$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Padre Hotel

4 stars
1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
36 reviews
Amazing!!!

One of the most beautifully renovated boutique hotels I have visited (my job requires me to travel)... See full review

  • CC Road Warrior
  • May 22, 2014
great weekend trip

The Padre hotel in bakersfield was very welcoming.The staff was friendly and helpful.Ate breakfast... See full review

  • fer hollisterbaler
  • Dec 30, 2013
Bakersfield's only luxury boutique hotel, the Padre Hotel opened February 2010. Located downtown just blocks from the Bakersfield Convention Center, Rabobank Arena, Bakersfield Governmental Buildings and minutes from the major local hospitals of Bakersfield. A non smoking hotel, that caters to today's traveler who wishes to have a unique experience when they stay at a hotel. The property features 112 rooms each with luxury linens and bath amenities, free wi-fi throughout the hotel, flat screen televisions with 73 channels in High Defintion, multiple pillow types, our specially designed Serenity Bedding all with the charm of the best independent hotels. The hotel offers dry cleaning and 24 hour room service. First opening it's doors in 1928, the Padre Hotel is a historic monument in Bakersfield. The Padre has undergone a $20 million dollar top to bottom renovation to provide the community with it's first luxury boutique property. We offer the most luxurious beddings and amenities in Bakersfield. We provide a haven of serenity and a distinctive alternative for those who appreciate a higher standard. Efficient service with an effortless style that ensures a truly unforgettable experience. The property boasts 5 food and beverage venues, with Farmacy (High End Coffee Experience), Belvedere Room (California Cuisine featuring products from the local farming community), Brimstone (American Comfort Foods with 7 Big Screen Televisions for Viewing Daily Sporting and Special Events), Prairie Fire (Second floor rooftop deck, firepits, and great appetizers) and Prospect (nightly venue with DJ and Live entertainment weekly, the new hot location for Bakersfield). *The Prospect Lounge is open to the public on Friday and Saturday nights from 9PM - 1:30AM. The Prospect Lounge features a live DJ and is located in the lobby. Due to the high volume of the music, hotel guests are notified of the noise prior to checkin and, if available, offered quieter rooms away from the lounge. Due to the layout of the building, these rooms are limited and are offered on a first come, first serve basis only. The Padre Hotel has a 21 and over age policy for check-in.

Padre Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
40 Winks - Guest room Features flatscreen television, walk in shower, H2O spa products, luxurious linens, California King size bed, Complimentary wi-fi, 24 hour room service, non smoking
LUXURY - GUEST_ROOM
Corner Pocket - Guest room features additional furniture, flatscreen television, walk in shower, H2O spa products, luxurious linens, California King size bed, Complimentary wi-fi, 24 hour room service, non smoking
LUXURY - JR_SUITE
Head Honcho - Guest room features flatscreen television, walk in shower, Jacuzzi Tub, H2O spa products, luxurious linens, California King size bed, Complimentary wi-fi, 24 hour room service, non smoking
CONTEMPORARY - GUEST_ROOM
Double Deuce- Guest room features flatscreen television, shower and bathtub, H2O spa products, luxurious linens, Two full size beds, Complimentary wi-fi, 24 hour room service, non smoking
DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
Maverick- Guest room features flatscreen television, walk in shower, H2O spa products, luxurious linens, California King size bed, Complimentary wi-fi, 24 hour room service, non smoking

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Padre Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.3756 -119.0215
Area served
Serve the Bakersfield, Kern County, Hanford, Visalia
Nearby airports
Bakersfield's Meadows Field, 15 mins; Burbank Airport, 90 mins; Fresno Airport, 90 mins.
Area description
Downtown location, blocks from Rabobank Arena, Bakersfield Convention Center, Kern County Court House, Bakersfield Municipal Buildings, Fox Theater, Nile Theater, Mercy Hospital Bakersfield Memorial Hospital, San Joaquin Hospital, 5 mins from 99 Freeway and the Highway 58. From Hwy 58, exit Chester Avenue heading towards downtown Bakersfield Convention Center, turn left on 18th Street, Padre Hotel is on the corner of 18th Street and H Street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Rabobank Arena: 0.5 mi

Dining

Brimstone
Reminiscent of the finest saloons of 1927, this working man's bar features hardwood floors, a stamped tin ceiling, billiards and a jukebox cranking out the tunes. Fantastic Mixologists aim to perfect your favorite elixir or maybe introduce you to something a bit daring...
Belvedere Room
Our Grand Room. Born of the past, redesigned to serve the future of Bakersfield. If you are looking for the ultimate dining experience, no need to look further. Serving business lunch weekdays, elegant dinner nightly. Please call for reservations.
Prarie Fire
Spontaneous combustion - second floor rooftop deck, firepits, and a smooth beat in the background. Are you sure you're still in Bakersfield? Climb those stairs early to reserve the cabana... Take advantage of a bit of decadence, a personal waiter to serve your meals waits for the cue. This is NOT your mom's Saturday afternoon picnic...
Farmacy Cafe
High Octane and flying fast - We brew the highest octane coffee in town. Careful, you may need a prescription. We open at 6 sharp for those in need of a jolt on the way to the office. Breakfast is optional, unless your looking for the best eggs in town.
Prospect Lounge
Feeling the vibe? Take another sip as a piano player entertains the room. Friends new and old, enjoying cocktails and the best live music in town. Delectable small plates make the perfect compliment. Prospecting nightly. Bring your tools of the trade. *The Prospect Lounge is open to the public on Friday and Saturday nights from 9PM - 1:30AM. The Prospect Lounge features a live DJ and is located in the lobby. Due to the high volume of the music, hotel guests are notified of the noise prior to checkin and, if available, offered quieter rooms away from the lounge. Due to the layout of the building, these rooms are limited and are offered on a first come, first serve basis only.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Board Room - 20 ppl with permanant AV and board room table in room. 3 additional meeting rooms of 800 square feet each.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Padre Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Padre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom's Weekend Away
Orange County, California
Jun 23, 2014

Decent Night Away While in Bakersfield

I paid for a room described as a suite, thinking I was getting one of the rooms with the nice soaking tubs, but that's not what I ended up with at the hotel. The room was still nice, but I was looking forward to that tub! The bed was clean and comfortable. The furnishings were modern. The bathroom had a cool barn door. The downstairs bar and cafe were cool...during the day. We stayed on a Saturday night and when we got back to the hotel after our evening event, the place had transformed into quite a scene. Young folks everywhere, not that I'm old being in my mid 30's, but I kinda felt like a chaperone. The music was super loud, the bar and lobby were super full of bodies, and our room wasn't a getaway from the noise either (we were right above the 2nd story patio bar). We made the most of it and grabbed a drink to watch "the show." Back at our room, it really didn't quiet down until 1:30am. It wasn't awful, just don't expect a nice relaxing weekend evening. We did get to sleep in though, and that was nice. We saw the haunted handprint after asking the staff where it was and then we were told they do tours of the haunted 7th floor, room 716. We didn't end up doing it, but I thought that was neat. We didn't encounter any ghosts, just some scantily clad ladies downstairs that made me want to shout at them, "your mother let you out of the house like that?!" Ahh, to be young and naive. The staff were all very friendly, which can make or break your stay in my opinion. Not the best hotel I've ever stayed in, but overall pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The lobby area becomes the night life, just be prepared for crowds and noise.

Review of Padre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Highland High
Sacramento, CA
Jun 21, 2014

Curious Native Son

I grew up in Bakersfield when the Padre Hotel’s former owner was at war with the city council over zoning restrictions. At that time the Padre was a spooky dive; children were warned to stay away from it. With that background my stay in this beautifully refurbished place was surreal, and I mean that in the nicest way. I’ll confirm the observations of others regarding the tastefully quirky decor, the incredible memory-foam bed, the friendly and helpful staff. This trip I only made use of the coffee shop for a quick breakfast: no complaints there. I think the current owners have done a wonderful thing in restoring the Padre Hotel, it is truly a gem in the middle of Bakersfield.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Padre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mine14
madera
Jun 16, 2014

love

It was a nice getaway. Very relaxing, nice restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Padre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CC Road Warrior
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
May 22, 2014

Amazing!!!

One of the most beautifully renovated boutique hotels I have visited (my job requires me to travel) the beds are incredibly comfortable, the rooms are clean and I loved the see-through wall in the shower. Had drinks one night and dinner the next and I was very please with both experiences. I would stay there again in a heart beat! I just hope the room rates don't go up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonyvet
Boston, MA
Mar 15, 2014

Very nice place to stay

Very nicely done hotel that is an oasis in Bakersfield. Staff Excellent. Rooms clean and feel good to be in. Kind of funky window from the bedroom into the shower which also allows view of the toilet, but we dealt with that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Padre Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nan from the bronx
Berkely, Ca
Feb 25, 2014

Stop over to desert

Welcoming staff even though we arrived late in the evening. The open air bar was closed. Sports bar had an ok menu and good "happy hour" priced wine. Nice, inexpensive cafe for full breakfast. Great big shower!! Decor a bit cheesy but no negative for that since the hotel has a theme.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Padre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fer hollisterbaler
Business
hollister,ca
Dec 30, 2013

great weekend trip

The Padre hotel in bakersfield was very welcoming.The staff was friendly and helpful.Ate breakfast at the hotel and would recommend it.The room was big and confortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Griffins45
Business
Carson, ca
Dec 12, 2013

Bakersfield

Hotel is nice. Beds are comfertable. Everytime I go to bakersfield I will stay at the padre

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Padre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brenz30
Los Angeles
Oct 14, 2013

Out of Town guest

Beautiful Vintage Style Hotel - The bed was super comfortable and the location was perfect to the wedding reception we attended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Padre Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Cheap Skate
Business
Orange County
May 28, 2013

Great landmark for the city!

Wow...no words could describe the great stay we had at this hotel. Their restaurant prices is very reasonable altough they're downtown where prices are almost always high. Will stay there again when we go thru Bakersfield.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top