$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Quality Inn University

2 stars
1761 University Avenue, Berkeley, CA 94703
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
26 reviews
It's one of the better hotels in the area

There are a few 2-star hotels on University Ave. at Berkeley most of which I stayed at. Quality Inn... See full review

  • Amin T
  • Oct 5, 2014
It's good to stay

We have arrived late night almost like midnight. The place was pretty quiet and enought for the one... See full review

  • Young's min
  • Aug 20, 2013
The Quality Inn near UC Berkeley is centrally located in the quaint city of Berkeley. The hotel is surrounded by popular area attractions like Lawrence National Lab, Downtown Theater and Arts District, Fourth Street Shopping district and Gourmet Ghetto. Our guests will enjoy a full hot breakfast each morning and modern amenities in all our guest rooms such as micorwave and refrigerators, 32 inch flat screen TVs, and wireless internet. We look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn University also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • California Memorial Stadium: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn University

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
White Stone
Business
Bethesda, MD
Nov 24, 2014

Find another place to stay

It was very shabby. Not really worth staying there unless really, really desperate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous User 12345
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 15, 2014

Good Location, but Lots of Problems

We booked this hotel because it's located relatively close to BART and the UC Berkeley campus, but that is where the advantages of this property end. The problems started before we even got into the room. The key card system on our room seemed to be having problems, and it took us multiple tries to get the cards to work. This problem persisted even after having the keys remagnetized. When we got in the room we noticed a bit of a musty smell, which we later traced to the mini fridge, which wasn't actually keeping anything cold. The room itself was relatively standard and comfortable, but there were some strange features like odd light switches and occupancy sensors, and the tv system was not very user friendly. The shower was good, which is very important to me, but when I got out, I found the towels were threadbare and fraying in spots. Even little things were problematic: one of the hangers in the closet didn't actually fit on the closet bar, and the handle on one of the nightstands was broken. All in all, it seems like the staff puts very little effort into maintaining this property. Avoid this hotel if you can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amin T
Business
Toronto, Canada
Oct 5, 2014

It's one of the better hotels in the area

There are a few 2-star hotels on University Ave. at Berkeley most of which I stayed at. Quality Inn is among the better ones: the breakfast although nothing special is better than others. Staff availability is better. Location is pretty good. However, it usually is more expensive than the competition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yrekaman
Business
Berkeley
Aug 16, 2014

About what you'd expect

First room we were given had an awful musty smell. We thought it was just the ocean moistness causing this. We changed rooms the next night. This room smelled better though still slightly like the other room. Beds were comfortable. Rooms are quiet. Staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

About 1 mile from hotel is a pizza place called the Build. It is the best pizza I have ever eaten. Phenomenal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Uncle B 013
Business
Berkley
Jul 8, 2014

cheap stay

Nice place. Clean. Comfortable. Friendly staff. Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vali Larsson
Business
Ca
Jun 30, 2014

Quality Inn needs more attention to customers

Location was great...other than that, hard to find a parking spot...small room...power outlets not working, bathroom was clean and up to date, morning breakfast was under the expectations..."not enough milk for kids", had to wait 25 min to bring some more !!!...very poor choices...overall a high priced motel that did not delivered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bulubulu
Business
Berkeley, California
Jun 26, 2014

good

staff is good. have clock sound in room, kind of annoying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lonesome HI traveler
Business
Hawaii
Jun 24, 2014

Berkeley

The Hotel is a short walk to lots of great places to eat. The hotel is nothing special but comforable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lasermaster
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jun 13, 2014

Berkeley Convenience

Off street parking is something that even the more elegant hotels in the area don't have. Close enough to downtown to walk to restaurants and stores, yet quick access to freeway down University Ave. Room a little small but comfortable. Don't care for cumbersome Dish, but really shouldn't watch much TV anyway. Having a bathtub is great as most of these less expensive rooms I use don't have them. Small number of rooms make for a cozier feel to the property. Staff were pleasant and attentive. When you just need a place to overnight for business it's a good deal and way better than one notch down in cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's is just two blocks up University if you want to take advantage of in room refrigerator and microwave. Lot's of other dining along Shattuck is another couple blocks up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ash1Ed
Business
NC
Feb 8, 2014

Decent hotel, convenient location

Hotel stay was OK. Staff wasn't very friendly, room cleanliness was sub part. I won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top