$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Rodeway Inn Berkeley

1 star
1461 University Avenue, Berkeley, CA 94702
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
21 reviews
Couldn't change temp on fridge, no door on the inside freezer.

I have to keep my medication in the fridge and it wasn't cold enough. Other than that the hotel was... See full review

  • RavenMarie
  • Jan 12, 2014
Solid Hotel for the price

We had business in Oakland and were looking for a value hotel. Our room was clean and newly... See full review

  • The Shermanator
  • Jun 28, 2014
The Rodeway Inn Berkeley is a completely remodeled charming hotel, centrally located in the quaint city of Berkeley, just one mile from the University of Berkeley (UC Berkeley). It is surrounded by popular area attractions like, Lawrence National LAB, Downtown Theater and Arts district, Fourth Street Shopping district, Gourmet Ghetto, just 15 miles from Oakland International Airport and downtown San Franciso. It offers guest rooms with pillow top beds, spa inspired bath products and a wide range of modern amenities. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free High Speed Internet Access and the use of our business activity center.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn Berkeley also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.8707 -122.2834
Nearby airports
Oakland Int'l Airport, (OAK), 15.00, MI, SW; San Francisco Int'l Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, SW; San Jose Int'l Airport, (SJC), 45.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, University Sacrm

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • California Memorial Stadium: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Shermanator
Business
Sacramento
Jun 28, 2014

Solid Hotel for the price

We had business in Oakland and were looking for a value hotel. Our room was clean and newly remodeled. Parking was close by. Staff could have been more helpful but overall we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like pizza...Zackerys is close by and has the best Chicago style deep dish pizza.

Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dqueenie
sparks nv
Jun 24, 2014

ok for last minute

We waited till the last minute to find a hotel while in Sonoma for the race. We wanted to enjoy Berkeley the night before the race so this place seemed convenient and close to both areas. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean except for the smell of urine in some places. We would stay again but felt the price was a little high. The grounds are nice .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Country Mice
Illinois Valley, Oregon
Apr 19, 2014

Berkeley visit

Fountain screens traffic noise. Remodel results great. Comfortable room. Courtyard style layout very cozy. Close to shops & restaurants. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RavenMarie
Willits, California
Jan 12, 2014

Couldn't change temp on fridge, no door on the inside freezer.

I have to keep my medication in the fridge and it wasn't cold enough. Other than that the hotel was great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joey P.
Minden, NV
Jun 24, 2013

Close to the Greek Theatre

It was clean and newly remodeled. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room which was really nice. Taqueria, and good coffee shop close by. All in all it was a homerun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Taqueria across the street and good coffee within a block.

Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KayJayVee
Santa Cruz, CA
Jun 10, 2013

Weekend exploring Berkeley

We were looking for a reasonably priced weekend away for our 40th anniversary and I found this listing on the internet. I wondered about the price but all the reviews were positive so we decided to give it a try. We are in agreement with the previous reviewers, the place is clean, people are friendly, parking excellent (a novelty in Berkeley) and it is very quiet. The room was small but large enough to accommodate us well, we spent little time in it anyway. As I don't have a bathtub at home, a soak in the tub is always my favorite thing to do after a day of sightseeing and as a result I use the cleanliness of the tub as my standard. It passed with flying colors! It also had one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in in a motel in a long while! A great value and we recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Quince Cafe just a short drive away on San Pablo, excellent breakfast. Their staff sent us to the Acme Bakery after we asked about their bread, it is even a shorter drive on San Pablo the other side of University, not to be missed! They have a cafe adjacent which is helpful as the line of people waiting for bread is long! Get coffee first!

Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach Grandma
Florida
Aug 27, 2012

Best of the others in this area

Room was small but clean. Everything worked. We didn't have any problems. We picked it for location and because it was less expensive than the other similar motels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dessertflower
Fairfield, OH
Jul 27, 2012

Crowded but not bad

This was a small room but not too uncomfortable for spending one night. The breakfast wasn't exciting (or even filling). The biggest problem was sort of our fault. We were taking an early train to Reno, so we looked for a hotel in Emeryville, and this hotel came up. When we checked in, we asked where the train station was, and they said it was just a few minutes away. When the cab dropped us off, we discovered that there was a Berkley station, and we were there. Lucky for us, a train to Emeryville was coming & the conductor let us on. So beware--and ask for the right station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BillfromSac
Sacramento, CA, USA
May 7, 2012

consistent good value

I have stayed here a few times to visit my daughter. It is a good value with clean rooms and quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn Berkeley

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA type
LA, California
Apr 17, 2012

Short stay for 3 days

Worked out well. Central location. Easy to get around Berkeley from here. Room very clean and comfortable. Nice to have a mini-fridge and microwave. Staff very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top