Safari Inn

3 stars
View map of 1911 W. Olive Ave., Burbank, CA 91506

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
149 reviews
Cool experience

Beatiful, very clean, excellent location. I loved rooms deco. See full review

  • Iceland Tr
  • Apr 18, 2014
Great Quiet location close to all the attractions

Hotel was clean and neat. Rooms were a little on the small side, but were enough since we were only... See full review

  • Chris K.
  • Jul 10, 2015

With a colorfully vibrant retro design, the boutique Safari Inn evokes vintage Southern California charm. The hotel is remarkably close to Disney, Universal, Warner Bros. and NBC studios and is within convenient driving distance from all major business and leisure destinations in L.A. The hotel's complimentary Internet access, fitness center, outdoor pool and shuttle service to and from the Bob Hope Airport along with its in-house bistro will satisfy guests in between leisure excursions. Free parking and a pet-friendly policy make it a great choice.

Rooms

Each of the Safari Inn's 55 brightly decorated, colorful guest rooms come with a king bed or two double beds. Guests enjoy complimentary Internet access and Premium Television Channels. Oversize work desks perfectly suit the needs of business travelers, and the hotel's pet-friendly policy allows for up to two pets per room with a per-stay fee and a refundable deposit. Superior Suites offer extra living space and a separate bedroom.

Property features

With its close proximity to many of L.A.'s major TV and film studios, the Safari Inn is ideal for entertainment-industry travelers as well as fun-seekers who want to stay within close driving distance of Universal Studios Theme Park, Griffith Park and other Hollywood sights and dining and shopping. An outdoor pool, fitness center and high-speed Internet access are all complimentary, and guests can also enjoy the welcoming atmosphere, appetizing bistro fare and delightful martinis at the in-house Olive's Bistro & Lounge.

Highlights
  • Close to major film and television studios, including Warner Bros., Disney, Universal and NBC
  • Free parking
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet in all guest rooms
Nearby attractions
  • Media Center Mall (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (3 mi/4 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (5 mi/7 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theater & Hollywood Walk of Fame (6 mi/9 km)
  • J. Paul Getty Museum (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Beach & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/25 km)
  • Six Flags Magic Mountain (25 mi/38 km)
Business
  • 500-square-foot meeting facility
Transportation
  • Complimentary shuttle to/from Bob Hope Airport
  • Bob Hope Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/27 km)

Safari Inn Rooms

Standard
Large room with two double beds or one king bed. Amenities include: Large desk with data port and voice mail, Cable television, Premium Television Channels, Iron and ironing board Complimentary in-room coffee and tea service, Mini refrigerators, Complimentary high-speed wireless, Internet, Hair dryer, Complimentary local calls, please contact the hotel directly for Accessible/ADA rooms. Bedding type not guaranteed, based on availability.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

34.1657 -118.3252
Area served
Burbank, CA
Nearby airports
Burbank Airport, LAX- Los Angeles International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of the Burbank Media District, close to Disney Studios, Warner Brothers, and the Media Center Mall.

Dining

Olive's Bistro & Lounge
Grabbing a bite at Olive's Bistro & Lounge, located at our sister-property, The Coast Anabelle Hotel, may be what you are in the mood for. This eatery boasts a unique menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a warm cafe setting. Whatever you're looking for, it's all here for you to discover. Don't forget to try one of our famous martinis. Olive's Bistro & Lounge, available daily from 6 AM to 10PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for Safari Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gma Jae
Business
Camarillo
Feb 11, 2013

Great Place!

Would highly reccomend this hotel for location and comfort.....we will definetly be returning soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gma Jae
Business
Camarillo
Jan 14, 2013

Cozy and Comfortable

This was our 4th stay at the Safari Inn and it wont be our last! The location is perfect because it is near everything but is located in an area that does not have much traffic and for LA...that is a miracle. Near the TV studios allows for less foot traffic and clear streets. Also, the rooms have been clean, cozy and quiet. The pillows are the new "My Pillow" and I actually slept until 9:00am!!! The only thing missing is a microwave but that won't stop me from staying here again! Jae Smith

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal Studios

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katniss12
Business
Del Norte, California
Jan 8, 2013

Courtesy, Comfort and Value

We were greeted on arrival by the nicest staff we have ever dealt with. They were fast and efficient as well. Our room was large and comfortable and we found it to be very clean which is very important to me. The soaps and shampoos, towels and furnishing are very nice. Enjoyed the use of the refrigerator and an elevator. It has free parking and all this for a very reasonable price. It is also very convenient to highways, restaurants, etc. We absolutely recommend the Safari!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe and Pam
Business
San Diego, California
Nov 9, 2012

Good Value for price, Excellent Staff

Overall a good value for the price, and everything was what was expected. Very good staff. Recommend for value and convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gma Jae
Business
Camarillo
Oct 16, 2012

Not great for non-smokers

Loved the location, the retro feel and the terrace above the pool. I booked a king bed or 2 doubles, thinking I was being given a choice, but not so. I was told there were only 2 doubles when I arrived. Disappointing birthday trip, not so intimate with my husband sleeping in another bed!! We made do and really loved the close proximity to universal city walk. The biggest downfall and the reason we won't go back is the venting system must all be connected because we were choking from the constant cigarette smoke smell that flooded the room. It was so bad that all the clothes that we didn't wear have to be washed because everything smells like an ashtray. So, if you don't smoke, beware...you will smell like you do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
savy susan
Business
riverside,ca
Oct 2, 2012

great room, room service excellent !!

All the reviews were helpful. This room is in a great location. It was very clean and well kept. The staff is professional and courteous. I love the decor and the fridge and coffee were a nice touch also. The Olives Bistro on the corner is their room service. The food came fast and the food was delicious. We ordered for dinner and then for breakfast since the food was soooo good. Nice choice and I plan to stay again for a concert I am going to this month.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pop.i.am
Business
Portland, OR
Sep 18, 2012

Visitor from Oregon

Great location if you want to spend time in the Burbank, Hollywood area. Don't look here for the Ritz amenities... but the rooms are CLEAN, well equipped, and Safari is a great value for those just needing a clean, convenient place to spend their night(s). This was my 4th stay in 2 years, and I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimmyWalker
Business
Reno, NV
Jun 4, 2012

Nice clean room, great staff.

Nothing fancy. Just a nice clean room, with a great location, and super awesome friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the 101 Fish next door. Awesome fish tacos.

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
working and visiting
Business
LA
May 15, 2012

Pretty good

The staff was great and the rooms were pretty comfortable and very clean. We didn't use the pool or other facitilities but there was a laundry room that looked fine and had vending machines and the pool looked good though we didn't have time to use it. My only complaint was the Internet access which was very important for me. It was quite bad...when I got logged on, the signal would soon drop me after a short time and sometimes it was too weak to even get on. The location was good for getting around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HTechS
Business
Bay Area
Apr 9, 2012

Great location, decent hotel, not great parking...

Overall experience was okay. Good location and near my meeting & downtown, but there was no parking. When asked where to park, person at desk (female) said to park at the hotel next door. While I was there, she told the same thing to two other guest checking in who were really upset. There was a tight spot by the pool that I took. Really inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is close to downtown Burbank where there are somegreat restaurants!

Back to menu Return to top