$63 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South

2 stars
View map of 6501 Colony St., Bakersfield, CA 93307

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
8 reviews
1wk stay

My stay went well. It was peaceful and relaxing. I have no complaints!! I will b returning. Good... See full review

  • Sunshine
  • Jan 26, 2015
Nice place for the money

Bed was ok but everything else was very nice. I would come back here again because the staff was... See full review

  • bel kel
  • Aug 19, 2012
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield (South) was recently renovated and is easily accessible to Highway 99. We are minutes from Downtown Bakersfield, Bakersfield Speedway, and Fairgrounds. Complimentary continental breakfast is served every morning and a free newspaper is delivered on weekdays. A complimentary shuttle is also available to our guests. At the end of a long day, take a lap in our pool or relax in your air-conditioned room and enjoy cable TV featuring HBO. Whether you travel on business or pleasure, you'll get our own brand of Western hospitality at this desert oasis. Good Value, friendly people - it's how we do things.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South Rooms

Premium Queen
This newly renovated smoking room has one comfortable queen bed to get a good night's sleep. In room amenities include a mini refrigerator, microwave, 32" LCD TV, hair dryer, and coffee pot. Stay connected with complimentary high speed wi-fi.
2 Premium Double Beds
This lovely smoking premium room contains two double beds; a refrigerator and microwave; a game table with chairs and a desk. For your convenience this room has a color TV and an AM-FM clock radio; a data-port phone, an in-room coffee maker and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rabobank Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunshine
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

1wk stay

My stay went well. It was peaceful and relaxing. I have no complaints!! I will b returning. Good customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tio David
Business
Bakersfiled CA
Jun 17, 2013

Good Weekend

Even though the hotel was close to the freeway, I did not hear any traffic. I have paid more than twice the price for a room and heard more traffic noise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A little hot to walk, but depends on person. Wal-Mart, Starbucks, In-n-Out, Denny's, Texaco & Chevron gas stations all nearby.

Review of Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jonnie Leigh
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Mar 13, 2013

great price

The hotel is clean and in walking distance to fast food places and near the free way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Medieval Traveler
Business
Arizona
Oct 17, 2012

Great price

Overall an enjoyable experience. The manager and front staff were very helpful in helping me relocate from another Vagabond Inn to this one. Room staff although they maintained the room clean, had to be asked more than once for in room coffee. The TV system was not working correctly while I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bel kel
Business
bakersfield
Aug 19, 2012

Nice place for the money

Bed was ok but everything else was very nice. I would come back here again because the staff was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

right off the freeway was amazing visit.

Review of Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
seadoo family
Business
south bakersfield ca
Aug 3, 2012

great location

the staff was excellent - convienient to many places to eat and a walmart and lowe within 1/2miles. coffee and waffles were excellent in morning. close to lake where our friends were camping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
QueenMarina
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Jul 22, 2012

Good

Everything was good but not great. It was clean, there was a pool, the staff were nice. There was a breakfast served from 2am (am!) to 9am, but I slept through it both days that I stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get breakfast and coffee at Starbucks for cheaper than a diner.

Review of Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pink Therapist
Business
Coarsegold, CA
Jul 5, 2009

Ghetto motel

The hotel was very low class. I paid $15 per room (I booked 2) more on orbitz than the rate they advertised on the sign when I got there! It was seedy and unclean. The only good thing was the free breakfast in the morning which included waffles and dohnuts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check with the hotel for prices before booking online!

Back to menu Return to top