$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Hotel Durant

4 stars
View map of 2600 Durant Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
86 reviews
college drop off

This was a FANTASTIC location! The room was comfortable. We enjoyed ourselves. See full review

  • jon k.
  • Aug 26, 2015
Out of Town Wedding

We went to Berkeley for a friend's wedding at Berkeley's Redwood Grove. We chose Hotel Durant... See full review

  • Dawn N.
  • Jul 31, 2015
Once you step into the lobby of the Hotel Durant, you return to a bygone era of elegance and luxury. Located just one block from the prestigious University of California at Berkeley campus. Steps away from Greek Theatre and Memorial Stadium and near the downtown business district, the hotel remains a Berkeley landmark today. The Hotel Durant is the perfect setting for business meetings, conferences, or social events. Door to Door shuttle van service for Oakland or San Francisco airports is offered by Bayporter Express for a nominal fee.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Durant also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$189
4.2 / 5 118 reviews
★★★
$113
3.6 / 5 49 reviews
★★★★
$189
3.8 / 5 53 reviews
★★★
$162
3.9 / 5 33 reviews
★★★
$160
4.0 / 5 55 reviews
★★★★
$139
3.8 / 5 115 reviews
★★★★
$169
3.9 / 5 116 reviews
★★★
$159
2.9 / 5 23 reviews

Hotel Durant Rooms

Single Queen
Room with one queen bed includes Private Bathtub or Shower, Television with Cable, Ergonomic Desk, iPod Docking Station Radio, Complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet Access, In-Room safe, Smoke Detector. Hearing Impaired Services Equipped for physically disabled and Adjoining Room available upon request. Check-in time: 3pm and Checkout time: 11am
Two Doubles
Room with two double beds include Private Bathtub or Shower, Television with Cable, Ergonomic Desk, iPod Docking Station Radio, Complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet Access, In-Room safe, Smoke Detector. Hearing Impaired Services Equipped for physically disabled and Adjoining Room available upon request. Check-in time: 3pm and Checkout time: 11am

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • California Memorial Stadium: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Durant's team of meeting professional sales and conference services managers are poised to take your event to higher ground. They offer a personalized level of care to ensure the success of your meetings and event. They have 3 meeting conference rooms and offer Custom Menus, A/V Equipment, Complimentary Internet and a Dedicated Event Advisor.

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
Henry's is Berkeley's favorite eating and drinking establisment. With over 32 various beers on tap and daily specials cooked by our chef, we have been providing only the best service and food for over 20 years.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Durant

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jon k.
Couples
N/A
Aug 26, 2015

college drop off

This was a FANTASTIC location! The room was comfortable. We enjoyed ourselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SG
Family
San Marino
Aug 14, 2015

Great location, if you are visiting UC Berkeley

This hotel is in a great location if you are visiting UC Berkeley. Our room was large and had high ceiling but could have benefited from updates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moustafa A.
Business
N/A
Aug 2, 2015

Not recomended

Bad smell. No staff courtesy. Too expensive for the quality

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moustafa A.
Business
N/A
Aug 2, 2015

Not recomended

Bad smell. No staff courtesy. Too expensive for the quality

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moustafa A.
Business
N/A
Aug 2, 2015

Not recomended

Bad smell. No staff courtesy. Too expensive for the quality

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dawn N.
Friends
N/A
Jul 31, 2015

Out of Town Wedding

We went to Berkeley for a friend's wedding at Berkeley's Redwood Grove. We chose Hotel Durant because of the location. The staff was super friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The room was clean and functional. We didn't spend much time in the hotel room, just used it mainly for sleeping. The bed was very comfortable. The biggest plus was the hotel's location. We were able to uber back and forth to the Grove for rehearsal/ceremony for relatively cheap. Also, there were a lot of restaurants in the area. Because it was summer break, although there were some students, it was relatively quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoBears2015
Single
Berkeley
Jul 9, 2015

Preferred hotel in Berkeley

I have been to about 9 hotels in Berkeley with a few repeats but Hotel Durant is the one I prefer to stay at, although whether I do so or not depends on price. It is one of the finer hotels in Berkeley, although not San Francisco 'type of fine'. Location is great, literally right near campus and close to many bus lines. Rooms are small but the beds are comfortable and has what I value a lot: in room safe and free wi-fi. It labels itself as a 'boutique hotel' so its decor is unique compared to the usual humdrum seen at chain after chain hotels. It has a restaurant/bar downstairs that serves food until about 9pm, but as stated before...this is a PRIME location. There is food everywhere around! Berkeley is not really a hustle-bustle all hours of the day and night type of city so it's pretty quiet at night unless it's a Thursday night, Friday night, and Saturday night when the youngen's go to the 2 nearby bars (Kip's and Pappy's). I would come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LEO12
Business
Pittsburgh
Jun 12, 2015

good

It was a good experience to Durant. My friend also likes to stay at this hotel. I recommend this hotel !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rockwu
Couples
Berkeley
Apr 15, 2015

Value of the Money is too low

Hotel Durant is a four-star hotel but provides only motel level service and amenities. The hotel price is high, but hotel is small, room is small, everything is small. I definitely will not recommend anyone to stay at hotel durant. Motels on University Ave are much better than Hotel Durant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billie C.
Business
Pleasant Hope
Apr 9, 2015

Overnight business

Such a cool decorated place with nice bar, great location. Great bathrooms and robe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top