$86 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Black Forest Lodge

2 stars
41121 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
77 reviews
Birthday Getaway

I took my girlfriend here for her 50th birthday! I must say it was a bit surreal as this property... See full review

  • Motorcycle Madman
  • Jul 24, 2014
Good!

This is nice experience thanks!! I'm going recommend See full review

  • Nicolas5
  • Jun 16, 2014
Cozy, peaceful ski lodge in a rural Bavarian-like setting
A delightful ski vacation awaits visitors to the quaint, rustic Black Forest Lodge, located in Big Bear Lake in the San Bernardino Mountains. This one-of-a-kind lodge offers honeymoon cabins and spa suites that include two-person spa tubs, a gas- or wood-burning fireplace or affordable motel units for two to four people. Along with Black Forest Lodge's large family chalets and private homes that can fit up to 10 visitors, this peaceful destination has truly diverse and unusual combinations for any group or budget. 

  • Ski packages with lift tickets available
  • Gas or wood-burning fireplaces
  • On-site spa and beauty salon

Rooms at the Black Forest Lodge come in single-queen or double-queen configurations. Once visitors are done on the slopes, they can relax in spacious rooms that contain a balcony or terrace view, cable/satellite TV, private bathroom, fireplace and of course an irresistible oversized spa tub. Non-smoking rooms are available.

Ski season isn't the only season at Black Forest Lodge. Visitors will enjoy the hotel's summer pool and seasonal outdoor spa and kids will love the on-site playground. For the business-minded, the lodge is perfect for meetings or retreats.

At the lodge's new salon, Spa At Black Forest, guests can receive a massage, or get a tan, a manicure or even a new hair style. Area artist Valentina Ratshenko-Lamdin holds classes at the lodge in oils, acrylics and watercolors (check for availability). 

  • Palm Springs Airport: 36 mi/58 km

  • Big Bear Lake: 0.5 mi/1 km
  • San Bernardino National Forest: 12 mi/19 km
  • Lake Arrowhead: 18 mi/29 km
  • Upland Game Hunting Area: 33 mi/53 km

  • 40-person meeting room available
  • Wireless Internet (fees apply)

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Black Forest Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Black Forest Lodge Rooms

Queen Motel
Room with one queen bed includes balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, heating, non-smoking rooms, telephone, fireplace.
Double Queen Motel
Room with two queen bed includes balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, cable/satellite TV, heating, non-smoking rooms, telephone, fireplace.
Queen Spa
Room with one queen bed includes balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, heating, non-smoking rooms, telephone, fireplace.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Sonora Cantina
(909) 866-8202, 41144 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Old Country Inn
(909) 866-5600, 41126 Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
Stillwells Restaurant
(909) 866-3121-40650 Village Dr, Big Bear Lake, CA
Captains Anchorage
(909) 866-3997, 42148 Moonridge Rd, Big Bear Lake, CA
La Paws Mexican Restaurant
(909) 585-9115, 1128 W Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear City, CA

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Black Forest Lodge

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pankaj D.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Family Trip

It was just alright. Nothing special. Enjoyed it with my wife. They offered a way better price to someone for better room infront of me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bob the cook
Business
Simi Valley, Ca
Oct 6, 2014

expected more

I thought we had reserved a cabin so when we got there we had to upgrade of course with more money, the front counter lady was not friendly, actually made us wait for her to finish her personal conversation with someone before she helped us check in. The rooms were smaller than they looked and needed MAJOR redecorating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some great dinning places close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Motorcycle Madman
Business
Simi Valley, California
Jul 24, 2014

Birthday Getaway

I took my girlfriend here for her 50th birthday! I must say it was a bit surreal as this property is a hotel, motel and spa cabins to rent all nestled in the pines! We were greeted by the owner who is a very lovely lady who upgraded us when she found out it was a birthday trip! The room we got was very nice, but we were hoping for one of the cabins! We asked to switch and NO PROBLEM! While its a 2-3 star property which needs some TLC, my girlfriend LOVED the whole experience, and that's what I wanted, to make her happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

All the Mexican food in Big Bear is mediocre at best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicolas5
Business
Long beach
Jun 16, 2014

Good!

This is nice experience thanks!! I'm going recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling Family4
Business
Whittier, Ca
Oct 22, 2013

Horrible Stay

My family and I were looking forward to a wonderful Fall weekend of relaxation and photography. We checked in with no problems and the young lady at the front desk was beyond pleasant. We got to our room (which was outdated) but clean and we were looking forward to unpacking and head to the lake. We noticed that we could hear the tv in the next room but were not too bothered with it. We made it a point to make sure that in the evening our tv would not be loud due to the thin walls. We were pleasantly tired after a full day and looked forward to rest as we were getting up early in the morning to photograph. By midnight we were all asleep. That is when the 7 hour party started in the next room. This included smoking (cigarettes and weed), which we could smell. We thought it would end soon because we figured the people were just winding down after a long night; but after 2am it was horrible. At least 10 people were in and out if that room and now you could tell the party included drugs by the increased hyperactivity. There was banging against the walls from them doing things I didn't want to hear and unfortunately our kids heard. There is no one in the office to complain to after 2am. By 7am I had maybe got an hour of sleep and not even full sleep. I had to drive that day and also had to get up to go photograph. I went to the front desk to complain and was told that these things happen -its Octoberfest and that I could have some coffee and we could have an extra 2 hours so we could sleep. We didnt want to have to sleep -we were suppose to be up and ready for our day. There was no sympathy for my family. And the people were not told anything even that morning when I went in. Our day was ruined. We ended up with a load of coffee and just went home as soon as we could. I called back the next week to talk to someone but was told to call back and speak with a certain manager (I was told that the people next door ruined the room). It took about a week and a half. When I got a hold of her She seemed very apologetic. We asked if there was anything they could do for us seeing that our night was ruined and we couldn't go to the front desk in the middle of the night. She said she would have to ask the owner. I had to call back several days later just to be told the only thing they would do is give a 10% discount. This was not a cheap room >$120. I was told this is a party town by one staff member. That is unacceptable that an owner would not care about the well being of their patrons. Or to just be told "you can have some coffee". The manager was nice but when you have an owner who doesn't care about the people who are paying to keep their business running then there is a problem. We will never stay there again and anyone should think twice about it as well. This owner does not care about taking your money and then not caring when you have a legitimate complaint. We found that there are other reviews similar to ours about the owner not caring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Missy sue
Business
la mesa
Jan 3, 2013

black forest lodge

Disapointed in the rm for what I pd. No coffeee maker or v.c.r. NO wood for fireplace inless you buy it at $7.00 for 6 pieces. Broke out in hives and had to cx rm for the next night. Did not get my money back. Waste of money and time. Fan was exstreamly lound bath rm fan. Duld light bubls you could not see. Refrigator was frzen and sm with out dated T.V.s. Mirc wave sm not plug in. I could go on and on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TNTT
Business
BigBear
Dec 27, 2012

Better than expected

After reading the other reviews we were concerned about staying there and reduced our trip by one night. The hotel clerk was friendly. We were given a room on the main street which was a bit noisy. I'd bring ear plugs. We had a cute lil balcony and could see glimpses of the lake. The location is great but a bit to far to walk to the village. It's about a mile away . The jacuzzi tub and fireplace were AMAZING!!!! I want one at home. We brought candles which added even more ambience!!! The room was very clean and had a small refrigerator and microvave. No utinsels. The bathroom was clean, dated but had a bath and shower. Everything you need. The bed and linen was old but comfortable. If this hotel invested in some pillow top mattresses with quality linens they could charge double and get it. I would definitely stay here again!!! Thank You!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Big bear needs to evaluate thier restaurants. We ate at the Sweet Basil which was fair and the Evergreen which wasn't much better. It was Christmas and it seemed the staff was overwhelmed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Buffy L
Business
Los Angeles, California
Nov 4, 2012

Weekend romance

My boyfriend and I stayed the weekend at this cozy hotel. The cabin was clean, comfortable and had a full kitchen and hot tub! The staff was friendly and accommodating, we can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous 25
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 30, 2012

Disappointment

The first thing you notice is the weird musty smell in the lobby and again in the room. Once you get inside the room...the carpet is worn out and stained - only wear socks. The TV sucks. The bathroom is gross and ugly with inadequate lighting. Not to mention the peeping tom at our door at 1am. You couldn't pay me to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Black Forest Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
randombrad
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Go someplace else

The room was smelling like smoke. Walls were thin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top