$144 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Safari Inn

3 stars
View map of 1911 W. Olive Ave., Burbank, CA 91506

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Safari Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
howlnight7
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 2, 2012

As Good As I Expected

I had a great experience at Safari, the staff was courteous, the room was clean, and the location was perfect for getting anywhere pretty fast. Just down the street from the awesome karaoke bar Dimples and not too far from Hollywood or the beach. I had a great stay and would return there for my next visit!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Dimples karaoke bar right up the street on Olive!! Great city flavor and cheap drinks!

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kariannbear
Business
Cupertino, CA, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Just a room

All I needed was a room, and that's what the Safari Inn had. A room. Ripped sheets and all. The pillows were not fluffy, the beds were average (probably a few years old). But I wasn't in Burbank to hang out in my hotel. Overall, it was ok. I slept, so that says a lot. Customer service was decent. We actually were able to switch our room so we were right next door to our friend, so that was cool. Borderline. If you can get a decent price it's ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ORBalloonr
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Value not good

Bathroom was dirty and worn. Shower head had limited flow. Flooring was dirty, cracked, and caulking around tub was torn and pulling up. Towels were worn and threadbare. Carpeting was worn and needs updating. Bench and chair was stained and dirty. Other decor was dated. Beds were comfortable and seemed clean. I had requested a king size bed twice, calling before I traveled to location and earlier in the day once I arrived but before getting to the property. Although prepaid, they did not save me a room as they had agreed. Room was small and cramped with double beds. Price was high for this type of property. It is clear they are charging for the area versus the quality. Parking lot was cramped. Pictures of property are deceiving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A good family restaurant is down the street, maybe 2 blocks that has been in the area for 50 years. Good food, good value.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PMS13
Business
Leominster, MA
Dec 28, 2011

Not happy!

We have stayed at this hotel many times and have loved it........ This time I found it run down. They discontinued the coffee and continental breakfast in the lobby each morning! Clock in room wasn't working and the maid never got to clean our room till close to 5:00 PM. There are more hotels to stay in, don't think I will be back to the Safari!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
delucyr
Business
Paradise California
Dec 14, 2011

Good location but sadly lacking in amenities

We have stayed at Safari for past 4-5 years, usually twice a year for several days each. It was obvious from the first that things have certainly changed, & not for the better. Their continental breakfast wasn't much to start with, but has been completely eliminated! The coffe provided in the room was almost undrinkable, so we treked to McD's for that boost. Also, room wasn't serviced until late afternoon & that's no fun to be stuck with unmade beds & wet towels. Housekeeping staff very nice & hardworking but obviously many fewer of them around. We will move on to another motel in the future. Too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the TallyRand restauraunt, very good food & breakfast specials are good. DonutKing & McD's just down the street if you need something to get you started.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cool ek
Business
Waipahu, HI
Dec 11, 2011

Low cost, low profile....perfect.

It was a very good experience. We did not encounter any problems such as loud neighbors or too much traffic. This is our second stay at this location and we will gladly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Burbank has a lot to offer....take your time to explore the immediate areas before heading to downtown LA. Nice during the Fall and early Winter seasons.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisalisa222
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Not lux, but reasonable and hip

Best parts: the sign, the location, the view of the hills, the deck above the pool on a summer night. As long as you're craving hip over standardized newness, this is the place. I'd stay again (though not with my mother).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scuba Guy
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Great Location for Film Industry Area

This Trip was for business and pleasure for me. Even though the hotel is pretty far from the beach it is a great location to be near Hollywood and all the major studios. Room was clean, lots of parking, and pool seemed kind of small. I showed up early and the guy at the counter double checked to see if a room was ready for me. It was and I checked in. GREAT place for the price and location. Plenty of places to eat and a mall near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Made to Travel
Business
Lafayette, LA
Jul 19, 2011

Friendly staff, good location

Hotel had everything we needed including a mini fridge in the room. Location had quick and easy access to freeways. CVS Pharmacy around the corner; grocery store 3 block walking distance. Restaurants close by. Staff friendly and helpful. Universal City just miles away. Parking tight but never had a problem. Would stay here again and would recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Proud mom of CA son
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 16, 2011

Clean & convenient

My husband and I went to LA to visit our son in Burbank, so this was a very convenient location at a very reasonable price. We stayed here before a couple of years ago, and except for one night when there was a very loud party above us, we were happy with the hotel. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. Sorry to find out that they don't do a continental breakfast or provide a newspaper any longer, but we understand that everyone is trying to cut costs. The little Chinese restaurant across the street was very good--went there twice for the pan fried noodles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at the Smokehouse restaurant---fantastic prime rib and ribs. Surprise bonus when we finished eating: early bird special was 25% off! (They open at 4pm.) We didn't notice until we got home that the sleeve for the hotel key had a coupon for free garlic bread---we could have saved more $$!

Back to menu Return to top