$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

2 stars
2700 White Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
37 reviews
my stay

the stay was very nice the room was very clean and very quite. hoping to stay again See full review

  • fatkat1488
  • Apr 8, 2014
Stayed there on my way to Vegas

Clean room and convenient location on the way to Vegas from the Bay Area. Fast check-in. Decent... See full review

  • Rumbero Bueno
  • Aug 25, 2014
Take the family on a fun-filled adventure to this Howard Johnson Inn Bakersfield conveniently located off Interstate 99 and just six miles from Buck Owens Crystal Palace with live music, great food and drinks, and a collection of memorabilia from famous musicians. If you want to see a live concert in a historic Art Deco building, find tickets to an event at The Fox Theater. Spend a day in the great outdoors at Sequoia National Park and marvel at the ancient Sequoia trees, deep caverns and canyons. After a great day, pull into the complimentary parking, check-in at the 24-hour front desk, and relax in the outdoor pool and hot tub. Start your morning refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast and complimentary newspaper. Fax and copy services are available. Plan your exciting day from the comfort of your guest room with complimentary wireless Internet access. Smoke-free rooms are available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Rabobank Arena: 3.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Be Cautious
Business
Corona, CA
Oct 8, 2014

BAD Customer Service

There was hair in the bathtub. The tub stopper was dirty, old, and disgusting. The freezer in the room refrigerator. The breakfast consisted of poor choice of foods. The agent at the desk did not want to give me a receipt when I checked out. She said travel agency would email me a receipt after check out. I will never stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler Mireles
Business
PHX Az
Sep 2, 2014

Convenient

The room was fine just passing through on the way to San Jose just needed a place to sleep it was just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rumbero Bueno
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 25, 2014

Stayed there on my way to Vegas

Clean room and convenient location on the way to Vegas from the Bay Area. Fast check-in. Decent continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
STEVE 21014
Business
HANFORD
Aug 9, 2014

GOOD FC PLACE

ROOM WAS WARM AT FIRST EMPLOYEE WASNT TO FRIENDLY WISH BETTER FOOD DURING BREAKASFT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelmomwb
Business
Calif
May 3, 2014

One night stay

Just wanted an easy to freeway place to sleep and that's all we got. Bed comfortable, but carpet really old and filthy. Rain dripping in through ceiling. This place needs major refurbishment!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweet stay
Business
Bakersfield
Apr 29, 2014

Sweet stay!

I usually don't give reviews but this stay was totally sweet! Good price, convenient location, clean room. We enjoyed our stay will be returning in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweet stay
Business
Bakersfield
Apr 21, 2014

Overall Good room, soft clean sheets, great night sleep

Enjoy my stay after a long drive. The room was clean, bed sheets were clean and soft. Had a great night sleep! I will be returning in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fatkat1488
Business
bakersfield
Apr 8, 2014

my stay

the stay was very nice the room was very clean and very quite. hoping to stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super rep
Business
Ceres, Ca
Apr 4, 2014

Maybe I was unfortunate

Arrived late at night and was greeted by a woman who didn't really seem to care. Paid an extra $5.00 to have a smoking room. Was told upon check in that to get a smoking room and would have to upgrade. Of course the woman blamed ***** for over booking, but was not at all conciliatory at all. I accepted the room and made the comment that I would smoke outside and she made a matter of fact statement that it had to be away from the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
anonymous201
Business
Utah
Jan 1, 2014

Mixed Review

Clean nice room. Nothing special but nothing unsavory or wrong. The staff was awful. We went in to the front desk upon arrival. She immediately kicked me out, locked the doors and said she would be back. After 15 minutes of waiting in the cold she came back, got my room and sent me on my way. When I had initially arrived I told her we had dogs (2), the website said $10 for our pets. She came up to us while unloading our car and asked for $20. We gave her $10, telling her that was what was advertised on the website, she argued and told us that we would have to come to the front desk, we refused and explained to her why we were only paying $10 for our pets. Overall the hotel was clean and safe. The room was old, peeling wall paper and stained sheets but it was sanitary (sheets were clean). It was exactly what we paid for minus the terrible customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top