$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Safari Inn

3 stars
1911 W. Olive Ave., Burbank, CA 91506
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
159 reviews
Cool experience

Beatiful, very clean, excellent location. I loved rooms deco. See full review

  • Iceland Tr
  • Apr 18, 2014
good value

Good value for the money, and close to everything. How excited can you get with any accommodations... See full review

  • Writer Ted
  • Jan 27, 2014
Boutique charmer with retro-Southern California style, close to studios

With a colorfully vibrant retro design, the boutique Safari Inn evokes vintage Southern California charm. The hotel is remarkably close to Disney, Universal, Warner Bros. and NBC studios and is within convenient driving distance from all major business and leisure destinations in L.A. The hotel's complimentary Internet access, fitness center, outdoor pool and shuttle service to and from the Bob Hope Airport along with its in-house bistro will satisfy guests in between leisure excursions. Free parking and a pet-friendly policy make it a great choice.

Highlights
  • Close to major film and television studios, including Warner Bros., Disney, Universal and NBC
  • Free parking
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet in all guest rooms
Rooms

Each of the Safari Inn's 55 brightly decorated, colorful guest rooms come with a king bed or two double beds. Guests enjoy complimentary Internet access and Premium Television Channels. Oversize work desks perfectly suit the needs of business travelers, and the hotel's pet-friendly policy allows for up to two pets per room with a per-stay fee and a refundable deposit. Superior Suites offer extra living space and a separate bedroom.

Features

With its close proximity to many of L.A.'s major TV and film studios, the Safari Inn is ideal for entertainment-industry travelers as well as fun-seekers who want to stay within close driving distance of Universal Studios Theme Park, Griffith Park and other Hollywood sights and dining and shopping. An outdoor pool, fitness center and high-speed Internet access are all complimentary, and guests can also enjoy the welcoming atmosphere, appetizing bistro fare and delightful martinis at the in-house Olive's Bistro & Lounge.

Transportation
  • Complimentary shuttle to/from Bob Hope Airport
  • Bob Hope Airport (3 mi/5 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/27 km)
Attractions
  • Media Center Mall (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (3 mi/4 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (5 mi/7 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theater & Hollywood Walk of Fame (6 mi/9 km)
  • J. Paul Getty Museum (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Beach & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/25 km)
  • Six Flags Magic Mountain (25 mi/38 km)
Business
  • 500-square-foot meeting facility

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Safari Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Safari Inn Rooms

Standard
Large room with two double beds or one king bed. Amenities include: Large desk with data port and voice mail, Cable television with in-room movies, Premium Television Channels, Iron and ironing board Complimentary in-room coffee and tea service, Mini refrigerators, Complimentary high-speed wireless, Internet, Hair dryer, Complimentary local calls, please contact the hotel directly for Accessible/ADA rooms. Bedding type not guaranteed, based on availability.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Brailled elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Safari Inn offers an elegantly appointed meeting room that can accommodate up to 35 guests. This versatile 500 square foot room features two large picture windows allowing for natural light when desired. Book this beautiful space for professional business meetings or private luncheons and receptions. Catering for meetings and events is provided by Olive's Bistro and Lounge

Dining

Olive's Bistro & Lounge
Grabbing a bite at Olive's Bistro & Lounge, maybe what you are in the mood for. This eatery boasts a unique menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a warm cafe setting. Whatever you're looking for, it's all here for you to discover. Don't forget to try one of our famous martinis. Olive's Bistro & Lounge, available daily from 6 AM to 10PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for Safari Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big John
Business
Nortern California
Sep 14, 2009

This fit our needs perfectly

This was a mini get away. Had a great time our room was large, clean and had plent of room to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island, NY
Sep 2, 2009

Great Hotel Stay at the Safari Inn!!!

Great hotel for a great price in a great location! Located in a very quiet area with clean rooms and comfortable beds! Had no problems whatsoever! I would definitely stay there again if I was ever in the California area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester UK
Sep 1, 2009

perfect!

The Safari Inn was perfect for us! It was very reasonably priced, very clean, lovely pool and the breakfast was ok. (Much better than I thought after reading some reviews!) Great location for all the sights, we hired a car but there was a bus stop right outside. Don't go th the Talleyrand opposite for a meal, it was awful, walk a little further in the opposite direction to the Acapulco Mexican restaurant, it was delicious. By the way Olive's Bistro next door was very good too!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Irate pet owner
Business
Danville. Ca
Aug 24, 2009

A very 'PET UNFRIENDLY" Hotel

After much searching we selected this location because it would allow our cat, who was traveling with us after a month at Tahoe. We were in town to attend a Golden wedding party..All this was discussed at the time of booking and we greed to pay an extra $25 for cleaning. Upon arrival we upgraded to a suite, which would also accommodate our granddaughter, who was with us. They seemed totally surprised when we mentioned our 9 yr old cat, who is very clean and travels with her sand box and bed. When my husband went back to the office after depositing our luggage in the suite, they presented us with an agreement that stated they would check the room several time a day and if the cat was alone, we would be charged . None of this was made clear or we would never have stayed there. How does one attend a part and b ring the cat? When we said we would find another location, they refused to refund our money saying it was too late and that was Orbitz's policy. I called and told someone there our problem and she said she would look into it and call me back. She did not. We stayed and had to take the cat across town to friends of our hosts. This was time consuming, inconvenient and very upsetting. If Orbitz new the policy and did not tell us, I blame you. If the Safari Inn has adopted new rules, they should NOT advertise as pet friendly. We have had the cat at the 4 Seasons every year of her life and paid their fee, but she has never damaged a thing. I can understand a large barking dog being a problem to other guests, but the Safari people would make no exception to their rule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New jersey
Aug 19, 2009

Good value

Clean, pretty quiet and great location. Parking wasn't the best. Breakfast is breads and orange juice. Coffee and Tea with powdered cream- no milk. The lowest-end continental breakfast possible. Good for the price. No wireless internet, but it's everywhere in Burbank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KY
Aug 15, 2009

Not that great!!

We just used the motel for after the ballgame stay. It was too far from the ballgame and not real great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Aug 3, 2009

Worth the $$

Were in town for my sister's wedding, and she suggested this motel b/c of the price. The rooms smelled a little musty, but seemed clean. We appreciated having a fridge and ironing board - amenities that are not expected at such a cheap place. Small continental breakfast was included, and the OJ was delicious. I'd stay here again if I were ever to visit Burbank again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask about BJ's restaurant -- the menu was vast, and the food was amazing and affordable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pembroke Pines
Aug 1, 2009

Burbank-LA

The room service meals were excellent and they arrived quickly with very friednly delevery staff. The front desk staff ws extremely helpful and had pre-printed directions for local attractions. When we arrived the room air conditioner was not cooling off hte room and maintance was quick to respond and change it out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Jul 21, 2009

Interesting Experience

NOT friendly on arrival. Not used to experienced guests. Cut off the breakfast at 8 a.m. (Vacation hotel!!!??) Rooms were clean, well presented. Towels and utilities were minimal quality. Nice place, could have done a lot better, but probably doing o.k. from transitional guests. You can get a lot better for your money! Michael's bar up the road had nice food as advised by another cheaptickets user.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Universal which is what this hotel capitalises on. Very functional with just enough to stop any serious complaints.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Safari Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joels Mom
Business
Vacaville
Jul 18, 2009

The bad and the better

I got this hotel from Orbitz because the first hotel-- Roadway Inn was a dump they had nothing that they said they had. The safari was ok. The service from Orbitz was outstanding! They got my credit with Roadway and rooms at Safari, they were very understanding and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top