$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Americas Best Value Inn

2 stars
1620 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
36 reviews
Wonderful 'Blast from te Past'...

The staff was wonderful and always helpful. The hotel was older with less of the modern amenities... See full review

  • Jonnie Madigan
  • Sep 20, 2013
not bad

not bad for the price. good location because it is close to family See full review

  • berkeley visit
  • May 12, 2014
Spanish-style budget hotel in Berkeley with free Wi-Fi

Americas Best Value Inn Berkeley, a AAA one diamond-rated property, captures the spirit of classic California with a Spanish-style design. The location of Americas Best Value Inn Berkeley lets guests access downtown San Francisco or UC Berkeley in minutes. The hotel offers many free amenities, including high-speed Wi-Fi, cable TV and local calls. Dine at on-site Japanese restaurant, Genki, or nearby restaurants. Rooms feature mini-fridge, microwaves and coffee makers. The hotel has an on-site business center and offers wake-up service.

Highlights
  • AAA one diamond-rated
  • Free high-speed Internet throughout the property
  • Business center
  • On-site Genki Japanese restaurant with sushi bar
  • Pets welcome
Rooms

Americas Best Value Inn Berkeley features well-kept, spacious accommodations with comfortable beds--either king, queen or double beds in each room. A few rooms offer single beds. Rooms feature high-speed wireless Internet, air conditioning and separate tables with chairs. The rooms feature separate make-up areas outside the bathroom. TVs offer premium channels like HBO (some rooms have flat-screen TVs). All rooms feature a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Americas Best Value Inn Berkeley welcomes pets and offers wake-up service. Non-smoking rooms are available.

Features

The AAA one diamond-rated Americas Best Value Inn Berkeley welcomes guests with its classic California and Spanish-style décor. Its location allows easy access to UC Berkeley and downtown San Francisco or Oakland. On-site parking, including space for trucks and buses, is available. The hotel features the on-site Genki Japanese/sushi restaurant. Guests can utilize the on-site business center and high-speed Wi-Fi streams throughout the property.



Transportation
  • Closest train: North Berkeley BART station (9 blocks)
  • Oakland International Airport (11.2 mi/18.1 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (18.6 mi/30 km)
Attractions
  • UC Berkeley (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Oakland Convention Center (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Jack London Square (5.6 mi/9.1 km)
  • Union Square, SF (8.6 mi/13.9 km)
Business
  • High-speed wireless Internet access
  • Business center

Hotel Map

37.8747 -122.294
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, NE; Sonoma County Airport, (STS), 60.00, MI, SE; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 48.00, MI, NW; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 17.00, MI, N;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americas Best Value Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Americas Best Value Inn Rooms

1 Queen Bed Non-Smoking
Comfortable guest room with 1 Queen Bed. Non-Smoking.
2 Queen Beds Non-Smoking
Comfortable guest room with 2 Queen Beds. Non-Smoking.
1 Queen and 3 Twins Ste NS
Comfortable 2 bedroom suite with 1 Queen Bed and 3 Twin Beds. Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Pavilion: 1.8 mi
  • California Memorial Stadium: 2.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Americas Best Value Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sister Grand
Business
Ventura, Ca.
Oct 18, 2014

Basic needs met here

This old school hotel is oriented away from the main street, so feels safer than many Berkeley hotels. It has the basics a traveler needs--internet, cable TV, a small frig and microwave. The staff is friendly and the location is central.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Near shopping and the freeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Itswhattitis
Business
Nevada
Sep 19, 2014

Not Good

Sorry but not good. Walls paper thin, could hear everything in next room as if they were in my room. No way to turn heat off, or even down--had to open window all night just to keep room bearable. Pillows on bed are terrible. Would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
emilie116
Business
Montreal, Canada
Aug 1, 2014

A DUMP - AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Where do I start? That was the worst place I ever stayed in my life, and I travel a lot. When we arrived, there was an homeless charging his phone at the door, no employee and a sign at the door that he was gone to eat. After he came back, we walked to the room and saw a big illuminated sign written 'Silence please' in the middle of the rooms, we thought it was strange but, well.... During the whole evening and night, doors wouldn't stop opening and closing outside (car doors, motel rooms). A lot of people talking and we could hear our neighbours partying all night. ONE HOMELESS TRIED TO BREAK IN OUR ROOM during the night, knocking on the window and on the door until we screamed for her to leave!!! Just when we finally relaxed enough to sleep, with a chair on the door to make sure it was very secured, our neighbor started to, we guessed, take a shower or something and the plumbing made our whole room shake and an awful very loud noise. Really!? I mean how come this please is still open? We were that close to call the police because of the homeless. How come they never make a round around there, it was OBVIOUS there was some illegal activities going on around, and we were just coming back from a hotel in Tenderloin, San Francisco, not like we hadn't seen homeless people before. Really, it is not cheap and it is horrible, please please do yourself a favor and go somewhere else. We decided to leave at 4 in the morning and enjoyed that forced short night to get in line for Alcatraz tickets....at least we did get some for the same day, that was the only good thing that came out of this motel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Rare Barrel is a great brewery that makes sour beer and delicious sandwiches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AliandAli
Business
Chicago
Jul 18, 2014

Not bad for the price!

Not bad for the price. Their pictures are much better than reality. It is a very old motel (probably about 60 years old at least!). Almost everything is original I believe! You can consider it as a vintage motel I assume. But the staff are the best part of this motel, they are friendly and helpful. It is old but acceptable and clean I can say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jerry Selness
Business
Eugene, OR
Jun 28, 2014

Good value

Great location. Easy access to Oakland Bay Bridge, Eastbay parks and Berkeley area. Surprisingly quiet. No air conditioning so it could be hot at certain times of year but room had nice air flow in June. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
berkeley visit
Business
los angeles ca
May 12, 2014

not bad

not bad for the price. good location because it is close to family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma of 17
Business
Lincoln California
Mar 25, 2014

Convenient location at a great price

So convenient to the University where we needed to be. Front desk was exceptional and for a very old establishment we felt it was great and charming. We will stay there again. Felt safe in the quaint neighborhood and loved the furniture store down the street and the restaurants close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The burger place on Shattuck avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coach Dudley
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 5, 2014

You get what you pay for.

Served the purpose of my visit, although the walls could be a little thicker and a scrub brush would do wonderful things for the bathroom floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Ghirardelli Factory is 20 minutes down 880... go stock up on good chocolate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jonnie Madigan
Business
Heidelberg, Germany
Sep 20, 2013

Wonderful 'Blast from te Past'...

The staff was wonderful and always helpful. The hotel was older with less of the modern amenities but they have internet and GREAT coffee. Absolutely charming and in a good location. Great Sushi restaurant next door with discounts for people staying at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PSantoshaM
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 27, 2013

Reasonable pricing

Good, service was good. Improvement suggestion: coffee ready earlier in the morning. Like the relationship the hotel has with the nearby Japanese Restaurant Genki for room service with a discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Genki Restaurant makes great sushi among other Japanese cuisine and is in the hotel parking lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top