$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Claremont Hotel Club and Spa

4 stars
41 Tunnel Road, Berkeley, CA 94705
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
54 reviews
Elegance in Oakland

The Claremont is a throwback to the grand hotels of a century ago. if you seek ostentation and... See full review

  • noname17
  • Aug 5, 2014
Old fashioned classic hotel

We stayed on the 4 th floor with a view of San Francisco thru a small window. Really enjoyed the... See full review

  • Bill U
  • Aug 26, 2013
Beautiful Berkeley hills resort overlooking the San Francisco Bay

Since 1915, the Claremont Hotel Club & Spa in the Berkeley hills served as a respite from everyday life. With two pools, a luxurious spa, 10 tennis courts and a kid's club, the Claremont Hotel Club & Spa is a true urban oasis. Guests enjoy world-class cuisine at two restaurants. Spacious guest rooms bedecked in gold and blues provide comfort and warmth. The Claremont Hotel Club & Spa also sets the stage for corporate retreats, with 30,000 square feet of flexible meeting space.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond property
  • Close to downtown Berkeley, Oakland and San Francisco
  • An urban oasis with pools, tennis courts, full fitness center and a spa
  • Two restaurants featuring local California cuisine
  • 30,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
Rooms

The 279 recently renovated guest rooms at the Claremont Hotel Club & Spa represent Old World charm melded with modern comforts. Many of the guest rooms, decorated in gold and blue, have stunning views of San Francisco Bay. All rooms, whether a classic, a Spa Elite or a PURE allergy-free space, feature either one king or two double beds. Guests enjoy flat-panel TVs with premium cable and pay-per-view movies, high-speed Wi-Fi (fees apply), in-room safes and an honor bar. Bathrooms feature signature Claremont bath products and plush spa robes.

Features

A true urban oasis set across 22 acres, the Claremont Hotel Club & Spa allows guests to get away from it all with two pools, 10 tennis courts, a full fitness center, an incredible spa with dozens of treatments, yoga classes and a kids' club. The 30,000 square feet of flexible banquet space provides an ideal setting for weddings and corporate functions. Three dining establishments offer delicious, fresh California cuisine. The 100 percent smoke-free, pet-friendly property has a 24-hour front desk.

Transportation
  • Nearest Train: Rockridge BART (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (9.6 mi/15.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (18.4 mi/29.7 km)
  • On-site self- and valet parking (fees apply)
Attractions
  • UC Berkeley (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Chez Panisse restaurant (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Oakland Chinatown (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Union Square (10.2 mi/16.4 km)  
Business
  • 30,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 20 indoor and outdoor venues
  • High-speed Wi-Fi throughout
Policies and fees

Starting April 1, the property will charge $26 facilities fee and $28 for parking (inclusive for all day and overnight).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.8589 -122.2419
Area served
Berkeley, CA
Nearby airports
Oakland International Airport(OAK) San Francisco International Airport(SFO)
Area description
Local San Francisco and Berkeley attractions include Jack London Square, Oakland Museum, Chabot Observatory and Science Center, Fisherman's Wharf, and Oakland Zoo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Claremont Hotel Club and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Claremont Hotel Club and Spa Rooms

Classic Room
Enjoy classic luxury in this newly renovated private oasis. The calming gold and blue color palate of the Classic room offers quiet relaxation just steps from many activities across the property. With its' own unique size and configuration, this room is available with 1 King and 2 Double Beds and also includes a hillside view.
Distinctive Room
Guests will feel pampered in this distinctive retreat that was recently renovated to create an atmosphere of quiet relaxation. But, the best feature is the incomparable view of the San Francisco Bay and skyline. With its own unique size and configuration, these rooms are available with 1 King or 2 Double beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • California Memorial Stadium: 1 mi
  • Haas Pavilion: 1.3 mi

Dining

Paragaon Bar & Cafe
Open for lunch and dinner, Paragon Bar and Cafe serves a mix of fine cocktails paired with comfort food.
Meritage
Meritage is open for breakfast, dinner and Sunday brunch. The menu focuses on local ingredients and changes often.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for The Claremont Hotel Club and Spa

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Claremont Hotel Club and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
noname17
Colorado
Aug 5, 2014

Elegance in Oakland

The Claremont is a throwback to the grand hotels of a century ago. if you seek ostentation and elegance, this is your place. We had no complaints. But the overnight parking (either valet or self-park) and the "resort fee" will add over $50/night to your costs. If you have the time to take advantage of the amenities, it might be worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Claremont Hotel Club and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill U
Coronado,CA
Aug 26, 2013

Old fashioned classic hotel

We stayed on the 4 th floor with a view of San Francisco thru a small window. Really enjoyed the workout facilities at the Club. This is a classic hotel with some age that is part of the trade off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Claremont Hotel Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cindy Villalba
Benicia, CA
Aug 22, 2013

Well Located, but Overrated

I love the architectural charm and history of The Claremont, but the inside of the rooms leave something to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Claremont Hotel Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anniversary couple 7
oakland,ca
Jul 29, 2013

great hotel but read terms and conditions carefully

We had a lovely time but were very disappointed (and surprised) that parking and use of the facilities were not included in the already high price of the hotel room. We never would have booked the room if we had realized that we were going to pay +$100 in fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Claremont Hotel Club and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liz travelor
Acampo, Calif
Jul 6, 2013

Excellent hideaway, beautiful area

The hotel is a lovely sight as you approach it. The inside of the hotel is classic and historic. The room We stayed in was nothing to brag about no tub however, we upgraded and had a lovely view of the bay, bridges and The city lights. The spa, restaurant, tennis courts, pool, gym and bar with piano are well worth the stay. Around the hotel are beautiful homes and if you like to take walks this is a must. Lots of great restaurants in Berkeley. The history behind this landmark hotel is unique including the surroundings. I plan on coming back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of excellent restaurants, we had dinner at Gathers restaurant and it was delicious. Lots of unique shops to visit. A diversified scenario with lots of places with music, movie theaters and Berkeley university.

Review of The Claremont Hotel Club and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mom comes to town
philadelphia, pa
May 10, 2013

stay in Berkeley

The hotel was beautiful and the service was lovely, however when I checked in they attempted to nickel and dime me (or rather $50 and$100 me). They checked me in and handed me a registration sheet that they asked me to initial - when I looked carefully at it they were charging me additional "mandatory" daily fees as follows - $26.00 daily for use of facilities, and $1.50 daily for delivery of USA today. They balked when I complained, but when I persisted they very reluctantly (and not very graciously) waived the fees. Actually, they said that these fees would have been disclosed on my reservation confirmation , but when I produced my confirmation e-mails neither I nor they could find mention of these add ons. I would not stay there again because I would not trust them not to add on extra charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Claremont Hotel Club and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mami Perla
Miami
Feb 20, 2013

Family Getaway

We had a great experience, the staff was very friendly and the location was excellent for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of The Claremont Hotel Club and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel and Julie
Antioch, Ca
Dec 23, 2012

The spa and club make it worth it

This is the second time I have stayed at the Claremont. The first time my daughter treated me and I had a wonderful time! This second time I payed, and found trying to recreate the experience was very expensive. I found a good rate for the room but the hotel adds a $50 a day charge which makes it not so good of a deal. The room was nice, the staff very helpful. We ate at both restaurants and they were good but pricey. My friend and I each had a massage (the most expensive 50 minute massage I have ever had) and they were good and allowed us to spend most of the day at the spa which is very nice. Then I discovered the health club which was great. In conclusion, we had a nice, relaxing stay which was just what we needed but ended up paying more than we had wanted. It is a beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Claremont Hotel Club and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChefV
San Francisco, CA
Nov 19, 2012

You Deserve It!

It has to be the Bay Area's most treasured gem. The staff, the attention and care, the grounds/property -- all 5 star! The only disappointment was that my Husbad and I had a date at the Paragon for a romantic evening of jazz, but there was no jazz band this weekend. There was a piano player in Meritage, which was nice, but it's nothing like the sexy sounds from a sax to get you in the mood! The food and wait staff at Meritage made a less painful. I loved my weekend and am making it a point to treat myself to a weekend there every few months...maybe even a full spa weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Spend the day walking along College Avenue. Lots of cute boutiques and restaurants. Even on a rainy day, it is a nice experience, and if you'd like to drive a bit, check out the Berkeley Flea Market at Ashby BART Station. There you'll see, hear and feel the beauty of Berkeley which is cultural diversity, afro-cuban drums, street food and warm smiles.

Review of The Claremont Hotel Club and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Samantha 58
Santa Rosa
Nov 14, 2012

Typical online room purchase

I booked a one night stay, at check in I asked not to be put near elevator/ ice machine room, instead they put me in a room all the way down a hall next to the fire escape stairwell. I went to sleep and was rudely awakened by the hotel security alarm, then a voice came on over the hotels PA system saying please stay in your room, we are investigating the breech. This went on for about 5-7 minutes, by then, I was so stimulated while thinking about: if I have to leave what will I take with me in a pinch, and decided to put my outside clothes on just in case I had to flee rapidly. As it turned out it was a false alarm. Try going back to sleep after that! So needless to say I didn't have a very restful sleep that night. Then, in the morning when I stepped into the shower the floor of the shower pan was slippery, and I figured out why: the drain was clogged, so the last emptying of water was slow to go thus accumulating slime. By the time I finished my shower I was standing in above ankle deep water in the shower, YUK! I tried turning the small refrigerator on to store some food and noticed there was mold lining the rims of the shelves. It would be a miracle if I went back for an overnight stay. However, the outside dining looked intriguing, I might consider that as a day option, but cant rate the food / service as I didn't eat there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search