$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Rose Garden Inn

2 stars
2740 Telegraph Ave, Berkeley, CA 94705
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
22 reviews
Perfectly wonderful!

The first time we stayed here was when our daughter was sick and was in Alta Bates. The Rose Garden... See full review

  • mom of a UC graduate
  • Dec 23, 2013
Sweet old place

I loved the old decor of the place, the common spaces and outdoor (rose garden) spaces are all... See full review

  • peacemakerman
  • Oct 18, 2013
The Rose Garden Inn is the essence of tranquility in the heart of Berkeley.Five historic buildings within a gated complex surrounded by peaceful patio areas and beautiful gardens.All 40 of our Guest Rooms are Non-Smoking and feature color cable TV with remote control data port phones and private baths.All Garden Rooms Deluxe Rooms and Junior Suites have Free High Speed Internet Access.We also offer a free kiosx computer to use in our Main building.The Deluxe rooms and Junior Suites also feature fireplaces refrigerators and microwaves.Full buffet breakfast is served complimentary to our guests each morning consisting of eggs bacon sausage potatoes cereals assorted breads and pastries juice milk coffee and assorted teas.We are walking distance to the University of California-Berkeley and shopping districts on Telegraph Avenue Shattuck Avenue and College Avenue.There are over 100 restaurants within 1 mile of the Inn and Public transportation and BART are easily accessible.

Hotel Map

37.86 -122.2595
Nearby airports
Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 13.60, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rose Garden Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Rose Garden Inn Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe Queen Fireplace with Free Buffet Breakfast Internet connection and comfortable desk Queen bed Bath with showertub Luxurious shampoo Bath gel and lotion Full American breakfast served every day
Suite
Executive Suite 2 Queens Fireplace Free Buffet Breakfast Two queen beds Bath with shower/tub Internet connections Luxurious shampoo Shower gel and lotion Breakfast buffet for every registered overnight guest
Suite
Corner Suite With classic modernist style this suite is full of elegance and unique features. An exclusive space created through unique details such as furniture that suggests comfort in each of its lines and textures. Vintage desk and large sitting room.
Suite
Executive Suite Fireplace with King and Twin Free Brkfst King bed and twin bed Fireplace Ceiling fan Baths with showerb tub Internet Luxurious shampoo Shower gel and lotion King breakfast with all the fixings
Suite
Speciality Suite with King and Two Twins Free Brkfst King Bed Two Twin Beds Refrigerator WiFi and Hard Wired Internet Sitting Area Ceiling Fan Direct TV with 4 HBO Channels Bath and Designer Bath Amenities Full Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe
Deluxe Queen View with Free Buffet Breakfast views of the Berkeley Hills and some views of the San Francisco skyline Queen bed Ceiling fan Internet TV with Direct TV Bath with showertub
Deluxe
Spacious Deluxe King Fireplace with Free Buffet Brkfst King bed and full couch Ceiling fan Cable TV Internet access Refrigerator and microwave Baths with showertub and hair dryers
Deluxe
Spacious Deluxe King Fireplace and Kitchen Free Brkfst King beds Ceiling fan Cable TV Internet Refrigerator and microwave Bath with showertub Luxurious shampoo Shower gel and lotion
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Edwardian with 1 Queen And 1 Twin Bed Free Buffet Brkfst Queen bed and one twin bed Ceiling fan Bath with showertub Internet access Luxurious shampoo bath gel and lotions Big on comfort but still reasonably priced
Standard
Edwardian Queen with Free Buffet Breakfast - Queen bed Ceiling fan Bath with showertub Internet access Luxurious shampoo bath gel and lotions Big on comfort but still reasonably priced
Standard
Edwardian with 2 Double Beds Free Buffet Breakfast two double beds Ceiling fan Bath with shower/tub Internet access Luxurious shampoo bath gel and lotions Big on comfort but still reasonably priced
Suite
Executive Suite King Fireplace with Free Buffet Brkfst King bed Fireplace Ceiling fan Baths with shower tub Internet Luxurious shampoo Shower gel and lotion King breakfast with all the fixings

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
24 hour security
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Security
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • California Memorial Stadium: 0.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Rose Garden Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mom of a UC graduate
Coarsegold
Dec 23, 2013

Perfectly wonderful!

The first time we stayed here was when our daughter was sick and was in Alta Bates. The Rose Garden Inn staff was very kind and helpful when we arrived at midnight. We stayed here again when we went to Cal graduation. The Inn is beautiful, the breakfast delicious, the rooms are amazing, the outer garden area is a gardener's paradise. The staff is friendly and helpful. Love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It is a pleasant walk to the Berkeley campus. Around the campus there are lots of places to eat and drink lovely coffee.

Review of Rose Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peacemakerman
san jose, CA
Oct 18, 2013

Sweet old place

I loved the old decor of the place, the common spaces and outdoor (rose garden) spaces are all beautiful. It's a cozy place. Breakfast buffet is always a bonus! It wasn't great, but decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G.B.R.
Business
los angeles
Sep 21, 2012

Charming and quaint, clean and comfortable

I was there on a business trip and have to admit I was a bit skeptical of this place at first, but the room was clean and very comfortable. The beds were quite decent and the linens new and fresh. The larger rooms are quite large and great for families or for friends to share. The breakfast was more than you'd expect for a free breakfast - fluffy eggs, crispy bacon, assorted baked goods and a good selection of tea. The coffee left something to be desired, but I am a pretty harsh coffee critic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rose Garden Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ehendrix6
Chicago, IL
Apr 16, 2012

Very accommodating to change in plans

I had to change my plans at the last minute and no longer needed the last night of my reservation. Even though they had no obligation to, they gave me a full refund for the last night. In addition to their unusual courtesy in this matter, the hotel was charming and comfortable. I will definitely stay here the next time I'm in Berkeley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JohnnyJoe
Malibu, CA, USA
Apr 8, 2012

Quirky and Pleasant

Delightful quirky hotel near the campus (we walked). The biggest plus by far is the staff. They are happy, helpful and accommodating. Breakfast included bacon, sausages and scrambled eggs along with the more normal cold fare. But this hotel isn't for everyone. The stairs and floors creak, the decor is approximately victorian, and certainly not modern nor branded like the major chains. But the bed was comfy, the room warm and the staff was terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cal Bear
Sacramento, CA
Oct 17, 2011

Quaint cottage-like inn

This inn was perfectly comfortable and pleasant. But I felt like it would take so little to make it so much more. For example, the breakfast (included in the price), while plentiful, was very average - easily available, store-bought items. For an inn in Berkeley, I would like to see local bakery whole grain breads and house-made potatoes (vs what seemed to be fried frozen wedges). There are several gardens on the property - some of them are well-maintained, but look closer and you see some dead plants. The water fountain in the terrace, which provides a wonderful ambience for breakfast or an afternoon read, seemed to flow intermittently. Also, house keeping seemed to think it was OK to use the outdoor tables as resting places for their loaded laundry baskets -during the middle of breakfast service. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were old but clean. And without encouraging the installation of the dreaded low-flow shower head, I felt like the shower wasted a lot of water with its very strong pressure; a happy medium might better serve everyone. Despite these observations, I would recommend this inn. It is a short walk to the Cal campus or to a Bart station, and provides a perfectly comfortable accommodation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jma3k
Business
Carmichael, CA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Nice clean large room

Room was large and clean... Parking was limited. I received an upgrade to a suite which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rose Garden Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jma3k
Business
Carmichael, CA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Nice clean large room

Room was large and clean... Parking was limited. I received an upgrade to a suite which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rose Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mpressE
Seattle,WA
Dec 4, 2010

rooms are soooo SMALL!!

for the price and then for the size of the room! not worth the money at all! and of course when i tried to cancel - i couldn't because i booked through [...], whatever the agreement the hotels have with [...], the hotel would not agree to let me cancel the reservation i had at this terrible hotel! I had to stay at this terrible hotel for the whole week! however, they did offer to at switch me to a different room, but the other room wasn't really that much better...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Rose Garden Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mpressE
Seattle,WA
Dec 4, 2010

rooms are soooo SMALL!!

for the price and then for the size of the room! not worth the money at all! and of course when i tried to cancel - i couldn't because i booked through [...], whatever the agreement the hotels have with [...], the hotel would not agree to let me cancel the reservation i had at this terrible hotel! I had to stay at this terrible hotel for the whole week! however, they did offer to at switch me to a different room, but the other room wasn't really that much better...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top