$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Rodeway Inn Berkeley

1 star
View map of 1461 University Avenue, Berkeley, CA 94702

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
19 reviews
Very nice room and accommodating staff!!

The room was very nice. They accommodated our late arrival smoothly. Wish we could have woken up... See full review

  • Bernard G.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Family visit

Just what I was looking for. A clean room, comfortable bed, and a helpful staff. Was not going to... See full review

  • Tomwho
  • Jul 28, 2014
The Rodeway Inn Berkeley is a completely remodeled charming hotel, centrally located in the quaint city of Berkeley, just one mile from the University of Berkeley (UC Berkeley). It is surrounded by popular area attractions like, Lawrence National LAB, Downtown Theater and Arts district, Fourth Street Shopping district, Gourmet Ghetto, just 15 miles from Oakland International Airport and downtown San Franciso. It offers guest rooms with pillow top beds, spa inspired bath products and a wide range of modern amenities. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free High Speed Internet Access and the use of our business activity center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Berkeley also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • California Memorial Stadium: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DanandFamily
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

Good value in Berkeley

Rodeway Inn is a pleasant motel-type place in a good location in Berkeley. The rooms were a bit noisy from the refrigerators and people in adjacent rooms. But they're recently remodeled and nice enough, and the man at the desk is always there and very helpful. Most of all it's a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bernard G.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Very nice room and accommodating staff!!

The room was very nice. They accommodated our late arrival smoothly. Wish we could have woken up early enough for the complimentary breakfasts! All in all - a very pleasant stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tomwho
Business
Temple, Texas
Jul 28, 2014

Family visit

Just what I was looking for. A clean room, comfortable bed, and a helpful staff. Was not going to spend a lot of time in the room, so size wasn't an issue. Will stay here whenever I come out here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Shermanator
Business
Sacramento
Jun 28, 2014

Solid Hotel for the price

We had business in Oakland and were looking for a value hotel. Our room was clean and newly remodeled. Parking was close by. Staff could have been more helpful but overall we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like pizza...Zackerys is close by and has the best Chicago style deep dish pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dqueenie
Business
sparks nv
Jun 24, 2014

ok for last minute

We waited till the last minute to find a hotel while in Sonoma for the race. We wanted to enjoy Berkeley the night before the race so this place seemed convenient and close to both areas. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean except for the smell of urine in some places. We would stay again but felt the price was a little high. The grounds are nice .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Country Mice
Business
Illinois Valley, Oregon
Apr 19, 2014

Berkeley visit

Fountain screens traffic noise. Remodel results great. Comfortable room. Courtyard style layout very cozy. Close to shops & restaurants. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RavenMarie
Business
Willits, California
Jan 12, 2014

Couldn't change temp on fridge, no door on the inside freezer.

I have to keep my medication in the fridge and it wasn't cold enough. Other than that the hotel was great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joey P.
Business
Minden, NV
Jun 24, 2013

Close to the Greek Theatre

It was clean and newly remodeled. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room which was really nice. Taqueria, and good coffee shop close by. All in all it was a homerun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Taqueria across the street and good coffee within a block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KayJayVee
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jun 10, 2013

Weekend exploring Berkeley

We were looking for a reasonably priced weekend away for our 40th anniversary and I found this listing on the internet. I wondered about the price but all the reviews were positive so we decided to give it a try. We are in agreement with the previous reviewers, the place is clean, people are friendly, parking excellent (a novelty in Berkeley) and it is very quiet. The room was small but large enough to accommodate us well, we spent little time in it anyway. As I don't have a bathtub at home, a soak in the tub is always my favorite thing to do after a day of sightseeing and as a result I use the cleanliness of the tub as my standard. It passed with flying colors! It also had one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in in a motel in a long while! A great value and we recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Quince Cafe just a short drive away on San Pablo, excellent breakfast. Their staff sent us to the Acme Bakery after we asked about their bread, it is even a shorter drive on San Pablo the other side of University, not to be missed! They have a cafe adjacent which is helpful as the line of people waiting for bread is long! Get coffee first!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach Grandma
Business
Florida
Aug 27, 2012

Best of the others in this area

Room was small but clean. Everything worked. We didn't have any problems. We picked it for location and because it was less expensive than the other similar motels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top