids michigan
Feb 19, 2010

Perfect Lodging

This was my first trip to LA. I was visiting my daughter and husband in nearby North Hollywood. I had a rental car. To go between their place and mine took 5 minutes, was very easy to navigate and I had minimal traffic. I also was happy that there was no additional charge for parking at Safari Inn. Overflow parking was available across the street at their sister hotel. I had to use this a few times, but it was still very, very close. The hotel attendants were able to provide printed directions for places I visited, such as the Getty Center and the Farmers Market. The continental breakfast was very minimal and ended at 9:00am. Given that the price was right, I did not mind so much, but not being a coffee drinker, I wanted some way to have or make tea. No hot water in the lobby or no microwave in room. Tea bags and a coffee maker were in the room, but if you're a tea drinker, you do not want to boil the water in a machine that is used to make coffee. The water will taste like coffee. This was a minor inconvenience and all things considered, my 4 night stay was relaxing, quiet and enjoyable. The room was good-sized. A CVC and McDonalds were within a block. I did not utilize the nicer restaurant (Olivers) next door, but was happy to know that there was a place like this close to my lodging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Delaware
Feb 13, 2010

The perfect hotel

the hotel is perfect to staying couple days at the La Jolla resert. the room was clean and very quite. the service was very good, they are ready to help with any problem. Also, the hotel located 7 min. from the ocean. I was completely satisfied and will come back at the same hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a lot of restaurants located just 5 min away on the broadwalk

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HollyHawaii
Couples
Baltimore
Feb 5, 2010

Love this hotel!

We highly recommend this classic motel! This motel is updated and perfectly clean. The location is close to everything but not a busy street, it was surprising quiet. They have a free parking lot. We asked for a king sized bed and got a huge room! The front desk was was extremely polite and helped us with maps and suggestions on dealing with L.A. traffic. Very inexpensive, too. They have a cool deck and small but very clean pool but it wasn't warm enough to use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Go to the garment district downtown for interesting and fun shopping.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Flagler Beach, Florida
Feb 2, 2010

Great place to stay

When we got there we were very tired having traveled from the East Coast. They had room service which was perfect for us. The room was very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Talk Show Chaser
Couples
Uxbridge, MA
Jan 23, 2010

Great Location--Very Good Price

We arrived at 10:30 AM, and we were allowed to check in immediately. This is almost unheard of. The staff was always very helpful. The front desk clerk printed out our boarding passes for free. We would definitely stay here again. There was a great restaurant at the sister hotel next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

My husband and I had tickets for The Ellen Show. This hotel was one and a half miles from the Warner Brothers Studio. We also went to The Jay Leno Show. NBC was even closer. If you don't want the traffic of downtown Los Angeles/Hollywood, but want to be close by, this hotel's location is perfect.

Back to menu Return to top