$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Safari Inn

3 stars
1911 W. Olive Ave., Burbank, CA 91506
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
159 reviews
Cool experience

Beatiful, very clean, excellent location. I loved rooms deco. See full review

  • Iceland Tr
  • Apr 18, 2014
good value

Good value for the money, and close to everything. How excited can you get with any accommodations... See full review

  • Writer Ted
  • Jan 27, 2014
Boutique charmer with retro-Southern California style, close to studios

With a colorfully vibrant retro design, the boutique Safari Inn evokes vintage Southern California charm. The hotel is remarkably close to Disney, Universal, Warner Bros. and NBC studios and is within convenient driving distance from all major business and leisure destinations in L.A. The hotel's complimentary Internet access, fitness center, outdoor pool and shuttle service to and from the Bob Hope Airport along with its in-house bistro will satisfy guests in between leisure excursions. Free parking and a pet-friendly policy make it a great choice.

Highlights
  • Close to major film and television studios, including Warner Bros., Disney, Universal and NBC
  • Free parking
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet in all guest rooms
Rooms

Each of the Safari Inn's 55 brightly decorated, colorful guest rooms come with a king bed or two double beds. Guests enjoy complimentary Internet access and Premium Television Channels. Oversize work desks perfectly suit the needs of business travelers, and the hotel's pet-friendly policy allows for up to two pets per room with a per-stay fee and a refundable deposit. Superior Suites offer extra living space and a separate bedroom.

Features

With its close proximity to many of L.A.'s major TV and film studios, the Safari Inn is ideal for entertainment-industry travelers as well as fun-seekers who want to stay within close driving distance of Universal Studios Theme Park, Griffith Park and other Hollywood sights and dining and shopping. An outdoor pool, fitness center and high-speed Internet access are all complimentary, and guests can also enjoy the welcoming atmosphere, appetizing bistro fare and delightful martinis at the in-house Olive's Bistro & Lounge.

Transportation
  • Complimentary shuttle to/from Bob Hope Airport
  • Bob Hope Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/27 km)
Attractions
  • Media Center Mall (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (3 mi/4 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (5 mi/7 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theater & Hollywood Walk of Fame (6 mi/9 km)
  • J. Paul Getty Museum (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Beach & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/25 km)
  • Six Flags Magic Mountain (25 mi/38 km)
Business
  • 500-square-foot meeting facility

Hotel Map

34.1657 -118.3252
Area served
Burbank, CA
Nearby airports
Burbank Airport, LAX- Los Angeles International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of the Burbank Media District, close to Disney Studios, Warner Brothers, NBC, and the Media Center Mall.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Safari Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Safari Inn Rooms

Standard
Large room with two double beds or one king bed. Amenities include: Large desk with data port and voice mail, Cable television with in-room movies, Premium Television Channels, Iron and ironing board Complimentary in-room coffee and tea service, Mini refrigerators, Complimentary high-speed wireless, Internet, Hair dryer, Complimentary local calls, please contact the hotel directly for Accessible/ADA rooms. Bedding type not guaranteed, based on availability.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Brailled elevators

Dining

Olive's Bistro & Lounge
Grabbing a bite at Olive's Bistro & Lounge, maybe what you are in the mood for. This eatery boasts a unique menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a warm cafe setting. Whatever you're looking for, it's all here for you to discover. Don't forget to try one of our famous martinis. Olive's Bistro & Lounge, available daily from 6 AM to 10PM.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Safari Inn offers an elegantly appointed meeting room that can accommodate up to 35 guests. This versatile 500 square foot room features two large picture windows allowing for natural light when desired. Book this beautiful space for professional business meetings or private luncheons and receptions. Catering for meetings and events is provided by Olive's Bistro and Lounge

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for Safari Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cool ek
Waipahu, HI
Dec 11, 2011

Low cost, low profile....perfect.

It was a very good experience. We did not encounter any problems such as loud neighbors or too much traffic. This is our second stay at this location and we will gladly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Burbank has a lot to offer....take your time to explore the immediate areas before heading to downtown LA. Nice during the Fall and early Winter seasons.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
howlnight7
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 2, 2012

As Good As I Expected

I had a great experience at Safari, the staff was courteous, the room was clean, and the location was perfect for getting anywhere pretty fast. Just down the street from the awesome karaoke bar Dimples and not too far from Hollywood or the beach. I had a great stay and would return there for my next visit!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Dimples karaoke bar right up the street on Olive!! Great city flavor and cheap drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kariannbear
Business
Cupertino, CA, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Just a room

All I needed was a room, and that's what the Safari Inn had. A room. Ripped sheets and all. The pillows were not fluffy, the beds were average (probably a few years old). But I wasn't in Burbank to hang out in my hotel. Overall, it was ok. I slept, so that says a lot. Customer service was decent. We actually were able to switch our room so we were right next door to our friend, so that was cool. Borderline. If you can get a decent price it's ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ORBalloonr
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Value not good

Bathroom was dirty and worn. Shower head had limited flow. Flooring was dirty, cracked, and caulking around tub was torn and pulling up. Towels were worn and threadbare. Carpeting was worn and needs updating. Bench and chair was stained and dirty. Other decor was dated. Beds were comfortable and seemed clean. I had requested a king size bed twice, calling before I traveled to location and earlier in the day once I arrived but before getting to the property. Although prepaid, they did not save me a room as they had agreed. Room was small and cramped with double beds. Price was high for this type of property. It is clear they are charging for the area versus the quality. Parking lot was cramped. Pictures of property are deceiving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A good family restaurant is down the street, maybe 2 blocks that has been in the area for 50 years. Good food, good value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PMS13
Business
Leominster, MA
Dec 28, 2011

Not happy!

We have stayed at this hotel many times and have loved it........ This time I found it run down. They discontinued the coffee and continental breakfast in the lobby each morning! Clock in room wasn't working and the maid never got to clean our room till close to 5:00 PM. There are more hotels to stay in, don't think I will be back to the Safari!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
delucyr
Business
Paradise California
Dec 14, 2011

Good location but sadly lacking in amenities

We have stayed at Safari for past 4-5 years, usually twice a year for several days each. It was obvious from the first that things have certainly changed, & not for the better. Their continental breakfast wasn't much to start with, but has been completely eliminated! The coffe provided in the room was almost undrinkable, so we treked to McD's for that boost. Also, room wasn't serviced until late afternoon & that's no fun to be stuck with unmade beds & wet towels. Housekeeping staff very nice & hardworking but obviously many fewer of them around. We will move on to another motel in the future. Too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the TallyRand restauraunt, very good food & breakfast specials are good. DonutKing & McD's just down the street if you need something to get you started.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cool ek
Business
Waipahu, HI
Dec 11, 2011

Low cost, low profile....perfect.

It was a very good experience. We did not encounter any problems such as loud neighbors or too much traffic. This is our second stay at this location and we will gladly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Burbank has a lot to offer....take your time to explore the immediate areas before heading to downtown LA. Nice during the Fall and early Winter seasons.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisalisa222
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Not lux, but reasonable and hip

Best parts: the sign, the location, the view of the hills, the deck above the pool on a summer night. As long as you're craving hip over standardized newness, this is the place. I'd stay again (though not with my mother).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scuba Guy
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Great Location for Film Industry Area

This Trip was for business and pleasure for me. Even though the hotel is pretty far from the beach it is a great location to be near Hollywood and all the major studios. Room was clean, lots of parking, and pool seemed kind of small. I showed up early and the guy at the counter double checked to see if a room was ready for me. It was and I checked in. GREAT place for the price and location. Plenty of places to eat and a mall near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Made to Travel
Business
Lafayette, LA
Jul 19, 2011

Friendly staff, good location

Hotel had everything we needed including a mini fridge in the room. Location had quick and easy access to freeways. CVS Pharmacy around the corner; grocery store 3 block walking distance. Restaurants close by. Staff friendly and helpful. Universal City just miles away. Parking tight but never had a problem. Would stay here again and would recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Proud mom of CA son
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 16, 2011

Clean & convenient

My husband and I went to LA to visit our son in Burbank, so this was a very convenient location at a very reasonable price. We stayed here before a couple of years ago, and except for one night when there was a very loud party above us, we were happy with the hotel. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. Sorry to find out that they don't do a continental breakfast or provide a newspaper any longer, but we understand that everyone is trying to cut costs. The little Chinese restaurant across the street was very good--went there twice for the pan fried noodles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at the Smokehouse restaurant---fantastic prime rib and ribs. Surprise bonus when we finished eating: early bird special was 25% off! (They open at 4pm.) We didn't notice until we got home that the sleeve for the hotel key had a coupon for free garlic bread---we could have saved more $$!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top