$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 11, 2014 Check-out: Nov 12, 2014

Hotel Durant

4 stars
2600 Durant Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
72 reviews
Hotel Durant

An amazing experiance as always. Great staff, clean rooms, and its only a walk away from the Greek... See full review

  • Dreadhead joe
  • Aug 18, 2014
Great stay in Berkeley area

This was my second time at Durant: coming back based on my experience in a previous stay. Due to a... See full review

  • trezbit
  • Nov 18, 2013
As we continually strive to provide our guests with exceptional product and service, the Hotel Durant will embark on a multi-million dollar renovation starting with Henrys Bar area until August 19th, 2013. The Henrys Dining Room will remain open during this time with limited menus. Located in the heart of Berkeley and steps away from the world renowned UC Berkeley campus, the hotel transformation promises an unmatched Berkeley experience with the complete redesign of the propertys 143 guestrooms, as well as a lively new look of the hotel lobby, meeting rooms and Henrys Restaurant and Bar. The design will focus on guest comfort and functionality while keeping intact its sense of connection with our community. The guestroom and public space renovations are scheduled to begin in the last week of October 2013 and scheduled to finish mid-January 2014. Once you step into the lobby of the Hotel Durant, you return to a bygone era of elegance and luxury. Located just one block from the prestigious University of California at Berkeley campus and near the downtown business district, the hotel remains a Berkeley landmark today. The Hotel Durant is the perfect setting for business meetings, conferences, or social events. Door to Door shuttle van service for Oakland or San Francisco airports is offered by Bayporter Express for a nominal fee.

Hotel Map

37.868 -122.2563
Area served
Berkeley, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport
Area description
Bicycling / Jogging Trails - 5 min, Billiards / Snooker - 5 min, Fine Dining - on site, Fitness Center / Gym - 2 min, Golf Course - 10 min.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Durant also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Durant Rooms

Single Queen
Room with one queen bed include Private Bathtub / Shower Combination, Television with Cable / Movies, Hearing Impaired Services Equipped for physically disabled, Adjoining Room Accessible without stairs, Desk Clock Radio, High Speed Internet Access, Smoke Detector, Voice Mail.
Two Doubles
Room with two double beds include Private Bathroom, Television with Cable / Movies, Hearing Impaired Services, High Speed Internet Access, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing Board, Desk, Clock Radio, Voice Mail, Smoke Detector.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • California Memorial Stadium: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
Henry's Publick House and Grille is Berkeley's favorite eating and drinking establisment. With over 32 various beers on tap and daily specials cooked by our chef, we have been providing only the best service and food for 20 years.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Durant

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CEOMom
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Oct 19, 2014

Perfect location

Staff was very helpful. Location was good for walking. The fresh water was nice, but not having coffee past 7a.m. was unusual and few choices for the in-room coffee. Room had unusual smell, but window ability to open helped. Value of the room matched very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In hotel and within a block or two are pleasant and international food choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
west coast traveling fool
Business
Olympia, Washington
Sep 25, 2014

here's the thing

I often stay at the Durant I was a little disappointed that the place was under construction so I was unable to take advantage of "the deal" in that no breakfast was available, or if it was I never found it. I really like the staff, the location, the rooms, etc. Sad they no longer have the mini bars in the rooms and about the construction that they really should have told folks about but hey, that's life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Ask for top floor great views on right side of hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cal parent ACP
Business
Agra, India
Sep 19, 2014

Excellent location right next to UC Berkeley

Had a great stay. Walking distance to BART and restaurants. Nice, comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MZ bexley
Business
Columbus OH
Sep 16, 2014

Poor choice

I paid for a delux queen room. We were given a very small double bed room. There was hardly room to walk around the bed, let alone have a place for luggage. We arrived late in day and I didn't say anything to desk until morning. They insisted it was a king!! They did change our room It was slightly larger, with some walking room and a place for luggage. It was still a double bed. I did not complain further Hotel located right by a very loud gathering area for students It was very noisy at night Hotel walls were so thin I could hear the guest next door use the bathroom! Do not suggest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoBears84
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 10, 2014

Perfect location

I love staying here because its right in the heart of the Berkeley action. My room was tiny and, my TV didn't work that well but it worked and the staff were very helpful. Lots of fun to be here on game day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreadhead joe
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2014

Hotel Dirant

The Durant is set in the heart of Berkeley and only a walk away from the Greek Theatre. I love the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms. The bar downstairs made an amazing Bloody Mary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Saves you the headache of having to find parking if you are catching a show at the Greek.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
That Super Duper Guy
Business
Pittsburgh
Aug 19, 2014

Great location

Its a nice hotel, very clean and classy. A little expensive for my taste, but not bad considering the great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dreadhead joe
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Aug 18, 2014

Hotel Durant

An amazing experiance as always. Great staff, clean rooms, and its only a walk away from the Greek Theatre. Only downfall. You have to go to the lobby to get ice. But over all, I will be returning to Hotel Durant again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
whomayshebe
Business
Fresno, CA
Jul 27, 2014

Right in the middle of the action

A decent value and a decent night's stay. The view out of room 412 (north-facing) was of the campus and was nice; it also faced the street but was high enough up that traffic noise was not a problem with the windows closed. Breakfast is not included in the price, so we ended up hiking to a grocery store to pick up some cereal and milk to keep in the room. The fridge in the room was stocked with expensive goodies, but we were able to take them out (and hide them from the housekeeping staff, lest they think the goodies were left for them, which happened to me once at another hotel) and use the fridge for our breakfast things. I wish there had been a microwave in the room. Location was great; right near campus where lots was going on, and also right on the 51B bus line which took us almost anywhere in town we wanted to go, including Zachary's in north Oakland (yum) and the Marina.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the 51B bus to Zachary's pizza; it is the best stuff west of Chicago. Don't miss it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Durant

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cjazz
Business
NJ
Jul 3, 2014

UC Berkely Visit

Good, affordable value. I would stay there again. Right in the heart of the UC Berkeley Campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top